Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.5 out of 5)
484 reviewed From Rome to Athens
5 stars
323
4 stars
111
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 star
9
  1. Trip of a lifetime

    Our tour guide’s organization, communication and flexibility made the trip the best ever. We saw so many amazing historical sites with the help of local guides and also enjoyed swimming in the Mediterranean and relaxing with a cup of cappuccino and cannoli at a piazza. We got the most out of our time in Italy and Greece, and we’ll never forget our incredible European adventure. Thank you EF Tours!!
    Laur16 / Adult traveler
    Stonington CT / Posted on August 11, 2019
  2. History is a great story

    EF was efficient and simple to use for the group dynamics. We were always informed of our agendas. The lines in Rome were extremely long and not a long time to enjoy the reverence of The Vatican. Not sure how that can be fixed. Everything in Greece, the ships/ferries, the bus and guides were relatable and professional. We were disappointed to have been offered and paid Roman Catacombs only to find out they were a mistake due to schedule. But our director and group were flexible and we made up some ground with beach drives.
    Teacher15 / Adult traveler
    Louisville, KY / Posted on July 04, 2019
  3. Extraordinary Experience!!

    This was a trip of a lifetime!! I probably would have never gone to Rome and Athens if it wouldn’t have been for EF. It was surreal to actually be in the colosseum and Sistine Chapel. Greece was also so very beautiful. What an experience!
    Marg19 / Student traveler
    Condon, Oregon / Posted on April 04, 2019
  4. A Classical Experience

    If you are looking for a great comparison between the two most Classical western civilizations, this is the tour for you! As an AP World History teacher I found this tour to accomplish my goal of a comparative analysis and cause and effect between the Greek and Roman Empires. Plus, there's plenty of Renaissance and Catholic history to help your students/kids understand why The West looks the way it does today.
    WHAPeducator / Group leader
    San Antonio, Texas / Posted on March 20, 2019
  5. A unique experience for the students in your life

    It was a wonderful trip in which they could share with students from other states but at the same time enjoy the wonderful scenery, famous ruins, food, languages ​​and the two cultures of the countries we visited. It was very motivating that they felt motivated to travel in the future.
    Nado / Group leader
    Fords, NJ / Posted on April 13, 2018
  6. Jammed Packed with Educational Experiences!

    From Rome to Athens was an amazing experience for my students. I could never have imagined taking middle school students overseas, but EF made it flawless. I was able to relax and enjoy the time with my students...not having to worry about tickets, transportation or locations. I couldn't have planned half of the experiences we had!
    Sobrien / Adult traveler
    St. Louis, Missouri / Posted on April 12, 2018
  7. Definitely Worth It!

    The Rome to Athens Tour that we just completed was worth every fundraising minute for me and my group. Two and a half years of selling water softener salt, frozen food, coffee, and crepes among other things was gruelling, but this trip definitely made up for it. The tour director was absolutely tremendous! He had an exceptional personality that really clicked with all of our travelers. His suggestions were fabulous and he handled our whole group with great care. You could tell he was extremely passionate about his job! The itinerary was busy, but after all, it was supposed to be a student-educational trip. We traveled to some of the most sought after destinations in the world and learned about much more. We started with climbing the Cupola in the Vatican and ended by climbing a volcano on the Greek island of Santorini. We returned tired but greatly enriched. Yes, I would definitely recommend it!
    MickeyMouse7 / Group leader
    Baudette, MN / Posted on July 31, 2017
  8. Wonderful Experience

    My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her EF Tour to Italy and Greece. She got to explore ancient ruins and see other cultures in a safe environment. The trip was well planned and parents were given a complete itinerary so they were able to follow their child's progress. It was an experience of a lifetime for many of the students in the group.
    Wynka / Parent
    Walden, NY / Posted on July 22, 2010
  9. Unique and Awesome Experience

    The tour was amazing, the views were great and i learned a lot.
    fchino / Student traveler
    Philadelphia, PA / Posted on July 22, 2010
  10. Overall Great Trip, Tour Guide a Disappointmet

    Overall, my daughter had a life changing experience with her friends on this 8th-grade trip. She enjoyed seeing the sights, trying the food, learning about the cultures and just experiencing everything this tour had to offer. If you are vegetarian, though, be warned that accommodating this need sometimes means a protein-less salad. She bonded with her friends and had many stories to tell, so overall I would say the trip was a success. One major issue did happen, though. After hearing great things about the guides, she was disappointed in the lack of consideration and kindness of her group's assigned tour guide. I asked for specifics, and she provided a few examples. At one point, their bus lost air conditioning and they traveled over 4 hours in 100-degree heat. The tour guide was less than apologetic, stating they could just wait for a new bus but then they would miss their connections and the rest of their vacation. Not an acceptable retort. Understandably, not the guide's fault on the AC, but a "well, we'll just miss out the next five days" attitude is not appreciated. He also only ever addressed the "ladies" and not the males on the trip and she reported he talked a lot about his own topics like his love of cappuccinos rather than the sights they were visiting. He also took them to some very expensive restaurants, giving no other choice, after stating prices were 10x less than what they actually were. The group felt they had been deceived. After the first couple of days, her group leader just had her husband talk to the guide because she was so fed up his dishonest ways. Tour guides are there to add to the overall enjoyable experience, not detract from it. I've heard a lot of good things about the guides, but this one left everyone frustrated. Not a good match.
    / Parent
    Olympia, WA / Posted on July 08, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?