Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
83 reviewed Royal Madrid
5 stars
59
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
  1. Amazing Trip!

    This trip was amazing! I would definitely recommend adding the excursion to Toledo, cooking class, and two day extension in Barcelona! My students and I loved this trip, we had a wonderful time and learned a lot. The only suggestion for improvement would be less free time in Madrid the first two days (this may have just been due to necessary itenirary adjustments, though). Our tour guide, Nuria, was excellent! She went above and beyond to make sure everything was taken care of for us and added in additional games and birthday celebrations for two of our group members. EF made the whole process easy and enjoyable and made sure everything ran smoothly for us on tour.
    ProfesoraA / Group leader
    Iberia, MO / Posted on June 18, 2018
  2. Phenomenal!

    What an outstanding trip! My students learned so much and really enjoyed learning while they toured. They were never bored! They loved all the time they got to explore and use their language skills. They had amazing adventures, learned a TON of history, and we had lots of tears when it was time to leave! All of my students kept thanking me for providing the opportunity to go. We saw so much of "old" Spain, too. We loved getting to tour the cathedrals, castles, museums, and parks. My students learned so much they started pointing out statues & plaques and were saying things like "This was X's dad, right?" Our tour guides provided such "insider" history and details that really kept our kids engaged. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!
    AlexisB / Group leader
    Minster, OH / Posted on June 30, 2017
  3. It was indeed an Amazing Experience!

    España fue muy hermoso! Beautiful! beautiful! Everything was great! The tour guide was very informative! The food...to die for!
    Had a wonderful time and will always remember it since it was my first trip without my parents. My teacher was awesome! I would definitely recommend this tour to any student especially seniors who are getting ready to start college away from home.
    Manvel / Student traveler
    Manvel TX / Posted on March 21, 2017
  4. An outstanding experience!

    This was my second time as group leader with EF, and it was nothing short of spectacular!
    FLIGHTS: As convenient as possible, with just one short layover in each direction.
    HOTELS: In both Madrid and Barcelona, the hotels were immaculate and comfortable, centrally located, and served quality breakfasts.
    TOUR DIRECTOR: She was the absolute best! After having one that was not so great 2 years ago on a different tour, I now know what a difference an engaging and knowledgeable TD can make. It was clear that our TD loved her job, and truly enjoyed being with us. We had 2 birthdays during our tour, and she went out of her way to make them special.
    FOOD: Breakfasts were simple but there was something for everyone. Dinner was authentic, at a different restaurant every night, and we got a nice variety of typical Spanish dishes and staples that would please everyone.
    ACTIVITIES: Everything was well-paced, and our optional excursions were top-notch. Activities were well thought out, and we spent an appropriate amount of time on things. We were even surprised by our awesome bus driver the day we went to Salamanca -- he stopped at an exit so we could get a view of the wall around Avila and take some photos with it. Everyone who was working on behalf of EF truly went above and beyond to make our experience special.
    All in all, this was an amazing tour. My group of 9 was truly pleased and fulfilled with this experience. Thanks, EF!
    LaMaestraDeQC / Group leader
    Sheridan, Indiana / Posted on July 01, 2018
  5. Could have been better for the price

    Although I had a lot of fun on this trip and explored a new culture, we didn’t receive food options (unless salad if vegetarian) and it should’ve been longer for the price we were being charged.With the price paid, your better off going on a family vacation.However, the hotel itself and it’s breakfast was amazing as well as our tour guide since our days were full of activities!
    Glori22 / Student traveler
    New York, NY / Posted on April 10, 2018
  6. Wonderful Experience

    I had a wonderful experience during my tour. The students learned a lot and loved the experience.
    SenoritaMadrid / Group leader
    North Hills, CA / Posted on April 09, 2018
  7. Awesome tour!

    I loved the whole experience itself as it was eye-catching and always had new truck as up it’s sleeves everyday. Only thing I would change is the dinner. Thank you!!!
    Xenn / Student traveler
    North Hollywood CA / Posted on April 08, 2018
  8. Great Overall Experience

    Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. There is so much to do and see that there is very little down time and also, many short nights of sleep. There was a lot of walking (70-80 miles) over the 9 days we were in Madrid. The day tours were excellent. The hotel that we stayed in was as nice as any in the US. Breakfast and one other meal a day were provided. The only complaint was that there was never an option for additional beverages such as coffee, wine, or soda. All meals were filling and tasted fine, although there was not a lot of variety (chicken 2 nights in a row and then ham 2 nights in a row). The flight arrangement was definitely a problem with not enough time between flights. 2 different times we were running 30 people through airports trying to make connecting flights. We were only given 2 1/2 hours in ORD to get through customs and immigration and to recheck luggage, change terminals and get to our gate. This would have been tight timed, but then our flight was 45 minutes late and it was very stressful. Overall, this was a great experience that I got to share with my daughter.
    ckdmom / Adult traveler
    Minster, OH / Posted on June 28, 2017
  9. The Fabulous Royal Madrid

    Our trip was fabulous! Our main tour guide was so personable and knowledgeable about everything from the food to the traditions of Spain. Our other guides were also great!
    Bltpastasalads / Adult traveler
    Manvel, Texas / Posted on March 20, 2017
  10. Awesomeness

    Love love loooovvveeeddd!!! My students enjoyed this experience and the chaperones did as well. It gave them a chance to witness life outside of the norm, which made them realize what to be grateful for.
    EddyBo9 / Group leader
    Orlando, FL / Posted on September 28, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?