Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
145 reviewed Paris and Madrid
5 stars
84
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
3
  1. Best trip ever

    Our trip was announced right after Paris had some violence and my son did not want to go. I made him go for the experience and am glad I did. It was the best trip I have ever been on. Our guide was so knowledgeable and excited to share. When we got home my son gave the the biggest hug and thank me for making him go. I would recommend EF to anyone.
    ExcitedParent / Adult traveler
    Indianapolis, Indiana / Posted on April 04, 2017
  2. Wonderful Experience in Paris and Madrid!

    This tour gave us a glimpse into two different cultures and countries, allowing us the opportunity to use some of our language skills in both French and Spanish. My group consisted of teachers and students of both languages, so it was a great experience for all. The Flamenco Evening was the highlight of the tour for the Spanish teacher while the time spent at the Eiffel Tower at night was the highlight for the French students.
    MmeSGHS / Group leader
    Richardson, TX / Posted on July 02, 2015
  3. Fabulous Spring Break Trip!

    My children had a great time. The tour was jam packed with activities and their tour guide who met them in Madrid was wonderful. They came back knowing so much history and local stories about what they had seen. The travel, hotels, and restaurants were all great. Nothing but praise from my teenagers - which is rare as any parent knows. I also felt safe letting them travel with you as this is your area of expertise and you had great safety measures in place.
    DenverMom / Parent
    Denver, CO / Posted on April 05, 2015
  4. A PERFECT TOUR

    The entire tour was perfect. The food (breakfast and dinner were provided) was absolutely wonderful. The sites were gorgeous. We saw everything we wanted to see and we were given freedom to see even more. Toledo was the most beautiful thing I have ever seen with my own eyes. It was a perfect trip. I have no complaints.
    lagirlwhoclimbedtheeiffel / Student traveler
    Boones Mill, VA / Posted on July 12, 2014
  5. EF LIVES UP TO ITS NAME

    Our tour of Madrid and Paris was truly amazing. These cities are beautiful. Our tour guide was extraordinarily knowledgeable about history and current events, and was always willing to answer any questions. Hotels were great, Madrid's was more centrally located an provided for a siesta during free time. The hotel breakfast was delicious and provided much local flavor. Dinner was delicious also, just a bit more rice and potatoes than I am used to eating. Overall wonderful experience, I wouldn't hesitate to do it again!
    1sttimetoEurope / Adult traveler
    Boones Mill VA / Posted on July 12, 2014
  6. Memories of a lifetime

    We spent 3 days in Madrid and 3 days in Paris. This was our first time travelling to Europe. While we would have enjoyed a little more time to explore museums and the cities, we did enjoy the flurry of tourist attractions. I am confident now that we can return to Europe as a family and travel without the anxieties of first time international travel. Our general tour guide was more than accommodating. He was able to seamlessly make last minute changes for our group. The kids LOVED him and the adults enjoyed watching him interact with the students. The guides that we had for our bus tours, the Royal Palace in Madrid, The Holy City of Toledo, and Versailles were beyond amazing. They had a wealth of knowledge, were friendly, and punctual. I only wish that we could have had guides for The Prado and the Louvre. Those museums are so large that they are intimidating. We were so concerned about getting lost (and we lost a good amount of time just trying to find one or two pieces that we wanted to see) and we did not get to see or learn about nearly enough.
    As far as the travel itself, our hotel in Madrid had a spectacular location, right next to the Reina Sofia and walking distance from so many attractions and the metro. The rooms were small and unfrilled, but I suppose that is to be expected in Europe. Our hotel in Paris was much more "western", with larger rooms and better service. But it was quite a ways from the center of the city and did not really feel like a safe neighborhood. That meant that we really only should've been out with our guide and in a large group, whereas we were able to explore a little more independently when we were just a couple of stops from the hotel. My only real complaint would be the air accommodations. Assigned seats were given without any regard for the age of the students or keeping family groups together. A 12 year old girl should not be seated next to an unknown grown man on an 8 hour flight. Nor should a mother and daughter be separated. Personally I need a window seat on a plane to ward off motion sickness and it was impossible to change the seats to accommodate. Some options and freedom with the air travel seating would have been nice.
    The restaurants chosen for us were great, and I liked how we all had the same meal (no wasted time with menus), although I feel like the vegetarians in our group did not have good selections. Many times they opted to dine elsewhere, which is unfortunate because it not only separated them from the group, but they had already paid for the group meals and then had to pay for their own.
    Overall this was a wonderful experience and we will forever cherish the memories made. I would highly recommend an EF tour to other families considering it.
    Belle0716 / Adult traveler
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 04, 2017
  7. Whirlwind Tour!

    I really appreciated the amount of safety protocols and safety discussions with the students regarding navigating major international cities. I thought the hotels were well-appointed and appropriate. I liked the use of the metro in all three cities. It was difficult to learn how to use the metro at first, but once we taught the students, navigating the cities was a breeze. I appreciated the amount of effort our TD put in on our behalf during the trip to make sure that the students were safe, got to see and do MANY activities, allowed us to tailor our experience to fit our students, and the constant communication he kept with us during our tour.
    NorthFace / Adult traveler
    Hookstown, PA / Posted on July 22, 2016
  8. Fast paced and fun.

    This was a great tour.
    There were three beautiful and unique cities! It was so cool getting to notice the differences between the 3, and the similarities. It was super face-paced and busy. This is definitely a CITY tour. My recommendation is to look into other things happening in the cities you're going to. We were there during the Eurocup 2016 and that was crazy. There's tons of walking on this tour, we clocked 60 miles for the entire trip. Luckily I toured with a very athletic group. They handled it well but other groups might have a difficult time with the pace. Another recommendation is to hire someone to interpret in the museums/art galleries. That wasn't part of the tour and that was a bummer.
    Wood / Group leader
    Alaska / Posted on June 17, 2016
  9. Unfortunate timing

    In most cases I think EF Tours probably does a good job organizing and implementing student tours. For us, unfortunately, lack of contingency planning caused the second half of our tour to fall apart. We enoyed 3 good days in Madrid, but we had less that 12 hours in Paris, so calling our tour "Madrid and Paris" is painfully inaccurate. It was more "Madrid (with over 15 hours in Madrid airport) then train travel for 2 days via Barcelona for a 3 hour bus tour of Paris". In the future I hope that the main office will, when faced with news of an air traffic controllers strike on the horizon, not leave the tour leader (who was excellent, and a shining light in the fog of disappointment) out of the loop for over 24 hours, and then hope for miracles. A plan B to get us up to Paris should have been ready to roll as soon as news of the impending strike hit the travel world. You also need to allow more time in Toledo.
    VirginaRoadWarrior / Adult traveler
    Arlington, VA / Posted on March 31, 2016
  10. " Uncontrollable" events

    Overall I enjoyed this travel experience in spite of uncontrollable outside factors. I feel that during the air controller strikes in France more proactive steps should have been taken to get us from Madrid to Paris. The strikes were common knowledge the day before our flight and back up plans should have been made at that point so we didn't waste travel days in the airport (15 hours in Madrid airport). Also direct flights from iAd were available from CDG to home rather than connecting through Newark. Communication between headquarters and our tour director was not good and we had to update her before headquarters on travel plans and changes. I enjoyed seeing more of Spain but was disappointed we had only 5 hours in Paris. I am not sure I would do another EF tour.
    54321mc / Adult traveler
    Chantilly, virginia / Posted on March 26, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?