Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.3 out of 5)
267 reviewed Rome and Paris
5 stars
164
4 stars
60
3 stars
18
2 stars
17
1 star
8
  1. Beautiful Adventure!

    I had the most amazing time traveling to and within Europe. I loved the tours and being able to see history right in front of my eyes!
    SumSum / Student traveler
    Anniston, AL. / Posted on April 03, 2018
  2. Memories for a lifetime!

    I went into this not knowing what to expect and I was amazed at the incredible history that was in front of our eyes and beneath our feet. Our tour guide was great even as one person lost her personal items, he found a way to move the tour along and help her out (ex, we ate dinner and he left to file police report). His knowledge and experiences were so very helpful in this type of situation.

    The far away hotel in Rome made our stay a little shorter, but we had a great view and the hotel personnel were fabulous. The food was amazing in Rome.
    France had great views and lots of fun and museums to see. So much invested in art in Paris and the hotel was close to downtown Paris. Dinners were ok and I will need to go back to see the art that is encapsulated in the places we went, because... WOW!!

    My favorite was the Vatican tour and I longed to stay much longer to breath it in. The next time I travel I will bring my husband and we can tour and look for hours, or days.
    Thank you for selecting a great tour guide who allowed the groops flexibility. We had a great time!
    / Adult traveler
    Fremont, MI / Posted on April 08, 2017
  3. First Time Trip Success with EF

    This was my first experience leading a student trip but I have traveled myself prior to this tour.

    Rome and Paris are fantastic destinations and hit so many "must-haves" for student travelers. Both are so rich in history and the arts and feel familiar enough to students that they have some background knowledge. Each city has its own vibe and sense of history, and my students LOVED them both.

    Our guide was fantastic, and accommodated us when one of our students got sick and we needed to stop at a pharmacy in the middle of a guided bus tour of the city.

    Tip: prep your kids and they will be fine. My kids sailed through small hotel rooms, new foods, and the bumpy bunks on the night train with ease and true excitement. The group we traveled with spent most of their time complaining and looking for a McDonald's. An EF staff member said "Be a traveler, not a tourist" and this advice really helped my kids experience the whole trip with the right mindset.
    Gelatodor / Group leader
    Yellow Springs, OH / Posted on September 09, 2016
  4. Paris and Rome

    I am happy I went on this trip. I was able to learn a lot about foreign country's as interesting as Rome and Paris. I am very grateful I got to travel with great group of people. I was amazed on how insightful my tour guide was. I would recommend this experience for anyone looking to learn more about history and other cultures.
    Lilac / Student traveler
    Chula Vista, California / Posted on April 09, 2019
  5. Amazing Experience

    My daughter had the most amazing experience. She said "Thank you for helping to make my dreams come true!!!" She enjoyed the sightseeing, the tours, the food & the freedom that the trip entailed. She was able to experience things that most people only dream of because of this organized and efficient yet fun and education tour.
    Peps / Student traveler
    San Diego, CA / Posted on April 03, 2019
  6. Overwhelmed by History!

    We had an amazing experience on the Rome and Paris EF Tour. All of the planned tours and excursions were fascinating, and we had a wonderful tour guide. The trip was fast-paced and we saw a lot of different historical sites.

    However, the hotel in Rome had bed bugs...it was in a great location but needed renovations. It also had extremely small elevators. I hope EF will find a new hotel in Rome.

    Also, the overnight train from Milan to Paris was grueling.

    The hotel in Paris was very nice and had a better breakfast than the hotel in Rome. All of the buses were very nice and clean and the drivers were great.

    We had a wonderful evening at the Eiffel Tower with our beloved Tour Guide to end our trip. I would highly recommend EF Tours with a couple of tweaks to the hotel and travel from Rome to Paris!
    TraveWarriorMom / Adult traveler
    Chattanooga, Tennessee / Posted on March 28, 2019
  7. From a dream to reality

    This was an amazing experience to share with my daughter. We made so many memories while we learned so much more than we ever expected about Rome and Paris. The history books came to life for 8 days! We became family with our group and our tour guide became one of us. Tears were shed as our group left him. This was well worth every penny spent! I can't wait to do another tour with EF!!!
    Chelle94 / Adult traveler
    San Tan Valley, AZ / Posted on March 26, 2019
  8. Amazing Experience

    This was one of the defining moments of my youth. Traveling has become such an important part of my life, and I credit early travel experiences for this. I changed as a person and grew into a more worldly and mature young woman. This tour, especially, was so unique because of the richness of the culture and the learning that I experienced that far surpasses anything a textbook can attempt to convey.
    / Student traveler
    Ketucky / Posted on February 25, 2019
  9. Amazing, But Difficult

    First, I did my homework, due diligence, concerning the pace of tours and amount of walking.
    In spite of this, we were rushed through many sites, rushed to points where we were told we had an hour to explore without much explanation. Kids were exhausted the very first day. I don't think it is right to do tours after 9-12 hours getting to the city without visiting the hotel first. I understood the idea, but on the ground, with really nice kids, it is hard to take.
    We received no set itinerary before hand other than the broad one posted by EF. I had understood that our Tour Director would send something a few days ahead that was more set. Because of this, almost every day was changed. I planned several cooking and food related demos and classes during our afternoons off. I did this only after discussing with my tour helper months before to make sure I didn't make any mistakes. It was then discovered that Versailles was closed on the day planned. My group had declined to go there and to take a cooking class instead. This meant that we missed another tour planned in place of Versailles which we might have liked and had an open spot on another date when everyone else went to Versailles. This was our first day in Paris and we didn't feel comfortable with the Metro etc. by ourselves. Another teacher from another school was taking her kids to Montmartre that day....so we went with them.
    It was a very nice save and we had a great time with them. Our director didn't seem to realize the extra effort we had to make on our own behalf.
    We also were expecting, per the EF itinerary, that all dinners and breakfasts were paid for and arranged. So when we were told that we needed to take time out to shop for dinner and breakfast things to take on the train to Paris from Milan, we were concerned. The kids had planned their budgets based on what we told them.....we paid for dinners/breakfast stuff.
    I also think that the night train to Paris is a little too rough for American students. Absolutely no sleep, no ability to sleep, and by the time we got to Paris we had one violently ill student, dehydration and exhaustion we think.
    We also thought the food for dinners could have been a bit more exciting. And I am sorry but a little paper cup with 2 tablespoons of fruit cocktail in Rome is not anything to expect as a dessert. One of our salads was the saddest thing I have ever seen and I have traveled in some rough spots in the world.
    All that said, we did love so much of the trip. The kids met some wonderful students from other states. The local tour guides in Rome and Paris were excellent and spent a lot of time with kid questions and were very friendly. We enjoyed them very much. Being herded through the Sistine Chapel in 10 minutes flat was amusing. The breakfasts were better than expected. The hotels were better than expected.
    Once our students got the hang of Rome and Paris they were very comfortable seeking out interesting sites and food during our free afternoons.
    I clicked the NO button about recommending this tour to a friend because of all of the above. I know more now, and would need to be more aggressive if I took kids on another tour. This was my first.
    I am also amused to hear that EF Tours sponsors a cycling team for the Tour de France. Perhaps some of those dollars could have been spent on a nicer dessert for the kids in Rome.
    Croquembouche / Group leader
    LaConner, Washington / Posted on July 13, 2018
  10. Great trip

    Fantastic trip, fantastic sites to explore. A bit pricy, especially if you have more than one traveler, however, the experience was worth it. I am glad I had the chance to go!
    BMKC / Student traveler
    Hermann, MO / Posted on July 06, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?