Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
264 reviewed Japan: Land of the Rising Sun
5 stars
199
4 stars
52
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
  1. Awesome Trip

    I think about my time in Japan almost every day. The culture was completely different from what I know, and I loved it. I will always cherish my time in that wonderful country. Thank you EF Tours!
    Bug2000 / Student traveler
    Conway, South Carolina / Posted on January 03, 2018
  2. Life Changing

    Japan was a life changing experience for myself and my students. From the moment we got off the plane and met our tour director until we boarded the return flight home to the United States, every single moment was filled with adventures, packed with learning opportunities, and we were always immersed in the culture that is uniquely Japan. Every single student on this trip with me said they would return to Japan in the future because it was just that amazing and awesome! I highly recommend this trip for all high school students.
    FloridaTeacher / Group leader
    Jacksonville, Florida / Posted on July 22, 2017
  3. The Best of the BEST

    This tour was something difficult to explain. I loved every moment of it, the sightseeing, the cultural exchange, the food, everything was just perfect. I recommend this tour completely, either your a culture exchange fanatic or and anime addict you will enjoy it fully. Im definitely going back!!!!
    GlowPR / Student traveler
    Puerto Rico / Posted on July 14, 2017
  4. Wonderful first trip

    Although I was initially hesitant about how much I would enjoy Japan, the EF tour gave me a fantastic first impression of the country and its people. Our tour director and local guides were friendly and knowledgeable, and we appreciated their attention to detail and excellent guidance. The tour bus was clean and punctual, as was our director. The only reason we did not stay completely on schedule was the tardiness of other schools in our group.

    I appreciated the variety of experiences we were given while in Japan, including transportation. We rode the subway, traveled by bus, took the bullet train, and enjoyed a short cable car ride and ferry trip. We also visited many sites, which allowed us to experience different parts of the country. We spent the first few days in the huge city of Tokyo and then traveled through the countryside before arriving at Kyoto. The students loved having the experience of the big city, but also seeing the more rural parts of Japan that include small towns and rice paddies.

    While the tour is expensive, we were very satisfied with the lodging and amenities. We were also satisfied in terms of sightseeing and information. In addition to busy days, we had some free time to explore the cities and towns and interact with Japanese natives, which our students really enjoyed. They felt they had the opportunity to make some authentic experiences for themselves.

    At the end of the trip, our students felt like they had developed a friendship with our tour director and a deep interest in Japan and its culture. As a teacher, I was elated to hear them say they had such a good first impression of Japan that they hope to return one day. Experience really is one of the best forms of learning.
    et006 / Adult traveler
    Arkansas / Posted on June 22, 2017
  5. Wonderful people and Wonderful place

    This tour was an absolutely amazing experience. Not only did I enjoy all the things we planned but I love all the unplanned adventures we had. We had an awesome tour director who constantly prepared "secret itinerary" to surprise us when the bus showed up at beautiful castles. I loved every second of it and made so many friends along the way. I learned so much about Japan's culture and language that I am even considering moving there when I get older. I'm so glad I took this trip because it gave me a different perspective on the world. I have me time to stop and realize I'm still young and there's so much more in the world for me to see and learn before I start my adulthood. I want to do more adventures while I can. I have so much more to see. Thank you to all those who helped with this tour.
    Acook / Student traveler
    Westerville, Ohio / Posted on June 11, 2017
  6. Awesome Japan!

    Excellent blend of historical and modern culture. Ground and air transportation were great! Fabulous experiences on the public transport system--good learning experience. Hotels in Kyoto and Hakone were fabulous! Tour leader was thorough and shared multiple ways of learning including singing and dancing, lecture, experiential, guided tour, free time.
    Kaiaulu / Adult traveler
    Honolulu, Hawaii / Posted on March 31, 2017
  7. amazing experience!

    beautiful country , fascinating culture , loved the people and food . did not like spending time at shopping malls , we could have visited other popular attractions and historic places instead
    barca / Student traveler
    Posted on January 29, 2018
  8. great experience

    Had a great experience and our tour director Yumiko san was exceptional. Everything was arranged wonderfully with no pitfalls. Hotels and food was great! Would do it again if given the opportunity
    ashbhuv / Adult traveler
    Florence SC / Posted on January 18, 2018
  9. Awesome Trip!

    It was a great experience. Had lots of fun on the trip and the students learned a lot about the culture, food, sites, and history of Japan. Thank you for another awesome trip. Looking forward to Scotland and England in the Spring!
    lilz / Group leader
    Honolulu, HI / Posted on October 18, 2017
  10. This trip was fantastic!

    Everything from the hotels, tour guide, the food was absolutely amazing. We met lots of wonderful people ate amazing quality food and I couldn't haven't asked for anything more.
    Turner123 / Student traveler
    Westerville / Posted on September 07, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?