Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
39 reviewed Discover Panama
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. The best experience of my life

    I have absolutely no complaints about this tour, we had the best food from eating at a restaurant of choice in Casco Viejo, to a meal cooked fresh by the Embera Tribe. The tour was very organized, our tour guide was so well informed, and really engaged all of us! I learned so much, and had the best week of my life. From snorkeling in the Caribbean, to dancing with local children in La Chorrera, to walking to a waterfall, drinking pineapple smoothies in hammocks, taking a boat ride on Gatun lake, and the monkeys climbing on our boats, every single day was spent so so well. Our hotel was very nice, and when we had free time the pool was really fun. I can not recommend this tour enough! For all ages, our tour had kids from ages 13-18, and each and every one of us had an amazing time!
    maddieec / Student traveler
    Portland, Oregon / Posted on July 15, 2018
  2. A truly enriching tour

    I recently returned from a one week long tour in Panamá, which undoubtedly ranks as one of the best weeks of my life. Starting at the beginning with an all-to-often glossed over factor, the travel itself was easy and stress free. EF arranged a great flight which went by without any hitches. It may sound obvious, but initial bumps before we even reach the destination can put the tour in a bad light to begin with. We landed early afternoon and hit the ground running with a tour of Panamá city led by our fantastic guide. Every day had meaningful, educational, and thoroughly fun activities which engaged my interest and made me both think about and feel for the incredible country of Panamá. A short summary of our activities includes: visiting a pineapple farm (best pineapple anywhere, plus taught me a lot about sustainable agriculture and the farming culture in Panamá); activities such as hands on scavenger hunts which encouraged us to interact directly with the people of Panamá; a private tour of the Panamá Canal; a cultural exchange with the indigenous Embera people; and many many more. Not only was the itinerary first rate, but our guide was knowledgeable, welcoming, friendly, and more than understanding when we just needed a bit of rest after a long exhausting day. Food was a mix of traditional Panamanian food (fish, plantains, etc.) and Western cuisine (we stopped at a shopping mall one day which offered an extensive food court), and not a single meal was bad, unappealing, or failed to leave me satisfied. They were also more than accommodating for those vegetarians and others with dietary restrictions in our group. Finally, the atmosphere and shared experiences of the tour ensured that by the time we left I'd made good friends with people from all four schools on the tour. This ability to meet new people, whether other students or Panamanians, and forge those interpersonal connections is what truly put the finishing touches on this unbelievable experience.
    cosmicdragons / Student traveler
    Posted on June 11, 2018
  3. Best week of my life!

    Our week was jam packed with all sorts of fun activities. Some of my favorites include: visiting a family owned pineapple farm, day spent with indigenous Embera tribe, visiting the Panama Canal up close, swimming in both Pacific and Atlantic oceans, visiting ruins sites. I feel I received a well rounded tour that provided a good combination of education and fun!!
    Panamalover / Student traveler
    Southington, Ct / Posted on April 16, 2018
  4. travelteach

    The Expedition in Panama exceeded our expectations and then some. The itinerary was a perfect balance of exploring the city, canal, culture and the rainforests. We learned so much all while having the time of our lives. Each day we asked the students what their favorite part was so far and they struggled to pick just one thing. From eating pineapples fresh off the plant in the middle of a pineapple plantation to getting an up-close and personal (private) tour of the canal, exploring rainforests and marveling at the incredible biodiversity that we witnessed, walking through the markets in the city, visiting an indigenous village, snorkeling in the Caribbean Sea...it really was hard to pick just one thing!
    Somuchfun / Group leader
    Hyde Park, NY / Posted on July 14, 2017
  5. Wonderful

    This was my sons first trip with EF Tours and it was simple amazing! He is already talking about his next trip. We were very happy with the entire experience from start to finish. I personally think it's vital in our children's lives to see other cultures. I can envision my son travel the world with confidence as this outstanding experience.
    / Student traveler
    Cary, North Carolina / Posted on June 26, 2017
  6. Could Not Have Been Better!

    We were, admittedly, a bit nervous about our ten year old's first trip overseas without us, but EF Tours did an unbelievable job from start to finish. The itinerary combined science, culture and history in a spectatular way, tour leaders were warm, engaged and knowledgeable and we never worried about our son's health or safety while he was away. Kudos to EF Tours all around for a truly impressive program. Our son can't wait for his next trip with you!
    Mismama / Parent
    Atlanta, Ga / Posted on June 09, 2017
  7. The Best 8 Days of My Life

    I have never had an experience before like mine in Panama. I haven't traveled much, but I can definitely say this set the bar really high for any trips I take in the future. I got to see Panama City, Casco Viejo, Panama Viejo, the Panama Canal, the Biodiversity Museum, a zoo, the Embera village, and we went zip lining. I had the best day in the Embera village. We were taken there by a canoe and a monkey even jumped in ours! When we got there, we were welcomed very warmly by everyone. They took us to the surrounding jungle and showed us which plants they used as certain medicines. They gave temporary tattoos and cooked fish and plaintains. Their market was magnificent; they are incredibly talented. We got to spend time and play with the kids who were all sweet and adorable. Seeing their way of life was amazing. Our tour guides were also very nice and informative. This was one of the best experiences of my life.
    / Student traveler
    Port Washington, NY / Posted on February 26, 2016
  8. Wonderful Memories

    My daughter had a wonderful fun filled experience in Panama. She got to explore the city, the culture, the food, and natural surroundings. Her guide and bus driver were fabulous and loved my all in her group.
    Mommof2 / Student traveler
    Perkasie, pa / Posted on August 14, 2018
  9. Panama is AMAZING!

    Panama was the perfect, well-rounded trip! We experienced so many different elements that Panama had to offer including the locks of the Panama Canal, a rainforest boat ride, visiting an indigenous group, seeing both the Pacific Ocean and the Carribean and even a pineapple farm. This trip was the perfect balance of education and fun!
    Historybuff2 / Group leader
    Wichita, KS / Posted on August 08, 2018
  10. Great Educational Experiance!

    Learned a lot about not only the biodiversity but the culture and the way the country functions as well! I felt safe and curious and happy the whole trip! Everyone should go! This trip really opened my eyes to how the world works (Panama Canal) and I have a new appriciation for how hard people work to keep trade routes running 24/7. Learned about conservation programs as well, which made the biodiversity component of the trip my favorite part.
    ReptileGirl2468 / Student traveler
    Missouri / Posted on August 02, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?