Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.7 out of 5)
277 reviewed Discover Costa Rica
5 stars
217
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
0
1 star
1
  1. Amazing Experience for Teens

    This trip was awesome! Absolutely loved the activities and tour guides. So much wildlife to see! The time to relax, swim, and evening activities was a cool part of the trip that I didn't expect. Getting to know, the students from other parts of the country made this memorable and we are keeping in touch!
    Adktraveler / Student traveler
    Bolton Landing, NY / Posted on May 03, 2019
  2. April Vacation

    This trip was so fun! I couldn't believe how many activities we did and the extras that I didn't even know we were going to do! I loved being able to go everyday and not worry about any planning. Everything was ready and all I had to do was show up. Our tour director and bus driver were a major influence on my trip and I will remember them and their words forever!
    Raindrop / Student traveler
    Westbrook, Maine / Posted on April 24, 2018
  3. Great Value & Great Tour Director

    I went on this tour as a chaperone, and this was a great experience at an unbeatable price. The tour director and bus drivers we had were excellent and the kids loved getting to know them. The kids learned a lot about the culture, plants, animals, and history of Costa Rica. We always felt safe with our tour director, and I felt like the activities gave the kids the opportunity to try things they might not have tried by themselves. We were active the entire trip, but people of all ages and physical abilities were able to keep up and participate. Definitely bring sunscreen, bug spray, and some kind of water shoes on this trip.
    CNY2017 / Adult traveler
    Ithaca, NY / Posted on July 21, 2017
  4. Fantastic Trip!

    My group had such a wonderful trip full of adventure, broadening horizons and Spanish! My students left with a sense of possibility- of all of the things they can go out into the world and experience, and of all of the people that there are out there to meet. Our Discover Costa Rica trip was the perfect introduction to fun world travel.
    Yessi / Group leader
    Beersheba Springs, Tennessee / Posted on July 18, 2017
  5. Once in a Lifetime Trip

    As my first vacational trip outside of the US I was beyond satisfied with the scope of my trip. It combined the thrilling aspects of ziplining and white water rafting with the cultural enlightenment of plantation tours of two of the biggest crops in Costa Rica. Moreover, I found a new appreciation for nature after eye-opening experiences such as snorkeling near a coral reef and hiking through the rainforest. I saw some of the coolest wildlife in person including a two-toed sloth and a white-faced capuchin monkey! Plus I had the opportunity to engage in Latin American culture with a local meal offered every day and Hispanic music played upon request. Our tour guides and bus driver were phenomenal: friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating, and luckily, my tour group experienced mild weather with little rain throughout the week. Overall it was a once in a lifetime experience that I would highly reccomend to anyone.
    Cait1234 / Student traveler
    Lawton, OK / Posted on July 03, 2017
  6. Awesome

    Very fun and educational experience. Was able to immerse in the local culture and become familiar with the local language. Enjoyed all the activities and locations we went to. Great travel experience.
    JaredA / Student traveler
    Culver, Oregon / Posted on April 02, 2019
  7. Pura Vida

    Great experience learning about the people, history, and culture of Costa Rica. The country is an amazing place with amazing people. I will always remember this trip.
    BlisterFeet / Student traveler
    Meridian, Idaho / Posted on March 31, 2019
  8. A Parent's Prespective

    Not only was this trip fun and educational, but it also allowed us to see our teen interact with his peers. He had a blast and we got to see him having fun off the computer! I think we had just as much as the kids did, even more on some of the activities!

    That said, some of the accommodations were a little more "rustic" than we had anticipated but it all worked out in the end.
    HuahuaMama / Adult traveler
    Meridian, Id / Posted on March 31, 2019
  9. Great experience

    This travel experience was very well organized and coordinated. I didn’t feel like any time was wasted. We had adventures, learning experiences, and interaction with locals that we wouldn’t have had traveling without our guide. I’m looking forward to going again with my other children.

    My only complaints were the poor flight schedule and hotel accommodations. For the $, we should have had better flight schedules. The hotels themselves were perfect for our group, but some people got really nice rooms and other had sub par rooms. These are humble hotels, which I was pleased with. It gave the students an authentic experience. However, perhaps equalizing the room quality would be nice, since we all paid the same.

    Overall, those complaints are MINOR compared to the unbelievable experiences we had. Every minute was well spent and no time was wasted. I would 100% do it again.
    Theladyinthesecondrow / Adult traveler
    Posted on March 30, 2019
  10. Wonderful Trip

    The itinerary for this trip was jam-packed most days with exciting and unique experiences. My kids loved the white water rafting tour and all of the wildlife tours. Our first hotel (Ara Ambigua) allowed for students to see all sorts of beautiful Costa Rican wildlife. The only drawback was that a few of the experiences felt very similar and wore the kids down (lots of hiking close together). The snorkeling spot wasn't as good as other snorkeling tours that EF has put on for my students. Other than that, it was a fantastic experience!
    Globetrotter14 / Adult traveler
    St. Louis, MO / Posted on March 25, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?