Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.4 out of 5)
409 reviewed Paris and the Châteaux
5 stars
242
4 stars
109
3 stars
34
2 stars
12
1 star
12
  1. Simply Outstanding Trip to France!

    Just got back from the Paris and the Chateaux trip. It was simply outstanding from start to finish! Our guide was super friendly, organized and knowledgeable. He was always checking in with us as to what we would like to see or do! And the weather cooperated the whole trip! We had an incredible cultural learning experience that we will never forget! Thank you EF Tours! I am already signed up to go to Japan in 2020 with my new favorite tour company, EF Tours!!
    Brominator / Adult traveler
    Stow, Ohio / Posted on April 12, 2019
  2. absolutely amazing!

    This was my first time to France and I went with my 11 year old son. I really enjoyed how it was planned out with the travel, accommodations etc -- I literally did not have to think about where, what, when and how. There was free time given at every location and our tour guide was super friendly and knowledgeable. For the amount of time that we spent there, we were able to see so much. A definite repeat for my other boys!
    gividen / Adult traveler
    hamilton, montana / Posted on April 02, 2019
  3. Fabulous French trip

    I thought the trip was fabulous. I got to see the hustle and bustle of Paris while seeing the French country side. The churches and chateau's were amazing. I got to see so many wonderful sites. Moreover my tour guide and bus drivers were excellent. They made me feel safe and informed everywhere we went. I would travel with EF again given the opportunity.
    Cincigirl / Adult traveler
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 12, 2018
  4. FRANCE - 2018

    I had the time of my life. Made lots of friends and memories, and had some priceless picture of such historical place. Originally my mom was really worried and freaking out to send me to another side of the world, but EF tours made her feel really comfortable and she knew, that I can be reached at any time. What made this trip possible, EF tours allowed for my mom to make monthly payments and they were very nice and on top everything and very very organized. I know that if another trip were to be available I will be the 1st one to sign up and go. I felt really really safe with EF tours. I can't wait for my next trip. For the 1st time I was on my own but with the silent ghost of EF tours protecting me. The feeling is indescribable and worth every penny.
    ZBedoi / Student traveler
    Encino, CA / Posted on April 04, 2018
  5. Worth Every Cent

    This trip was amazing! Any travel journey can be exhausting, but it was so worth it. We explored so much in 8 days, and really got an authentic taste of French culture and history, all the while seeing many amazing chateaux. Our EF guide was very well-informed and friendly, too. This trip is worth every cent; you will not be disappointed.
    Calla / Student traveler
    Cleveland, Ohio / Posted on February 09, 2018
  6. Great learning experience

    Great way to see multiple places in a country
    Petite / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, Georgia / Posted on October 16, 2019
  7. Variety and Fast Paced

    The tour was fast-paced and filled with variety, which gives the first-time visitor to France a great deal to see and do.

    I do wished we could have spent more time in several locations such as Versailles, particularly the gardens, and I felt we spent too much time on the Avenue des Champs-Élysées--we ended up there at least twice, and as I'm not as interested in looking at shops, I wasn't really excited about spending more time there than at other locations. Our day in Montmarte was disappointing because of the crowds; however, the souvenir shopping there was good. The wait time at the catacombs was quite long. Also having the self-guided tour headphones would have improved my experience in the museums and chateaux. (Our headsets didn't work in Versailles, which was disappointing because we could not hear our tour guide at all.)

    NONETHELESS, I thought the variety was fantastic--this tour is perfect in its hitting high points for "touristy" things like going up Eiffel Tower or taking the river tour in Paris, but then providing different experiences such as driving through the Loire to spend time in the chateaux and cathedrals. Also driving to Brittany and Normandy's Atlantic coastline (Mont St. Michel & St Malo) along with visiting Omaha Beach and learning about the D-Day gave us a deeper understanding of US and French cooperation in WWII. Finally we returned to Paris and visited museums and saw a bit of the great art held in France. This wonderful mixture of places and events made this a tour that provided something for everyone.

    Our tour guide was SO PATIENT and kind; he was helpful and long-suffering. I thought the man a saint for all his hard work and desire to make our tour meaninful. He defended our students from an angry receptionist at a small hotel in Normandy. He knew so much and could field all sorts of questions--and he was willing to hang out in a McDonalds late one night with all these goofy high school students who want to eat lousy fast food in France.

    The bus drivers were also AMAZING--I sat up front and watch them drive effortlessly through the most awkward of places--they made me feel at ease and safe, which as a parent and chaperone is very important. The hotels were very good for a tour of this type--I've been on some tours and stayed in quite sketchy hotels, and I was very impressed with the quality of all the hotels

    Overall, this was an excellent tour, and I am so glad I had a chance to be on it.
    BigTuna / Adult traveler
    Fountain Hills AZ / Posted on October 15, 2019
  8. Would not go again

    I can say with honesty, I will never visit Paris again. I was looking forward to this experience with my daughter, and we were miserable. Another group joined us early in the tour, and the tour guide spoke with them more than our group. We were left behind in busy Paris streets, struggling to catch up. The communication was not good. It was a lot of walking, and during the lunch times, we had a short period to find our way through unfamiliar foreign streets, find lunch, and find our way back to our destination. Dinners & breakfasts were awful. Breakfast was very limited, and when you're traveling with teenagers, it's hard to get them to eat strange food. Dinner was one option only, and if you didn't like it, there wasn't an option to go get something on your own. Some of the places we visited were beautiful, but there were so many other tourists (The Louvre, for example), it was difficult to get through. We were able to see two wings of the museum before our time was up. Never again.
    JB80 / Adult traveler
    Kansas City, MO / Posted on August 14, 2019
  9. France in 90 Minutes

    This trip provided a glimpse at France. Where we should have had at least half a day or a full day at places we had 2 hours but got to see a lot and do a lot. It is a trade off. Our tour guide was a amazing. She was French and proud of her culture but spoke excellent English. My 2 complaints are the tour bus....it was AWFUL....the bus did not cool until we were at least 50 miles down the road and driver did not start the bust until it was loaded despite it being an oven. Also the time spent at some of the places even though I gave it a plus, I give it a minus too.
    Redkiss / Adult traveler
    Kansas City, MO / Posted on July 27, 2019
  10. Wow!

    What a fantastic trip! The details in our transportation arrangements were perfect. The tour director was incredible. She guided us through Paris and the Chateaux region with impeccable ease. The busses that we used were clean and the drivers were very professional. Thank you to everyone at EF who helped to make this trip memorable for us and the students who we chaperoned. Well done!
    / Adult traveler
    Chesapeake, VA / Posted on July 19, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?