Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.2 out of 5)
32 reviewed Capitals of Scandinavia
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
  1. Cold but Awesome Journey!

    I learned quickly that the Scandinavian people do not let cold, snow or rain get in their way. Life goes on to the fullest on all days. Even the children on school field trips were out there in very appropriate clothing for the day. There were some schools having a BBQ lunch.
    The accommodations, food, people, and the culture were top notch.
    I was especially impressed by the Viking Museum, Kronborg Castle, and the Vasa museum.
    My very favorite place (and that's not an easy choice) was Copenhagen. It is truly an exciting and vibrant city. I wish that we were there a few more days.
    Eagleman14 / Adult traveler
    Brooklyn, New York / Posted on April 10, 2018
  2. Full of Beauty and Wonder

    My students had a once in a lifetime opportunity to visit 5 countries in 10 days. We were taken care of from start to finish, EF had everything organized and planned so we could sit back and ENJOY! We loved seeing all the sights (strongly recommend the Drottningholm excursion), traveling by ship and coach bus and eating local cuisine. The extension to Tallinn was very unique and a wonderful way to end the tour.
    ArtyParty / Group leader
    Saint Paul, MN / Posted on June 22, 2017
  3. Scandinavia Capitals

    The Scandinavia tour was an amazing experience. Norway, Denmark, and Sweden are beautiful, happy countries to visit and I feel so privileged to get the opportunity to visit them. Our tour had amazing local guides and an amazing 24/7 tour director. I learned so much about the landscape, culture, and history. I know our students had an amazing time and it was an experience of a lifetime. This was my 5th tour with students through EF and I have to say that the hotels and the food served at dinner and breakfast was the best I have had on these trips. My one complaint about the trip is the flights. We had a layover and we were not given any food during our flights. When you travel with 44 students it is very stressful and a direct flight that gave some kind of food would of been helpful.
    WT2019 / Adult traveler
    Wayne, NJ / Posted on July 22, 2019
  4. Amazing Experience

    This trip was so fun and there was so much on our itinerary. We saw castles and city centers and found great restaurants. The tours of museums and monuments and sculpture parks were so intriguing and beautiful.
    soccer06 / Student traveler
    Franklin Lakes New Jersey / Posted on July 21, 2019
  5. Fantastic!

    From beginning to end the trip was fantastic! Plenty of information before leaving about what to pack and what to expect, wonderful tour guide who stayed with us for the duration of the trip and great accommodations through EF. This was a trip of a lifetime and I will never forget it!
    CJK7 / Student traveler
    Wyckoff, NJ / Posted on July 21, 2019
  6. Too Many Travelers

    Many aspects of the trip were lovely (the tour leader, the excursions, the bus driver) but 2 things made it a poor choice for my student, who happens to be a frequent traveler.
    First, the 8 hour bus trip from Denmark to Sweden wasted a whole day, so the whole trip should have been longer or they should have flown/taken a boat.
    Second, there were too many travelers and everything took too long. 50 travelers is an unmanageable and unenjoyable number for a trip such as this.
    travelernumber50 / Parent
    New Jersey / Posted on July 20, 2019
  7. Excellent tour!

    The cities we went to were beautiful and our local guides were all very good, especially the one in Oslo. Loved the sculpture park, Tivoli gardens, hipster spots, and the food. Our main tour guide was simply the best! We were lucky to have her. Very dedicated, fun, and experienced. I would highly recommend this tour.
    TeacherTraveler7 / Adult traveler
    Montclair, NJ / Posted on July 20, 2019
  8. Capitals of Scandinavia

    Both my boys were together on this trip. It gave them a chance to see other beautiful countries, see how other people live, and experience different cultures. They left N.J. with 6 other students and came back best friends.
    There was an issue were the they couldn't get on the ferry from Norway to Denmark and EF Tours was right on it and took care of it. I felt secure that no matter what the issue EF Tours had enough contacts and great tour leaders to handle it.
    WillandTim / Parent
    New Jersey / Posted on July 14, 2019
  9. Beautiful Locations, Lackluster Director Support

    I love EF tours. My tour consultant has always been open and honest with me and communicated effectively. I've always had my questions answered and have never considered traveling with another touring company. Though this is still very much the case, after this latest tour to Scandinavia, I am rethinking what may be the standard and if I've just been very lucky or if this latest tour is just a fluke.

    Scandinavia is a incredible part of the world. On this tour, we were supposed to go to Oslo, Copenhagen, and Stockholm. My group was delayed because of flight complications, which was quite annoying because we had worked so hard to get really great flights, and therefore arrived over 24 hours after our planned arrival and missed out on Oslo. The tour includes a night ferry to Copenhagen, which would have been fine except for two things. One: we drove directly from the airport to the ferry and were not able to see any of Oslo. Two: the ferry was incredibly boring, with no entertainment or anything to do besides eat. The rooms were fine, but we were cooped up on this ferry from 3:30pm Wednesday to 10am Thursday and it was awful.

    Copenhagen and Stockholm were incredible. Money conversion was a bit confusing, but honestly, my kids loved these locations, especially Copenhagen. I can't say enough wonderful things about the sites, the culture, and the opportunities my students were given for interaction and exploration. This tour was definitely up to par when it comes to locales.

    My issues with this tour, aside from the late arrival, had to do with our tour director and the extent to which he was not involved in our tour, nor did he take the time to really get to know any of our students or teach us pretty much anything about the places we were going. He had a few speeches on a bus, but honestly, I've had tour directors who were with us every second, learned students' names, taught us basic words in the appropriate languages, and helped us plan how to use free time and the best places to go. Our tour director did none of these things. My kids even had to ask me what his name was. I was incredibly disappointed and very much hope that this was a fluke and that my previous tour directors were the standard.

    I don't want to scare anyone away from these locations, but please be aware that flying into and out of Scandinavia is not easy. We were delayed both ways, and they were not small delays. One was an overnight delay, resulting in a late arrival, and we had an extra flight on the way home, which meant we were traveling home for over 24 hours, with no time in between connections. We literally had to run to our final gate so we wouldn't miss the last flight to our hometown.

    If I had to simplify this for you, I would say that these locations are definitely worth the time, but make sure that traveling there and back makes sense for your group.
    EFTeacher91 / Group leader
    Springfield, MO / Posted on July 01, 2019
  10. Experience of a lifetime

    Going to Scandinavia was an experience that I will treasure forever. There were however aspects that made me not give an excellent rating. The first was airline issues that caused our group to miss Norway altogether. That was disappointing. I would not recommend the cruise ship part at all. There was nothing to do at all. We did have a nice buffet dinner and I got a good nights sleep, but that is all the good things I can say about that. I love Copenhagen and Stockholm, but the dissapointing part was the food. We had buffet dinners several times and the sit down dinners we were served were not anything unique. I expected to have some real Swedish dishes, not chicken, pork, french fries, brownies, and ice cream. Really?? I went on the tour last year and we had a fantastic guide who was involved with our group, but not this year. Our guide seemed nice, but not really very involved with us. He was busy planning his next tour and not concerned with our tour.
    4Sunflowers / Adult traveler
    Rogersville Missouri / Posted on June 29, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?