Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.3 out of 5)
246 reviewed Paris, The Riviera and Rome
5 stars
137
4 stars
65
3 stars
24
2 stars
13
1 star
7
  1. Great Experience

    The trip was well paced, informative, and breath-taking. We covered many locations, saw many important sites and received cultural and historical information that was relevant to our trip.
    / Adult traveler
    Tacoma, WA / Posted on July 05, 2017
  2. Educational and Fun Trip

    The diverse experiences mixed educational (Versailles), fun (perfume factory), great food (breakfasts), adventure (climbing the Eiffel Tower), and amazing views (Nice).
    888Parent888 / Parent
    Livermore, CA / Posted on June 16, 2017
  3. Incredible Experience

    This trip was amazing. I made some great new friends who I know I will stay in touch with for a long time. Our tour Director was THE BEST! He was fun and energetic and really went out of his way to make our experience remarkable. With everything done for you by EF, you just go along and enjoy all the sights and tours. This is my second trip and I hope to have one more before I graduate.
    mumbles / Student traveler
    Fall River, MA / Posted on April 28, 2017
  4. Amazing Trip

    My 13 year-old and I attended this tour in June of 2016-worth every penny! While on the tour, every detail is handled for you. All transportation, entry fees, and most meals are pre-arranged, so that you can enjoy seeing the beautiful historic sites of France and Italy. If you have a chance, take the Siena tour, it is worth the time...an incredible place with rich history! Great for kids over 15-16 without parents along as well. We loved our tour director, and all of our tour guides along the way. Every hotel was good, but the stays in Italy were especially magical. Would definitely recommend this trip!
    TourMomTLS / Adult traveler
    Prescott, AZ / Posted on April 15, 2017
  5. Beyond Expectations

    All aspects of our trip exceeded my expectations. Awesome TD! Itinerary was well organized, hotels were either clean and modern, awesome renovations of monasteries, or eclectic fun places to stay. All of them were great and our group had no complaints about the stay or the service. The local tours were educational and fun for the kids. Thanks for a great trip!
    Terrag / Group leader
    Kingsburg, CA / Posted on August 02, 2016
  6. Ready for More

    This experience was everything I thought it would be and more. Our tour leader made us feel right at home and made sure that we were taken care of during the entire trip. We always felt safe and taken care of. My only concern was the amount of money students needed to bring to cover extra attractions. While I appreciated having extra opportunities on the trip, it would have been nice to know what types of opportunities would be available before traveling to make sure students had enough money.
    The food was awesome, and the learning opportunities were incredible. I would go again.
    firsttimetravelor / Group leader
    Cloverdale, OR / Posted on July 18, 2016
  7. Subpar two weeks

    I did not enjoy my tour with EF at all. The meals were not prepared well, several not even fully cooked, and were not typical French or Italian fare. It made me sad to be with my students and have discussed French and Italian cuisine with them, that they never got a chance to enjoy. I was vastly disappointed with the meals provided by EF. The meals we had on the fly were significantly better than what EF fed us. Many kids were still very hungry after the meals because so much of it was inedible, especially the meals in Paris - not French food and not edible. I was also sad to eat my last meal in France in an Italian restaurant eating Italian food. I also felt like the pace was too fast to enjoy anything we came to see. For example, we had 1.5 hours in the Louvre. THE LOUVRE. We had to basically run through the museum to see anything and definitely didn't have time to enjoy it. A guided tour through the Louvre later in the day would have been so much better. At Montparnasse, we had almost 2 hours, which was 1:15 too much time. I would have traded that 1:15 for more time at the Louvre. I did enjoy how much we were able to see and do in the 12 days we had together, but several times I was confused as to the timeline of events. For some parts we had too much time and for others we barely had a moment to rest. Here take 2 minutes for lunch and you can't bring anything on the bus. Or you have 2 hours of free time in a place where there are no shops or places to eat or places to sit or bathrooms. It was almost as if there was no middle ground. I also felt as if some of the hotels were lacking as well. I understand that as Americans we are used to creature comforts like large rooms or air conditioning, but the most needed comfort was wifi. Many kids and adults needed wifi to call home or send text messages. I would rather have reliable wifi over air conditioning any day. There were also several times I feared for my safety. Crossing roads while traffic was coming and walking down roads with no real direction, other than "turn left a couple times, you'll see it" when I have cars, trucks, and mopeds driving by at incredible speeds. I did not feel comfortable walking with my students. I did not feel comfortable walking on my own. I think if some parents would have seen the conditions, they would have not been happy. I also did not like that the schedule changed constantly. Whenever I spoke to kids and gave them directions, the schedule would change so they (and I) had no idea what was going on. This mattered when we needed to have on specific clothing for specific places (churches, Vatican, etc). Sometimes we told kids to dress up, but then they didn't need it so they were very uncomfortable walking around for hours in 100 degree heat. I didn't think the Rome by Night tour was worth it. I thought we would be a separate tour bus with an open top driving around the city with a local guide. Instead we sat inside our own bus and looked at some places illuminated. To me it wasn't worth the extra time we spent on the bus. I wish I had more education on Italian culture and customs before I went. I was prepared for France, but not Italy. I don't think Italy is a good idea in the summer. I would rather have gone in January/February so the weather wouldn't be such an issue. I have traveled abroad several times, but have never left so disappointed. Usually I am in tears over leaving, this time I was itching to get home.

    Positively, the local guides were fantastic and I would love to go on much longer tours with them. I was grateful for the cheaper pre fixe meals in Capri and Pompeii. I also enjoyed the boat tour in Paris and in Capri, really wishing both were significantly longer.
    / Adult traveler
    Hamilton, NY / Posted on July 14, 2017
  8. Great trip!

    What a fantastic trip! It was surreal being able to visit so many cities and see so many historical sites, art, and buildings. Climbing the steps of the Eiffel tower was so cool, taking the typical photo at the leaning tower of Pisa was fun, the Sistine chapel at the Vatican was amazing. The colesseum, forum, and Pantheon in Rome - such history! Getting to visit Pompeii, Sienna, Monaco, Nice, and Naples was great too. We go to see so much! I would absolutely recommend this tour to others considering attending.
    Funtrip / Adult traveler
    Tacoma, WA / Posted on July 11, 2017
  9. Amazing experience but needs some improvements

    Over all great experience but some aspects need improvement. Some nights for dinner, they fed us the same things that we had a previous night. I realize that they might be popular and easy to make for big groups but part of the traveling experience is trying new foods everyday. Also the restaurants shouldn't have bugs coming out of the wall where the kitchen is. Gross! The students should have access to wifi at the hotels at night because for most people, the only way to contact family at home, or even chaperones on the trip is with wifi if they don't have an international phone plan. Also all of the students should have more free time in Paris! Not just the ones that didn't go to Versailles. Everybody wanted to have the chance to go up the Eiffel Tower but we ran out of time. Very disappointing.
    / Student traveler
    Orange, California / Posted on July 10, 2017
  10. Amazing Location-Not So Great Lodging and Waiting

    The actual tour and cities was perfect. The timing of the days was perfect. The preparation for tickets to museums was perfect. The tour director was perfect. I was annoyed that we had to wait for everyone to land in Paris in our group of 40 before we could get to our first stop which was Notre Dame. Because of this we could not get there that night. Also every hotel was an hour away! Ridiculous. I did not like the hotel choices. Horrible. The waiting times for the bus were awful. Also, our bus broke and had no AC for several days. Not cool.
    Nescafe / Adult traveler
    Charlotte NC / Posted on July 09, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?