Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
32 reviewed Discover South Africa
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. South Africa Tour

    This was the one of the most glorious experiences of my lifetime! All of my senses were in awe simulateously. The people were amazing. The food was exquisite. Our tour guide, Mr. Allen, was an incredible wealth of knowledge and history. For me, the most incredible aspect of the adventure was the tour of Robbin Island and Nelson Mandela's prison cell. My life was changed for the better after this experience. And yes, the sunsets are breathtaking!
    ZLTC / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on September 01, 2017
  2. Excellent trip

    My son had an excellent time on his trip to South Africa. He had so many amazing experiences and came back a different kid. He visited many historical sites and learned so much. They sampled the local cuisine, danced and experienced the culture at its best. I hope one day my wife and I get to experience the same.
    foodie1 / Parent
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on June 18, 2017
  3. South Africa Is Calling

    The South Africa tour was simply awesome. The people, history, culture and sights of this beautiful country all blended into one amazing experience. From Krugar National Park safari, Cape Point, Table Mountain and the crystal blue ocean in Cape Town, my trip to South Africa was the trip of a lifetime! Thank you EF!
    chole / Group leader
    Decatur, Georgia / Posted on June 17, 2017
  4. Exceptional tour

    My first time to the African continent was amazing! Truly a once in a lifetime experience. Due to the fact that our guide, Duane, was the most knowledgeable person on African culture I ever will meet. He provided us with such an indebt information on the history, economy, agriculture , animal wildlife, of Johannesburg, CapeTown and surrounding area. I now have a wonderful journal of my first hand experiences on one of the best EF Tours I have ever been on.
    Junebugslive / Adult traveler
    Stroudsburg PA / Posted on August 13, 2015
  5. Best Travel Bargain Ever

    As a veteran of over 40 years of travel abroad and nearly 30 EF tours I can safely say that Discover South Africa is the best travel deal anywhere. Although the initial price tag might tend to scare one off at first, when you carefully calculate just how far your dollars are going against the weak South African Rand it doesn't take a genius to see that a week in beautiful, friendly and fascinating South Africa is a better deal than a trip to the Shore, Disney World and Hawaii combined. There is so much to see and learn. Such great food and drink. A landscape that is replete with unique sights wherever one might cast their gaze. So much history to learn about; both good, bad and ugly. Excellent service by hotel, restaurants, local guides and especially your EF guide while traveling throughout South Africa. I can't say enough about the expertise of Duane Rankin: he is one of the most knowledgeable persons I've ever met and is happy to share his expertise on everything South African with the group. He made looong bus rides interesting and went out of his way to make sure everyone in the group was well cared for throughout the journey. On the few occasions where a meal was not covered by the parameters of the tour we were able to find great dining offers at a cheap price thanks to Duane's recommendations. In fact, every incidental along the way was priced far below comparable US items. Imagine getting room service for two in a luxury hotel for less than $15.00! Had it not been for souvenirs we might easily have spent less than $100 out of pocket between the two of us. This tour includes most everything from airfare to hotels to most meals to entrance fees to tipping the hotel staff. Absolutely fabulous experience.
    Magnus / Adult traveler
    Mount Pocono, PA / Posted on August 05, 2015
  6. Amazing

    I really enjoyed the South Africa tour it was a lifetime experience ...
    EvyT / Adult traveler
    Racine Wisconsin / Posted on July 09, 2017
  7. Once in a Lifetime Adventure

    A few Johannesburg stops/visits did not occur as detailed on the itinerary. Kruger National Park Safari was amazing...saw 20+ different animals! Cape Town was one of the most beautiful coast lines I have ever seen! Overall, highly recommend a visit/tour to this part of the world!!!
    Georgia88 / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on July 07, 2017
  8. My Africa Experience

    I really enjoyed my experience. I enjoyed learning about other cultures. I enjoyed learning new facts and experiencing the sights. I did not like that we did not get to try authentic cuisine and that the tour guide didn't seem to listen to what our group wanted to do.
    africagirl2017 / Student traveler
    Kenosha, WI / Posted on July 04, 2017
  9. Meets Expectations

    Everything was great on this tour. We saw lots of animals on safari and the scenery was amazing. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I had a blast!
    dancer0205 / Student traveler
    Windsor, CO / Posted on June 28, 2017
  10. Another check on my bucket list

    The best parts of this tour were the two days at Kruger Wildlife Park and the trip to the Cape of Good Hope. Hotels were great and most meals were also. The only real disappointment for me was time spent at the Natural History Museum in Capetown. We had only 40 minutes or so to explore and the museum has little to offer. I went on my own to the South African Jewish Museum and Holocaust Museum and found that much more interesting. More free time to explore Capetown would have been appreciated also. Our tour director was wonderful, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Shopping was great and very economical. While I'm not sure I would have been able to afford upgrading my seating for the flights, the option would have been appreciated. 24 hours of travel time in economy seats was harsh.
    zoftig / Adult traveler
    Tucson, Arizona / Posted on July 02, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?