Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
8 reviewed Culture and Service in Nicaragua
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Life Changing Experience

    While I believed the advertising, I wasn't sure how my daughter would react. Her first words to me were 'Mom, I am forever changed'. She explained that she now understands that phones, ipads, the latest sneakers are not important. What is important is having a roof over your head, food and opportunity to be educated. Her eyes are wide open and her appreciation for what she and I have has grown. Thank you for allowing our children to have this opportunity. I gave myself a 'high five' for signing her up and pushing her to get outside her comfort zone. She's ready to do it again next year so I'll make that happen!
    MotherofaTeen / Parent
    Houston, Texas / Posted on June 13, 2017
  2. Unforgettable

    I had an unforgettable experience. I'll cherish the memories I made with the Me to We organizers and our guide, Juan. Thank you EF.
    Taitertot / Student traveler
    Atlanta, Georgia / Posted on April 09, 2017
  3. Life Changing!

    This tour was the perfect balance of service and culture!! It was amazing to be able to work in the village and connect with the people, and then turn around and immerse yourself even more into their country. I gained a bigger appreciation for the work that I had done in the community because I knew more about the country and the culture.
    copper6 / Student traveler
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 27, 2016
  4. Life Changing!

    Every thing ran smoothly. The guided experiences were eye opening. The team of workers were super friendly and professional. It was a great experience from start to finish.
    / Adult traveler
    Harrisonburg, VA / Posted on June 27, 2016
  5. Overwhelmingly emotional and educational

    The service learning portion of this trip was one of the most educational and emotional experiences my students have had the pleasure of experiencing in their lives. Each one came back from our journey changed for the better. All 28 of us came back from Nicaragua with a deeper appreciation for what we have and a stronger passion to do better in our community. We loved our EF Tours guide and our Me-to-We leaders. Our EF Tours guide was extremely informative and took the time to connect and get to know all of the students and chaperons.
    Spanish22 / Group leader
    Colts Neck, NJ / Posted on April 15, 2016
  6. Culture Shock

    It was an awesome experience. I love seeing new things and seeing how other people live and this tour gave me the opportunity to do that.
    MrConfidence / Student traveler
    Howell, New Jersey / Posted on April 04, 2016
  7. Great experience

    My 13 year old son and I went on the service trip to Nicaragua in March 2016. We both had a great time. The first day was a travel day, with us getting to Managua really late in the evening.

    The next 3 days were our service days, This portion of the trip was run by "Me to We". It is a terrific organization, but as a traveler, I wasn't aware that Me to We was running that part of the trip and that they had different rules we needed to abide by until we landed. We stayed in a great little place that caters to service groups called Palm Point. It was terrific because we had the place to ourselves so the kids could have some freedom to swim and hang out in the evening together. The food was very good here. But, it was a little odd that we had been told we were staying somewhere else and found out about the change on the bus ride from the airport to the "casa". We also found out a week before departure that some families that had paid extra for private rooms would no be accommodated. I like to plan ahead and know what to expect so wasn't crazy about that.

    We really enjoyed the service portion of our trip. The kids really loved helping the community (digging foundation, cutting and bending rebar, planting a garden, etc.). Each day we would work at the site during the day and then return to the "casa" for dinner, swimming and some group reflection on the impact of poverty, ways to help, etc.

    The next 3 days were the touring portion in Granada which was run by EF Tours. Our guide was terrific. Our bus was really nice and the driver did a good job. The hotel we stayed in was nice....air conditioning (which was a huge relief since it is VERY hot there), pool, clean rooms, nice beds, newer bathrooms. My family had a private room with 2 double beds which was perfect. Some rooms had 4 or 5 boys in them and only 3 double beds so they had to double up in the beds. Just be aware this is a possibility for the kids. The food (breakfast and dinner each day) was pretty good here. The breakfasts were a little light for most of us (toast, fruit, juice, coffee), though.

    2 days we ate lunch at the same local restaurant which was just ok.

    We did a carriage ride around the city, visited a museum, hiked a volcano, did a zipline tour, took a boat ride on Lake Nicaragua, toured a coffee plantation, visited a pottery company, learned how to make hammocks, and visited a local craft shopping market.

    Was really a great trip. My son and I both would do it again. I just wish you could know the hotels you are staying in ahead of time. We got lucky this time and liked them both.

    Also, be aware that they can change your dates on you. They moved our dates out 3 days causing us to be away from our families on Easter.
    Columbus87 / Adult traveler
    Columbus, OH / Posted on April 03, 2016
  8. Best trip ever!

    My trip to Nicaragua was the best experience I have ever had. The tour director we had was absolutely amazing. He was so educated about the area we were in and I learned so much every single day. The trip was so meticulously planned that every second of our day was put to use so I really felt that I got more than my money's worth. I thoroughly enjoyed every activity we did. I can honestly say that it was the most eye opening experience that I have ever had and I would do it again over and over in a heart beat!
    Anonymous1224 / Student traveler
    Orting, Washington / Posted on July 21, 2015

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?