Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
468 reviewed From Rome to Athens
5 stars
316
4 stars
106
3 stars
28
2 stars
10
1 star
8
  1. A unique experience for the students in your life

    It was a wonderful trip in which they could share with students from other states but at the same time enjoy the wonderful scenery, famous ruins, food, languages ​​and the two cultures of the countries we visited. It was very motivating that they felt motivated to travel in the future.
    Nado / Group leader
    Fords, NJ / Posted on April 13, 2018
  2. Jammed Packed with Educational Experiences!

    From Rome to Athens was an amazing experience for my students. I could never have imagined taking middle school students overseas, but EF made it flawless. I was able to relax and enjoy the time with my students...not having to worry about tickets, transportation or locations. I couldn't have planned half of the experiences we had!
    Sobrien / Adult traveler
    St. Louis, Missouri / Posted on April 12, 2018
  3. Definitely Worth It!

    The Rome to Athens Tour that we just completed was worth every fundraising minute for me and my group. Two and a half years of selling water softener salt, frozen food, coffee, and crepes among other things was gruelling, but this trip definitely made up for it. The tour director was absolutely tremendous! He had an exceptional personality that really clicked with all of our travelers. His suggestions were fabulous and he handled our whole group with great care. You could tell he was extremely passionate about his job! The itinerary was busy, but after all, it was supposed to be a student-educational trip. We traveled to some of the most sought after destinations in the world and learned about much more. We started with climbing the Cupola in the Vatican and ended by climbing a volcano on the Greek island of Santorini. We returned tired but greatly enriched. Yes, I would definitely recommend it!
    MickeyMouse7 / Group leader
    Baudette, MN / Posted on July 31, 2017
  4. Simply Amazing!

    This tour was amazing! We had the opportunity to see things that you only read about! Our every need was meant and taken care of! I couldn't be happier. I spoke with all our travelers and they are still raving about this trip! I mean, cruising the Greek Islands? It doesn't get better than that!
    DDest / Group leader
    Fremont, CA / Posted on July 07, 2017
  5. Better than Expected!

    I was really excited to travel out of the country. I was really looking forward to visiting Rome and didn't get disappointed. There was enough free time to see everything I really wanted to see. The major tourist spots were of course crowded but worth the visit. I especially liked our tour guide. She was so knowledgeable about the different areas of Italy and Greece. Greece was an unexpected gem. I didn't realize the natural beauty of the country was so preserved. Visiting the ancient sites of Mycenae and Epidaurus was like stepping into a time machine. To see the ancient sites like they were during the ancient Greek times was phenomenal. This trip will defiantly be on my list of places to visit again.
    Tcomp / Adult traveler
    Memphis, TN / Posted on June 15, 2017
  6. From Rome to Athens...Success

    As a Group Leader, I couldn't be more impressed with the tour that we just returned from. I will briefly break down the strengths and weaknesses.
    Value- having organized this tour, I compared this itinerary to comparables with other companies, and EF was most cost efficient. What we got for the price paid was impressive. While the trip was fairly expensive (I paid for my daughter to go), it was a great experience for the money spent, especially compared to other companies my colleagues have used.
    Accommodations--first the downside, our hotel in Athens was switched just prior to the trip, and the first location was more desirable. Otherwise, we had no complaints. The rooms were fine, and the locations were good. Actually, two of the hotels, Villa degli Angeli (Rome) and the Neda Hotel (Olympia) were excellent.
    Food- Again, great. Breakfast was good, and the dinners provided some nice cultural experiences. Also, lunch on our own gave us leeway to go to individual tastes.
    Tour itinerary- Excellent. The sites that we saw and museums that we visited had a profound impact on my travelers. They were awed.
    Local guides--All were top notch on this trip. Knowledgeable, funny, professional.
    Tour Director--Outstanding. He is a 10+ year veteran director, and it showed. Constantly hustling, communicating with museums, guides, restaurants, handling all of the logistics--- a true professional. Our tour director made this trip an excellent experience for everyone involved.
    CAHISAdvisor / Group leader
    Saratoga Springs, NY / Posted on April 25, 2017
  7. Best Vacation Ever!

    My two children and I have been traveling every year. We have been to several USA states and other countries, but now I think that the vacation with EF Tours was our best vacation out of all of them! In March 2017 we took the Rome to Athens trip and it was amazing! Everything was very well organized, from high quality transportation services, comfortable hotel accommodations to educational and enjoyable sites tours.
    Our tour Director deserves additional praising! He was very professional, knowledgeable, and excellent teacher. We will never forget all the fun activities he included to enhance learning, I loved how he was able to relate the facts along our tour at different towns to real-life examples that would allow the material to make more logical sense to students.
    Thank you for a great trip and congratulation on having excellent staff members! I almost forgot.... The food.. The food was great and I can still taste it.... I want to go back on another EF Tour real soon!
    HappyWanders / Adult traveler
    Kiowa,Colorado / Posted on March 28, 2017
  8. Trip of a Lifetime

    This was truly the trip of a lifetime and the most amazing experience I've ever had in my life. It was my first time in Europe, my 2nd time out of the country, and first trip with EF. There is no way to travel but with EF tours. Our tour director was phenomenal, activities so fun, food amazing, hotels safe, and overall experience wonderful. With EF tours you get the best experience of travel. Having your days planned out, a director to take care of logistics, meals waiting for you, and a bus driver gives you a chance to really enjoy being in a new place. I loved EF tours so much, I am going on the trip to Peru next summer. After going on the Rome to Athens tour, there's no where else in Europe I'm dying to visit. Greece has absolutely become my favorite country in the world, with the best people, food, and landscape. Seeing the Colosseum, Parthenon, Pantheon, and all of the other huge sights was astounding and life changing. Having a global perspective is so important and that's what EF focuses on. You will come back from your trip a changed person.
    abhvr / Student traveler
    Birmingham, AL / Posted on December 25, 2016
  9. Michael is amazing

    Great experience and accommodations. Very well thought out and I think the guide made the trip. He was full of energy and made the trip that much more exciting.
    Stetripper / Student traveler
    Houston / Posted on June 17, 2018
  10. Fun time!

    I loved the tours we went on. Our guide was amazing. The hotels were not that great, and the food was not always great either. It was weird that I had to share a bed with another chaperone.
    Zuzu / Adult traveler
    Syracuse, NY / Posted on April 29, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?