Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
296 reviewed Barcelona and Madrid
5 stars
184
4 stars
80
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
7
  1. I Never Wanted it to End

    This was my first time traveling outside of the country and I'm glad that it was such an amazing and memorable experience. I do not think I would have had such a great time if it weren't for our always kind and energetic tour director. He was always doing his best to find us fun and culturally enriching things to do in our free time and always gave the best restaurant recommendations. He was what made the tour more than just a tour, it was a memory I will keep with me for the rest of my life. He was just as excited as us to visit fun places and eat new foods. I couldn't say a single bad thing about this tour only because even when we had to walk long distances or wake up early, he managed to make those things fun too. I would go on a million more tours if it meant having someone like him along for the trip. Overall I have no negative opinions of my tour.
    Tesla / Student traveler
    South Bend, Indiana / Posted on June 28, 2017
  2. Spain: Sun and Fun

    Prior to this experience, I had never been to Europe before. At first, I was apprehensive about going on the trip, and had many jitters about exploring Europe with a tour group. However, what I experienced with EF Tours was nothing short of an amazing journey. EF Tours was organized, prompt, knowledgeable, and, most importantly, personal and friendly. The itinerary that we covered while on our trip was well-balanced between educational site-seeing and recreational free time. I thought that being able to cover both Barcelona and Madrid in a week was the perfect amount of time dedicated to exploring the full extent of each city. My favorite parts of the trip was visiting La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, and Toledo. I also thought that the added bicycle tour of Barcelona was well worth the cost, as we had a insiders view to the city and its life. The one excursion that I did not enjoy was the Flamenco dancing. I thought that the teachers were impersonal, and that the overall experience was rushed and not well explained. I also did not believe that the added culinary experiences that we paid extra for (the paella lunch and "cave" dinner) did not meet my expectations. The paella lunch was not especially good or true to Spanish paella, and the "cave" dinner was not actually in a cave, and the musical entertainment did not entertain as they asked us continually for money. Yet, even with these minor downsides, I would highly recommend someone to go on this trip. Overall, it was a positive and rewarding experience, and I feel like I was able to learn a lot about Spain and its cities.
    Libbie / Student traveler
    Edison, New Jersey / Posted on June 23, 2017
  3. Great, Grand, Wonderful

    From start to finish this trip was everything we expected. We had an awesome tour director, made the whole experience more educational. The local tour guides were engaged and full of information that added so much to what we already knew. We were able to see so many of the sites that were discussed in class. The weather was perfect in Barcelona, a tad bit hot in Madrid but we got through it. The food was ok. Our students were not impressed with most of it, but were able to find something they could enjoy. The hotel in Barcelona was perfect, the one in Madrid was acceptable. Both had air conditioning, so that was a plus! Our students were in awe of many sites and all said they had the time of their lives! Thanks once again EF for providing these students with a lifetime of memories!
    datsmom / Adult traveler
    Annawan, Illinois / Posted on June 21, 2017
  4. Enjoyed Traveling to a New Country

    This experience was amazing and unforgettable!! All tour guides were fantastic except for one, but they all knew what they were talking about. Visited many beautiful and interesting places, will definitely go back to Spain!! One of the hotels was great, the other was underwhelming considering the description that was provided. EF meals were also underwhelming but acceptable considering the limitations. Over all fantastic experience, would have liked to see more of an effort regarding meals.
    Milena / Student traveler
    Vermont / Posted on April 23, 2017
  5. Awesome Experience

    Hello,
    Just wanted to take a minute to express our appreciation for your efforts on the trip to Spain. Our daughter came home very happy with the entire experience. She spoke of all the wonderful things she experienced, did and saw. She also talked about how the tour director was very on top of things and how nice she was. She also enjoyed the interaction with students from across the country. The extra trips to Toledo and Montserrat were a big hit with her also.
    I especially want to thank you for ensuring her culinary needs were met. I know firsthand what a challenge feeding a vegan can be. I was worried about her meals but she said she was fed much better than expected. Thank You for making this a wonderful experience, one that was obviously well worth the expense. I am happy EF tours will also be in charge of next year`s trip to Costa Rica. I will be sending my daughter on that trip also. Thank You for a job well done, please thank the tour director also.
    Thank You,
    alejandro1 / Student traveler
    Santa Fe Springs Calif. / Posted on April 18, 2017
  6. Life Changing Experience!!

    We started in Barcelona, spent amazing time there in La Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas, the Cathedral of Barcelona, biking through Barcelona, visiting Park G├╝ell, walking tours and along the way we had amazing tour guides! On our 6 hour drive to Madrid, we stopped in Zaragoza that has a beautiful Cathedral and lovely shops and restaurants. In Madrid, we toured the city, and also went on a excursion to Toledo. When we left Madrid to Portugal (which was a 5 hours and 30 minute drive), we stopped in Merida to eat lunch see the roman ruins, which was breath taking. In Portugal, we did a bus tour because it was raining and it usually doesn't rain in Portugal. Going to Spain and absorbing the culture and history makes you appreciate life so much more. This trip is life changing and if you have a chance to go to Spain and portugal, I would take it!
    rjay / Student traveler
    Kula, hawaii / Posted on March 30, 2017
  7. Fantastic Tour Guide

    It was a wonderful opportunity for my students. Our Tour guide was fantastic. The only big problem was that our hotels were always it in the middle of nowhere. There was no place to which we could walk.
    MissDancer / Adult traveler
    Tomah,WI / Posted on December 04, 2017
  8. So Awesome!

    This was my first time traveling with EF Tours and it was one of the greatest experiences in my life. Spain and Portugal were breathtaking, our tour director was awesome, he definitely knew what he was doing, and I would do this trip again in a heartbeat.
    / Student traveler
    New York / Posted on July 13, 2017
  9. Super Spain

    Super trip to a super place. Lots of set tours and lots of free time too! Tour guides were excellent. Barcelona and Madrid were the bomb. Definitely recommend Toledo also. Incredible mix of old and new, classic and neo culture and traditional and modern environment in beautiful contrast and unity.
    Spaniard / Student traveler
    Manassas, VA / Posted on July 11, 2017
  10. Amazing Experience!!!

    I had so much fun. The food, the places I visited, the people I met, and the activities I did were so great that I wish I could've stayed longer. It was truly an unforgettable experience.
    Rose101 / Student traveler
    Triangle, VA / Posted on July 10, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?