Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
367 reviewed Japan: Land of the Rising Sun
5 stars
272
4 stars
75
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
6
  1. Wonderful Adventure!

    My son felt inspired on his trip to Japan. He loved the wide variety of beautiful and interesting sites and experiences the group visited. He tried adventurous new street foods, saw things that were entirely new to him, and learned some history and culture. It seemed like the right amount of supervision for a 16-year old--he enjoyed having some free time, but felt self and well taken care of with the way the trip was structured. We would recommend EF to others!
    NYC61 / Parent
    New York, NY / Posted on April 28, 2019
  2. A dream come true!

    I have always wanted to visit Japan, but I didn't think it would be financially possible until I heard about EF tours! It opened an amazing door for me and for the students on the trip. There was so much to see and do, we learned so much! My students even pointed things out to me they had learned in my science class! Like the bullet train that ran on electromagnets, and the nuclear reactions used in power plants and weapons! I was really proud that they were able to relate school topics to this trip, and they did it without me even asking them to!
    Suzune / Adult traveler
    Pasco, WA / Posted on April 10, 2019
  3. One of the best tours yet!

    This tour was incredible for so many reasons! First, we were able to experience many aspects of Japanese history and culture. Kyoto gave us the "old" Japan, Hakone gave us the opportunity to engage in traditional Japanese culture and Tokyo gave us the modern Japan. Our TD was one of the best I've worked with in my 9 tours. So well organized and so many opportunities to learn new things about the country.
    JSKS / Group leader
    Olathe, KS / Posted on March 19, 2019
  4. Lifechanging

    This experience has shaped me completely for the better. I felt home here on this tour. It has inspired me beyond words to continue living to see all of Japan. I recommend this trip to anyone looking for a down-to-earth, peaceful, absolutely breath-taking experience.
    lenkualli / Student traveler
    Newburgh, Indiana / Posted on August 23, 2018
  5. Awesome adventure in Japan!

    Japan: Land of the Rising Sun itinerary is jam-packed with cultural experiences! Every day was an adventure - new foods, new phrases in Japanese, and a peek at cultural traditions in a different part of the world. This itinerary has a little bit of everything for the travelers. We had plenty of shopping time, visits to Castles and religious shrines, and culinary treats galore. Our highlights included: a lecture with a professional Sumo wrestler, visit to the Great Buddha in Kamakura and Nara, a Kimono fashion show, and most of all a traditional night at a ryokan and a visit to see Mt. Fuji. If you are looking for a destination that is exciting and educational, this is the itinerary for you!
    cc1226 / Group leader
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 10, 2018
  6. Great experience

    I recommend to people that don't have pollen or sulfa allergies but it was still great to experience to visit Japan with family or friends.
    Frsobyte / Student traveler
    North Plainfield, New Jersey / Posted on June 12, 2019
  7. Whole New World

    Japan was such an amazing country. Before I visited, I only knew a little bit about it, but after going, I fell in love immediately. Getting to see both the modern and traditional parts were both equally amazing and everything was so beautiful and breathtaking. I loved this tour so much, and I would want to do it over and over again. Thank you so much for this opportunity to travel the Land of the Rising Sun! <3
    SomeGirlFromAlaska / Student traveler
    Fairbanks, Alaska / Posted on June 12, 2019
  8. Amazing

    I had an amazing time while she was in Japan. EF education tours did an excellent job on her groups traveling itinerary from the beginning to the end. I highly recommend this organization for traveling abroad.
    Selfie / Student traveler
    Somerdale, NJ / Posted on May 15, 2019
  9. Trip of a liefetime! Some issues...

    Truly a trip of a lifetime! Saw all the major landmarks such as Mt. Fuji (fortunate to see peak without clouds), the Atomic Dome in Hiroshima, the Great Buddha in Kamakura, got to ride the Bullet Train twice, the Golden Temple in Kyoto, Nara where you fed the deer and the Buddha statue at Todai-ji Temple, etc... AND, we went during the Cherry Blossoms which made the tour extra special but we did not go to Ueno Park. We did go to a nice alternative though and still saw many throughout the trip like at Himeji Castle (that was awesome). Our tour guide was phenomenal and would recommend it! However, a few things kept me from giving it 5 stars. First, the hotels in Kyoto and Tokyo were over an hour outside of the downtown areas which the students lost some valuable experience. The food was sub-standard at times, which at one stop, we ate mall sushi. A few times we had to rush through and had to eat at convenience stores a few too many times for lunch. The bathrooms in a couple of hotels had the plugs outside of the bathroom which caused a problem for a hair dryer. Lastly, a few too many times we felt rushed. We spent all of 2 1/2 hours in Akihabara which was way too short for example. The same can be said for Hiroshima, Miyajima Island and the list goes on. Another difficult thing was packing ahead twice for the bullet train. If you are traveling with your child, that can be a challenge especially if you also have bought some souvenirs. LASTLY, this trip needs one more day in Tokyo which would have enabled us to visit things like the Skytree, Tokyo Tower, or anything else that others might want to see. AND, another day in the coolest city in Japan- OSAKA. The downtown is amazing and the shopping is phenomenal! And that was the problem- simply not having enough shopping time. However, you barely got about 20 hours there in Osaka. If half of these things were fixed, I'd still give it 5 stars because of the value of still seeing all the major landmarks. Still, you need to do your research like we did like eating at Menme in Himeji or shopping at Den Den in Osaka, etc. Parents, make sure you send your children with money because Japan is expensive and too many times (like I've seen it on other trips) kids ran out of money. Luckily some of helped them out. Otherwise, I would still recommend this trip but just be aware with some of the issues.
    TMAK01 / Adult traveler
    Detroit, MI / Posted on May 05, 2019
  10. Fantastic Experience

    This was my first International Trip, and it is something that I will never forget, the Tour Guides were great they told us so much information about their beautiful country, the places that we went too were so beautiful, I lived the Temples, Bamboo Forest, the Shopping District and the Hotels were great. I would love to return there someday.
    Tech2 / Adult traveler
    Brooklyn, New York / Posted on April 30, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?