Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
32 reviewed Rome and Athens
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
  1. Greek Islands a Must!

    A whirlwind of ancient history with a relaxing tour of the beauty of the Greek Islands.
    greekislandlover / Group leader
    Everett, WA / Posted on July 20, 2017
  2. Super Experience....

    I loved every minute of this trip!!! The tours were great and I learned a lot about ancient history. The hotels were nice, especially the one in Athens it was on the beach and the view was amazing. The guide was nice. I can't wait for my next trip with EF tours.
    Linnox / Student traveler
    Raleigh, NC / Posted on July 05, 2017
  3. Life changing

    This tour was honestly the best experience I've had! For this being my first time going out the country, I enjoyed every part about it. EF made everything run so smoothly. I learned so much history about the cities we were in the places we visited. In both Rome and Athens, our tour director was so excited and taught us so much about all the history. I didn't know what to expect for this trip, but at the end of the trip all of my expectations had been exceeded. Traveling with your closets friends definitely puts a whole different perspective of the world in you. Even though I already had the travel bug, it is definitely stronger now.
    Greekgirl18 / Student traveler
    Minneapolis Minnesota / Posted on June 25, 2017
  4. Best experience of my life.

    Best time of my life. It was an amazing experience to be able to see and touch the monuments that have been part of the worlds history. Learning about Italian culture and Greek culture was really exciting. My tour director made the trip an even more amazing experience because they were so energetic to teach about the countries that they have lived in and been to. The only negative part about my trip was the group that we were paired with. They didn't want to do anything or didn't want to go to any of the optional excersions. They all were snotty and didnt interact with my group. Overall, it was the most amazing experience of my life.
    Z15031000 / Student traveler
    Robbinsdale MN / Posted on June 25, 2017
  5. Getting to know the World!

    I had an amazing time visiting Rome and Athens. They were both unique and memorable by their attractions and way of living among those places. Getting to know how these places really bring the history books a lot more interesting since you are in the location on where it happened. The sun may be hot and having to walk a lot in Rome may be tiring, but that is just the difference in other countries, it is a lot easier to get around by walking in Rome instead of having a vehicle. Athens was just as good as Rome was, there were also many attractions and entertainments in different perspectives of each country. The food was great in both ways that words won't describe it all there is to say. The only thing that i found a bit upsetting is at night that I couldn't see the stars. I thought that since I was in a different location than in the U.S. you will be able to see the stars, but i don't think that would affect the tour at all. It was a great experience and I hope to go on another adventure with the EF Tours.
    BrightLight / Student traveler
    Houston, Texas / Posted on June 24, 2017
  6. Rome/Pompeii/Athens Tour

    My high school aged son recently participated in the week long EF Rome/Athens tour with the Pompeii excursion with a few classmates and teachers. For the most part he had a wonderful experience. This was his first experience out of the country, without his parents, with classmates and school staff. He saw amazing historical sites, and came home with so many facts to share thanks to the Whispers devices. In hindsight, he stated he would have enjoyed the trip more if the whole week had been spent in Athens. He said Greece by far was a better experience than Italy. The people were much friendlier, the AC actually worked in the hotel (it did not in the Rome hotel, and it was in the 90's), and the meal quality far exceeded that in Rome. The only glitch mentioned was the bus did not arrive at the hotel for their 3 a.m. transfer to the airport for their return home. They had to get cabs to get to airport. As a parent, I would recommend a tour via EF.
    Momknowsbest / Parent
    Mulhall, Oklahoma / Posted on August 10, 2018
  7. Not What I was Expecting

    I did not find this tour to be worth the amount of money I put into it. Some of our paid for meals were "boxes" which was an apple, water bottle and granola bar. The latest we got to sleep in was roughly 6 am which wouldn't be a problem if we weren't getting back at 11 pm the night prior and we still needed to unpack/shower. The hotels were not sufficient in quality, regarding air conditioning, space, cleanliness. Nor did we get to enjoy the hotel pools. There was too much pushed into the tour and I didn't feel we had enough time to stop and take pictures or rest and take the sites in. We were go-go-go the entire time and our guide often lied about time lines and moved things around to accommodate them rather than go off the itinerary we were given. Speaking of, the tour guide and local guides were very informative, maybe too informative. It was hard to wrap my head around all the information and for that many sites we saw blurred together. The guides need to slow down and make sure adequate quality is invested instead of quantity. I am glad I went but in speaking to others who have been on a tour before this one was too much and rather chaotic as opposed to previous ones. It is unfortunate this one is how I began because I have no intention of coming again when my other child is of age to have this same opportunity.
    StrawberryJam / Adult traveler
    Warren, MI / Posted on July 11, 2018
  8. European adventure

    I enjoyed the experience in both countries . But I most enjoyed our times in Athens,Greece. Both the culture and people were nicer. But in Rome,Italy the sights were better and the hotel was better. So there are pros and cons to both countries.
    Blmsworldtraveler12 / Student traveler
    Rome,Italy / Athens,Greece / Posted on April 27, 2018
  9. Great trip!

    Overall, the trip to Rome and Athens was very enjoyable. Our tour guide, Simone, was very organized and personable. I loved getting to see all the incredible historical sights and thought the tour was organized very well. I also liked how we were given free time almost every day to explore on our own. However, I would have enjoyed more free time in major historical sites such as the Roman Forum and Pompeii. I think the trip would have been a little better had the guides told us more history about what we were seeing. For example, I wish the instructors in the Greek dance lesson had told us some background information on each dance such as when Greeks use it, how long they’ve been using it, and what costumes they wear. Also, a slight inconvenience arose from the four person group my school was paired up with in that one lady could barely walk and slowed the tour down. Maybe there could be stricter requirements for who can sign up for the tour or warnings that it will include steep paths and a lot of walking. One other con was that we ate in the hotel almost every night and the food was not very good. I would have liked for everyone to go out in the city at night to find a place to eat instead of eating the nasty hotel food. Despite those few details, I thought the trip was a blast! I learned a lot, made new friends, and explored places I previously dreamed of visiting.
    susie123 / Student traveler
    Owensboro, KY / Posted on April 10, 2018
  10. Great trip

    We enjoyed this trip very much. All of our tour guides were very knowledgeable and made sight-seeing a much better experience. Our tour director was fantastic. She took care of everything, ushering is around the long lines at many tourist attractions and keeping everyone moving on schedule. The sights were by far the best part of the trip. The restaurants that were selected for us in Rome were mediocre at best, and hotel in Rome left a lot to be desired.
    3BoysMama / Adult traveler
    Texas / Posted on April 02, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?