Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
40 reviewed Discover South Africa
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Out of this world

    I wish I could find the words to describe this completely singular experience. South Africa is a country of amazing vistas, people, animals, culture and history. This tour hits all the highlights and more. Worth every single penny! Hotels, food and guide all top notch. Although drives between places may seem a bit long, the scenery makes it more than tolerable. Adults and students alike had one of the most memorable trips. Not to sound cliche but a trip of a lifetime
    Content / Adult traveler
    Saint Louis, Missouri / Posted on June 16, 2018
  2. South Africa Tour

    This was the one of the most glorious experiences of my lifetime! All of my senses were in awe simulateously. The people were amazing. The food was exquisite. Our tour guide, Mr. Allen, was an incredible wealth of knowledge and history. For me, the most incredible aspect of the adventure was the tour of Robbin Island and Nelson Mandela's prison cell. My life was changed for the better after this experience. And yes, the sunsets are breathtaking!
    ZLTC / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on September 01, 2017
  3. Excellent trip

    My son had an excellent time on his trip to South Africa. He had so many amazing experiences and came back a different kid. He visited many historical sites and learned so much. They sampled the local cuisine, danced and experienced the culture at its best. I hope one day my wife and I get to experience the same.
    foodie1 / Parent
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on June 18, 2017
  4. South Africa Is Calling

    The South Africa tour was simply awesome. The people, history, culture and sights of this beautiful country all blended into one amazing experience. From Krugar National Park safari, Cape Point, Table Mountain and the crystal blue ocean in Cape Town, my trip to South Africa was the trip of a lifetime! Thank you EF!
    chole / Group leader
    Decatur, Georgia / Posted on June 17, 2017
  5. Exceptional tour

    My first time to the African continent was amazing! Truly a once in a lifetime experience. Due to the fact that our guide, Duane, was the most knowledgeable person on African culture I ever will meet. He provided us with such an indebt information on the history, economy, agriculture , animal wildlife, of Johannesburg, CapeTown and surrounding area. I now have a wonderful journal of my first hand experiences on one of the best EF Tours I have ever been on.
    Junebugslive / Adult traveler
    Stroudsburg PA / Posted on August 13, 2015
  6. Best Travel Bargain Ever

    As a veteran of over 40 years of travel abroad and nearly 30 EF tours I can safely say that Discover South Africa is the best travel deal anywhere. Although the initial price tag might tend to scare one off at first, when you carefully calculate just how far your dollars are going against the weak South African Rand it doesn't take a genius to see that a week in beautiful, friendly and fascinating South Africa is a better deal than a trip to the Shore, Disney World and Hawaii combined. There is so much to see and learn. Such great food and drink. A landscape that is replete with unique sights wherever one might cast their gaze. So much history to learn about; both good, bad and ugly. Excellent service by hotel, restaurants, local guides and especially your EF guide while traveling throughout South Africa. I can't say enough about the expertise of Duane Rankin: he is one of the most knowledgeable persons I've ever met and is happy to share his expertise on everything South African with the group. He made looong bus rides interesting and went out of his way to make sure everyone in the group was well cared for throughout the journey. On the few occasions where a meal was not covered by the parameters of the tour we were able to find great dining offers at a cheap price thanks to Duane's recommendations. In fact, every incidental along the way was priced far below comparable US items. Imagine getting room service for two in a luxury hotel for less than $15.00! Had it not been for souvenirs we might easily have spent less than $100 out of pocket between the two of us. This tour includes most everything from airfare to hotels to most meals to entrance fees to tipping the hotel staff. Absolutely fabulous experience.
    Magnus / Adult traveler
    Mount Pocono, PA / Posted on August 05, 2015
  7. Nice Trip, but travel connections terrible

    Overall, the trip to South Africa was good, however, the travel connections were terrible and hence I cannot recommend this trip to others given the same flight connections. Newark to Athens (2 hr layover) 5, hour flight to Dubai, 5 hour layover and then a 9.5 hour flight to Johannesburg. Returning was worst as we have to go through multiple security checks in Athens. As far as the trip, our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable. Hotels were very nice and the last dinner in a Traditional African restaurant was amazing! EF needs to stream line the agenda between Johannesburg and Kruger National Park. as you could reduce the stay n Johannesburg 1 night and fly at night to Cape town instead of wasting most of one day travelling. There were some issues with one of the other EF groups travelling, however, if EF wants to discuss those items please contact me offline. Again, country was very nice, but travel plans in/out from Newark were terrible.
    Brianr / Adult traveler
    Somerset, NJ / Posted on July 30, 2018
  8. Too Much Wasted Time

    We began Day 1 - as our flight was scheduled at 11:55 pm, this is hardly a day!
    We had two stopovers, one of which was not on the ticket as it was a "fuel" stop, yet some passengers had a ticket to Athens as their destination?? When we arrived 2 days later - (remember, day 1 counts?) we learned that a group from LA had a direct flight from Atlanta and another option was a direct flight from JFK- this seems to make the most sense for the groups from NJ PA and NY. This in effect gave the LA group 1-1/2 days extra in the country than the NJ, PA or NY group for the same amount of money-grossly unfair!
    Two days o the eight were spent on a bus, more wasted time.
    All the accommodations and food were wonderful. The tour director, B.F.M., was fantastic, knowledgeable and very flexible.
    Teacherjc / Group leader
    Somerset NJ / Posted on July 23, 2018
  9. Awesome!

    It was such a great experience!
    JLSSSSSSSSSSSS / Student traveler
    Cedar Grove, NJ / Posted on July 05, 2018
  10. Mountaintop Experience

    South Africa is amazing! It was the most beautiful place I've been (and I've been to a few different countries) with its beach views and mountain backgrounds. Amazing sight seeing from Kruger Park safari to Boulder Beach and Robbin Island. A visit of local communities has richly added to my life experiences and invisible knapsack. The cultural experience and food were great. And, the accommodations were notable. Overall an incredible trip!
    globalgirl01 / Student traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on June 25, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?