Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.3 out of 5)
152 reviewed Paris, the Loire and the Riviera
5 stars
80
4 stars
54
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
2
  1. Best experience of my life to date!

    This trip was the perfect balance of structured activities and free time. I felt that my group had a great amount of time to explore and enjoy each location on our own. The views were spectacular, and it was incredible seeing so many iconic landmarks. One day, we had a 7-hour bus ride, so our tour director took us on an impromptu extension to visit an inactive volcano in order to split up the long ride. I just thought that it was a great touch. I implore you to add on the Normandy extension—it was one of the most humbling experiences of my life. If you're a history nerd like me, you'll love this extension. The food was great for the most part (one or two dinners flopped for me but overall it was great). I also enjoyed each hotel we stayed in very much. I would 100% recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!
    AshleyAnn567 / Student traveler
    Newnan, Georgia / Posted on March 02, 2018
  2. Wonderful Experience

    Great thanks to EF for an amazing journey to France.We had very professional Tour Director and bus drivers. F and L were simply wonderful. The tours was well planned and executed. We were able to visit all the sites listed in our brochures + more.We hit the road as soon as we landed in Nice. My group had to miss a day because some of my students were sick and tired. We stayed at the hotel. The hotels were clean and the service was impeccable. The three course dinners were ok but smaller in size, compared to the US. Breakfast was very good. We had the choice of fruits, which was awesome at the start of our very busy days. The local guides were very knowledgeable and courteous.
    Gblazu / Group leader
    Dallas, Georgia / Posted on June 20, 2017
  3. Great first trip!

    This was my first time taking students abroad and I was nervous at first, but we had an amazing time. We loved our Tour Director -- he was always prepared, personable, flexible and just an overall amazing asset to our trip. We had to change some activities on the fly due to flooding and he handled it so smoothly that it was almost unnoticeable to the kids. There's no way I could have planned this jam-packed tour myself--we were able to see SO much. The hotels were really nice and clean. The only critique is that the food for dinner can be really repetitive and not large portions, but breakfast was always delicious and I told students ahead of time to expect a smaller, plainer dinner and to make sure to eat a good, larger lunch, as the French do. Other than that, literally everything else about the tour went off without a hitch. Me, the students, and our other adult chaperones couldn't have been more pleased.
    OhioTeach / Group leader
    Columbus, OH / Posted on May 05, 2017
  4. Best Time of My Life

    I could not possibly speak more highly of my experience with EF Tours. The trip was well-organized, our tour director was fantastic, and I wish that I could go back to France everyday! Without a doubt, my experience with EF Tours was one of the happiest times of my life!
    LSR0704 / Student traveler
    Groton, NY / Posted on March 26, 2017
  5. Too Fast Tour

    For the trip to be scheduled for 10 days, it was too fast paced, not enough time to enjoy touring spots.
    Andy621 / Student traveler
    Detroit, Michigan / Posted on April 18, 2019
  6. Some highlights, not my favorite tour

    Although we had some amazing moments like Paris by night, the food was often disappointing and the itinerary could be improved. Not enough time in Paris and Lyon and too much in the Loire Valley. If you go, ask they eliminate the Chartres stop and head straight to Paris instead.
    Frenchie123 / Group leader
    Bloomfield Hills, Mi / Posted on April 09, 2019
  7. Wonderful guide and trip

    our guide was outstanding!
    Strasbourg / Group leader
    St Louis Mo / Posted on March 27, 2019
  8. Nice itinerary / flexible freetime

    I enjoyed the trip to Nice, Avignon, Arles, Amboise, and Paris. There was plenty of free time. Some good activities to do with a nice variety. I would include a little more time at Palais de Papes since they now have an interactive iPad tour. Not everyone needed the time but some would have liked it.

    The hotels were comfortable even though a couple were outside of the city we had activities in and made bus time lengthier.

    Our tour director did an amazing job of making sure that all five groups within our one group had needs met. It would have been ideal to have only a French speaking group rather than a mixed English/French but I understand it was unavoidable, however, when French teachers are bringing students on a tour rather than a homestay, the desire is for their students to hear and use as much French as possible. It was disappointing not to get that opportunity.

    Breakfasts at all of the hotels were more plentiful than I remembered from 6 years ago. Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating.

    Wifi was available at all hotels and appreciated to keep parents up to date on activities and pictures.

    Meals were in nice establishments and with the exception of one, well staffed and service was great.

    It would have been nice not to have changed busses quite so much. It was hard to keep up with who to tip and how much when we had given our students a set amount before departure based on having one bus, driver, and tour guide. One bus driver to the airport actually asked me for a tip. Another bus had broken glass on the seat and although there was time during the bateau mouche ride, it was not cleaned from the seat. The bus that took us to the chateaux was smelly and he didn't lock the bus while at one chateaux so I did not tip him. We had 4 different busses and they all expected a tip.

    One disappointing thing was that the itinerary said Monaco casino and we only did the palace, garden and church. We did not even drive by the casino. Even though students are not allowed into the casino, they were still looking forward to see the expensive cars and stores surrounding it.

    Overall, it was a good trip and we saw and did much.
    JDEHS4525 / Adult traveler
    MO / Posted on March 27, 2019
  9. Great tour in France

    We did the Paris, the Loire and the Riviera tour. We had a clean comfortable coach to travel in. The bus driver was careful and skilled. Our tour guide was a kind and knowledgeable man who provided us with tons of historical information during our trip. He was concerned for us and our well being. Our hotels were clean and basic with traditional French breakfasts. We saw so much in our 10 days in France. Tours are not a relaxing vacation - they are hard work. We were tired at the end of the day but EF helps you to get your money's worth by not wasting time. We got up early and saw as much as we could. The adults and students on tour enjoyed it very much.
    I think people are sometimes disappointed by tours of foreign places because things are not like home. Well, that is the point. Other places are different. Enjoy and experience and see global differences and similarities. You will be the richer for it.
    / Group leader
    Chattanooga, TN / Posted on March 27, 2019
  10. Great way to see France!

    Your guide was great and kept us on track to cover set itinerary. Got to see a lot of France in the 9 days.
    Frugal / Adult traveler
    CA / Posted on June 25, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?