Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
182 reviewed Portugal and Spain
5 stars
120
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
6
  1. Best Trip Ever

    I can not even begin to say how awesome this trip was! In all of my 20+ years with EF Tours, this trip tops them all. From the food to the hotels to the guides it was absolutely fabulous! It is a must for everyone!!!
    deandean1 / Group leader
    Sterlington, Louisiana / Posted on June 25, 2017
  2. The Perfect Tour!

    This was my third EF Tour and definitely my favorite! I would do it all over again, and again, and again if I could. My tour director was amazing, the tour guides were informative, and the cities were beautiful. From free time in Nice to a super fun scavenger hunt in Granada, every second of the tour was perfect.
    Kalli / Student traveler
    Nashville, Tennessee / Posted on June 20, 2017
  3. What a Whirlwind Adventure!

    From Lisbon to Barcelona, I don't think there's much that we didn't do -- we saw flamenco, played on the beach, and inadvertently fed the monkeys in Gibraltar (they stole our snacks!). We learned about culture, food, languages, history, architecture, and art. We literally sang and danced and tried all sorts of new things. All along the way, our TD did a fantastic job keeping us on track and having fun with us.
    CATeacher / Group leader
    Pacifica, CA / Posted on April 18, 2017
  4. Spain and Portugal

    Our first stop was in Lisbon where we met our tour director and the two other schools we were with. Our tour director was spectacular and went the extra mile to accommodate us. All the sights were beautiful and our tour director managed to get us to places before all the heavy tourism actually came in. We learned a lot of history about Portugal and it was very beautiful to explore. Then we went into Spain and were able to explore the grandeur of it all. We went into Gibraltar and got to see the monkeys who were pretty cute! The best part however, was when our tour director managed to snatch us a private tour of La Sagrada Familia even though only a few of us actually wanted to go. It was beautiful at the time of day we went in and the guide also gave us a bit of exclusive access. Overall it was an amazing trip and would do it all over again!
    AphA / Student traveler
    California / Posted on March 31, 2017
  5. Amazing!!!

    What an incredible trip. Portugal is the hidden gem in this tour. The weather is perfect, making the days in this country the favorite of most travelers. Spain almost matches Portugal with incredible sights and food (paella!!!). This is a trip not to miss!
    RichM / Group leader
    Amarillo, Texas / Posted on August 04, 2018
  6. Trip to Spain

    Our trip was a wonderful experience both for the students and the adults. The trip was well organized smoothly run and the staff was very professional. Our guide was very informative, personal, and connected well with the students. The choice of locations was terrific and full of history. The accommodations for the most part were great and the meals were good and timely. I would love to go on another trip to similar stops in Europe. The only drawback of the trip was a few extended bus trip required to get to the next destination. I know that my son truly enjoyed the trip and would do it again if given the opportunity.
    Trecker / Adult traveler
    Amarillo TX / Posted on August 02, 2018
  7. Amazing trip

    This was my second trip wth EF and it was just as amazing as the first one
    Artteachertx / Adult traveler
    Amarillo, TX / Posted on July 27, 2018
  8. Portugal/Spain

    The Portugal/Spain itinerary is an amazing tour. Starting in the hilly streets of Lisbon was a great way to meet the friendly people of Portugal. Having free time in Lisbon or the option to explore Cascaís/Sintra was a great way to meet the desires of many. Discovering Évora and the Algarve region was like traveling back in time, it was truly awe-inspiring. We were able to add-on an awesome boat tour in Lagos, Portugal thanks to our TD, which was the perfect way to spend the afternoon after visiting Cabo Vicente.

    Having two countries included on this tour really gives you great value. Granada is the perfect city for students to 'get lost' and discover the city on their own and Sevilla is so picturesque. The Gibraltar excursion is highly recommended unless you're dying for a full beach day. Costa del Sol and Valencia were the perfect places to discover the Mediterranean. Our paella dinner was the perfect touch before we made our way to Barcelona. Ending the tour with the hustle and bustle of the large city made for yet again an incredible comparison between Portugal and Spain as well as Andalusia and Catalonia. I loved the free-time in Barcelona as there is so much to do and see there. Comparing the Zambra Gypsy Cave experience in Granada with the EF optional of Flamenco in Barcelona, the Zambra Excursion wins hands down! It is more interactive and a better value. Overall, this tour far exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to go back!
    ProfeN / Adult traveler
    Appleton, Wisconsin / Posted on July 26, 2018
  9. Trip of a life time

    Loved every minute of the tour. A few of the hotels where not so great but...
    effie / Adult traveler
    North Carolina / Posted on July 17, 2018
  10. Great Experience

    I was a group leader for high school students on this tour. It was an incredible experience for my students- as they were able to see so much, make friends, and experience what it is like to travel in Europe. We started off in Portugal and stayed in Cascais. This small town was AMAZING and we gave our students free time in the town after dinner. This was notably our students favorite part of the trip-- when we were able to see a small town or city after dinner on our own based on where we were staying. Most of the hotels we stayed in were excellent- especially in Portugal. They had pools, decent food, and clean rooms. We did not enjoy dinner in the hotel every night for the first 8 nights. We would have liked to go out as a group more often. In addition, the local guides were great, but in some cases it was 90+ degrees outside and no one could keep up and hear them. I think EF needs to rethink the walking tour structure a little bit when it is extremely hot. It was not enjoyable or educational for anyone. There was a lot of time spent on the buses and not enough time in each city (especially in Spain). I would pick a shorter tour next time and one that spent 3 days in each major city, so the students could really experience it. Overall, if you set your expectations right, the tour is amazing. There is so much to see and learn. Our tour director was excellent. He was so helpful, fun, and professional.
    JenniHammond / Group leader
    NJ / Posted on July 16, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?