Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
463 reviewed Costa Rican Expedition
5 stars
347
4 stars
79
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
10
  1. Best time I've had on an adventure tour

    I celebrated my 73rd birthday in Tortuguero, Costa Rica with a large group of high school bioscience whizzes, of which my granddaughter was one. We all agreed that this was a wonderful trip and one of the best of several I've taken. The only negative was a night walk, which after looking at my photos was better than I thought. But it was difficult because of too many students per guide (or too few guides) and we ran into other groups a couple times because they were so strung out along the narrow intersecting trails. But overall it was a great time for all at a great value! Our guide and bus driver were each terrific!
    Carlo / Adult traveler
    Fort Wayne, Indiana / Posted on July 21, 2017
  2. Most amazing experience ever

    I have never seen my son come back home from something so excited in my life. He had hundreds of pictures to show me, tons of stories, and lots of joy. I'm so thankful he had this opportunity. It is definitely something he will never forget.
    HappyMamaBear / Student traveler
    Hurst, Texas / Posted on July 18, 2017
  3. Nature lovers tour of Costa Rica

    From the East Coast to the West Coast, it was a nature lovers dream vacation. Boat tours, rain forest, giant turtle laying eggs, white water rafting, kayaking, zip lining, snorkeling, volcanoes, and lots of beautiful vistas. The tour director was very knowledgeable of every aspect of the culture and nature and was very cooperative and helpful in making sure everything was well coordinated and carefully planned. It was fast paced and interesting. Food was very good, sometimes too much repetition of beans and rice but enough variety to keep it interesting. We saw the good side of the culture and were exposed to the not so good side with views of the cities to wild national forest. We saw banana plantations, pineapples, coconuts, cocoa, coffee beans, livestock and more. We came away with a real feel for the country, it's economy and culture. Had a great experience.
    beckenlloh / Adult traveler
    Syracuse, NY / Posted on July 07, 2017
  4. A great and active tour

    On this tour we had amazing experiences. It is a great tour since the participants are busy every day with new and exciting activities. For example we snorkelled, hiked to and swam in waterfalls, kayaked, whitewater rafted, went on several boat led nature excursions, visited and swam in hot springs and hiked on volcanoes. We saw fascinating birds, plants and animals. These included scarlet and green macaws, four species of Toucans, two types of sloths, three types of monkeys, bats, coati, agoutis and several animals we didnt even know existed like kinkajous. The pace was fast but manageable. The accommodations ranged from basic to very nice and the food was good throughout. The tour directors (we had 2) were awesome! This is a great trip and so easy to chaperone since the kids are busy and most all of the hotels we stayed in were rural.
    Definitely would recommend this trip and feel it offers a great cross section of Costa Rica's amazing natural environment.
    hejsan / Group leader
    Grand Rapids, Minnesota / Posted on June 22, 2017
  5. Beautiful Country and Amazing Experience

    I was at first a little worried about being a country I had never been but as soon as we got picked up by our tour director I immediately felt safe and knew that our tour director knew what he was talking about. The first hotel we stayed at was in San José and was a quality in so there wasn't much culture there but as soon as we go to Tortuguero I felt like a native. The island was so beautiful and green and I saw monkeys on the tour around the river! It was a great place to stay and the hotel was so much fun and relaxing. Sarapiqui, La Fortuna, and Guanacaste were also beautiful places and I loved all the activities; the hiking to the waterfall, relaxing at the hot springs, an exciting adventure of white water rafting, the different fishes while snorkeling, creating new memories with people I've met and more, was a experience that you don't get anywhere or on any tour. Ef Tours created a memory that will stay with me forever and I would highly recommend this tour to anybody willing to try new things!
    s021 / Student traveler
    Visalia, Ca / Posted on June 19, 2017
  6. An Amazing Adventure!

    Costa Rica was the most amazing experience that I have ever had. There was never a dull day. Either we were going out and doing crazy things such as zip lining and white water rafting, learning all about the community of the country at schools and in town, or we were venturing through the wilderness to view the beauty of the biodiversity that the country has. I'd like to give credit to our tour guide, Victor, for creating such a family-like atmosphere and sharing all of the knowledge that he could give about Costa Rica and the Spanish language. Due to this positive experience, especially since it being my first time outside of the country without family members, I have already signed up for another EF tour, and I'm sure this won't be my last tour with them.
    Lmnopqrs / Student traveler
    Tiverton, RI / Posted on April 25, 2017
  7. Phenomenal Trip

    The Costa Rica trip was one of the best trips I have ever done. The tour guide was exemplary. Not only was his knowledge of the myriad places in CR unbelievable, but his professionalism, way with students, attitude, humor, and desire to be the best were commendable. He flawlessly and seamlessly connected an incredibly ambitious itinerary which left myself and our students with the educational experience of our lives. I can not say enough about how well put together our trip was. From the excellent bus and driver, to the details of our meals and multiple excursions, no detail was left out. EF, and it's contracted guides, and drivers should be commended on this Costa Rica trip.
    SAABIO / Adult traveler
    Savannah,GA / Posted on March 27, 2017
  8. Wonderful Time!

    Carlos and our bus driver were awesome! Trip was on the go! Be sure to get your rest! Make sure your kid puts on insect spray hanging out with friends at night!

    Was surprised as to how rough the Atlantic Ocean was and how calm the Pacific is. Not like that in/by Atlantic Ocean in NC. Almost like a hurricane was on the way with the waves. They say it is like that most of the time. Would not let us go out above our knees and I agreed!
    IowaDad1 / Adult traveler
    Posted on August 30, 2017
  9. Costa Rica Tour

    My daughter went through a school group and she had an AMAZING time. She said she had the time of her life and was able to see a part of the world she never thought she ever would. She said Costa Rica is a beautiful country and the people are very friendly and if she had the chance to go again she said she would.
    Bearli / Parent
    Cass Lake, Minnesota / Posted on July 26, 2017
  10. Fantastic & authentic experience in Costa Rica!

    Our travelers loved this trip! Definitely be prepared for some rustic/authentic hotels - not what you're used to in the US. But also be prepared for some awesome adventures - whitewater rafting on the Sarapiqui River, exploring the quaint Tortuguero Village, ziplining through the jungle, hiking to the breathtaking La Fortuna waterfall, interacting with friendly locals, seeing colorful fish and manta rays while snorkeling in the Pacific Ocean, and letting every muscle in your body relax in the AMAZING hot springs!
    My recommendations:
    - Pack sports sandals (Tevas, Chacos, etc.); we needed them on many excursions.
    - You can't pack too much Dramamine! Lots of long bus rides on this trip.
    - Make your students wear sunscreen, even if they don't usually wear it!
    - Putting two washcloths in my suitcase was a good idea; all hotels only included towels.
    - Bring the money you plan to spend; not many ATM opportunities.
    - Lock your suitcase - hotels did not have safes, and you'll want the peace of mind.

    If you and your students are up for an authentic experience with plenty of adventure and beautiful sightseeing, you'll love this trip!
    OBXtraveler / Group leader
    Kill Devil Hills, NC / Posted on July 25, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?