Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
393 reviewed Japan: Land of the Rising Sun
5 stars
286
4 stars
84
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
6
  1. Wonderful Adventure!

    My son felt inspired on his trip to Japan. He loved the wide variety of beautiful and interesting sites and experiences the group visited. He tried adventurous new street foods, saw things that were entirely new to him, and learned some history and culture. It seemed like the right amount of supervision for a 16-year old--he enjoyed having some free time, but felt self and well taken care of with the way the trip was structured. We would recommend EF to others!
    NYC61 / Parent
    New York, NY / Posted on April 28, 2019
  2. A dream come true!

    I have always wanted to visit Japan, but I didn't think it would be financially possible until I heard about EF tours! It opened an amazing door for me and for the students on the trip. There was so much to see and do, we learned so much! My students even pointed things out to me they had learned in my science class! Like the bullet train that ran on electromagnets, and the nuclear reactions used in power plants and weapons! I was really proud that they were able to relate school topics to this trip, and they did it without me even asking them to!
    Suzune / Adult traveler
    Pasco, WA / Posted on April 10, 2019
  3. One of the best tours yet!

    This tour was incredible for so many reasons! First, we were able to experience many aspects of Japanese history and culture. Kyoto gave us the "old" Japan, Hakone gave us the opportunity to engage in traditional Japanese culture and Tokyo gave us the modern Japan. Our TD was one of the best I've worked with in my 9 tours. So well organized and so many opportunities to learn new things about the country.
    JSKS / Group leader
    Olathe, KS / Posted on March 19, 2019
  4. Lifechanging

    This experience has shaped me completely for the better. I felt home here on this tour. It has inspired me beyond words to continue living to see all of Japan. I recommend this trip to anyone looking for a down-to-earth, peaceful, absolutely breath-taking experience.
    lenkualli / Student traveler
    Newburgh, Indiana / Posted on August 23, 2018
  5. Awesome adventure in Japan!

    Japan: Land of the Rising Sun itinerary is jam-packed with cultural experiences! Every day was an adventure - new foods, new phrases in Japanese, and a peek at cultural traditions in a different part of the world. This itinerary has a little bit of everything for the travelers. We had plenty of shopping time, visits to Castles and religious shrines, and culinary treats galore. Our highlights included: a lecture with a professional Sumo wrestler, visit to the Great Buddha in Kamakura and Nara, a Kimono fashion show, and most of all a traditional night at a ryokan and a visit to see Mt. Fuji. If you are looking for a destination that is exciting and educational, this is the itinerary for you!
    cc1226 / Group leader
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 10, 2018
  6. Amazing Trip!!!

    I will admit, I did not know much about Japan before the trip, so I did not have much to be excited for beyond simply going to a new country.

    The trip was amazing! The blend between culture, religion, and technology was beautiful. EF Tours planned a wonderful balance between learning history and experiencing daily life.

    Even though the weather was hot and very humid, it in no way detracted from my experience.

    My tour guide was exceptional! My tour guide worked tirelessly to accommodate our wishes as a group and give us a deep understanding of the rich culture of Japan. My tour guide was knowledgeable, kind, funny, hard-working, and simply the best!

    My wife and I cannot wait to go visit Japan again!
    Californiamusician123 / Adult traveler
    Anaheim, California / Posted on August 02, 2019
  7. Incredible experience

    I loved this tour so much! i genuinely enjoyed going and learning about the traditional Japanese culture, especially the religions. In this tour we went to Buddhist temples and shinto shrines all over Tokyo/Hakone/Kyoto. I also really enjoyed the cuisine, DELICIOUS. Over all i would definitely recommend, Tokyo was my favorite part personally. (It was like New York but way cleaner!)
    Adri245 / Student traveler
    West Palm Beach, FL / Posted on August 02, 2019
  8. Memories

    He has had a wonder time in Japan, he was so excited, shopping was amazing to him going to Disneyland was wonderful. He was not ready to come home. He love Jane and if he can get a second chance of going again, then I will send him
    2019japan / Student traveler
    Lawndale ca / Posted on July 29, 2019
  9. Great cultural exposure and education

    EF did a great job planning sites and sights to see. I do feel that we could have skipped a couple of the shrines/temples to allow us to spend more time walking around the the smaller towns, especially Kamakura.
    Our guide was amazing. She was so knowledgeable about her country and culture and so willing to share both.
    Educational1 / Adult traveler
    Lihue, Hawaii / Posted on July 20, 2019
  10. Great Time

    Amazing experience. We saw and did so much in 11 days. Definitely should be on everyone's bucket list.
    AJSF / Adult traveler
    Warsaw, IN / Posted on July 16, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?