Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4 out of 5)
34 reviewed Madrid, Paris and Rome
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
2
  1. Trip of a Lifetime

    We signed up for this tour well in advance, and having never been on an educational tour, did not know what to expect. We now realize that there could have been so many issues that would have been frustrating had the tour company not been well-prepared, but due to excellent preparation and service by EF and its staff, the trip was a wonderful experience for our family of 5!! Our tour guide was truly phenomenal. She spoke four languages, really worked well with our 6th through 8th children, and was calm under pressure. No doubt, it takes a special person to be able to guide a school tour group of 40 people (including 26 teenagers) through the big cities of Paris and Rome. She and the rest of the EF staff made it seem effortless. Plus, the tour guide was a fountain of knowledge and information for us and our teenage children. On the final night, many parents, children (and the tour guide) cried on the bus at having the tour end. Moreover, we never stopped learning. If there is any word of caution as to this trip, be ready to exercise and don't expect a lot of downtime or extra time to relax. We were always on the move, and each night, we collapsed into bed after a full day of walking. If you are not ready for considerable exercise, don't sign up for a European tour.
    NCFAM / Adult traveler
    Charlotte, NC / Posted on April 28, 2017
  2. Europe 2017

    It was amazing to expirience this. I never thought I'd go to these places. Everyone should get the chance to go on these tours.
    / Student traveler
    New York City / Posted on April 18, 2017
  3. Fantastic Adventure

    This trip was absolutely fantastic. The itinerary was fantastic only wish we could have had more days in Paris and Rome due to the sheer number of places to see and things to do. The guide (Daniela) was absolutely terrific; knowledgeable, friendly, professional and patient...she needed thst patience with our group as many didn't understand how to get back on time when provided free time. The hotel and restaurant selections could have been a little better (maybe more authentic). The food selections seemed to be a bit on the cheap side...a lot of pizza and would have loved something more substantial, yet authentic. The hotels seemed to be in questionable neighborhoods and one had cleanliness issues (Madrid). The transportation was good too however, when using the train, could you provide options for people to purchase a private car? Six people in a car is a bit much when dealing with adults. Overall, the tour was fantastic and I would highly recommend it to others. Thank you for the opportunity.
    Micki1 / Adult traveler
    Goldsboro, NC / Posted on April 16, 2017
  4. Disappointed

    The trip was safe! I purchased a cooking class excursion in Italy prior to trip. It was cancelled due to lack of participation; however, I was not reimbursed! I was disappointed (for the students) in this experience. I just expected better food/lodging/service in Spain & Paris. Italy was great with the exception of my non-reimbursement. That was totally EF & not the country.
    Momoftraveler1 / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, Ga / Posted on July 09, 2017
  5. Good

    Out of the three places Madrid was my least favorite, but that is my opinion. My advice would be to bring more than 100 euros and prepared to ride many subways and trains because I was never told I was going to be doing that. It was also very hot on this trip being the act that it was in the middle of June, so you don't need to bring a jacket. This was one amazing trip with seeing and experiencing different countries and other people form the country that went along with me. I do recommend this trip for people that want to experience three different cultures.
    Annoymous / Student traveler
    North Carolina / Posted on July 02, 2017
  6. Wonderful Trip

    Great tour guide and saw so much more than if I traveled without a group.
    Pep1 / Adult traveler
    Meridian, MS / Posted on June 14, 2017
  7. Fast-paced and thorough!

    I would like the trip to the top of the Eiffel tower to be included in the Paris portion of the trip, and I don't think there is a lot of value to the visit to the perfume shop. I would like the Museo de la Reina Sofia (Guérnica) to be included in the Madrid portion.

    Our hotel in Madrid was in a perfect location and it was perfect for the students. The hotel in Paris was nice, but a little removed from the city. Our hotel in Rome was both removed from the city and very cramped.

    The tour is fast-paced with a lot of walking, but as long as you are prepared for that, it is no problem.

    Our tour guide was superb. He was flexible, related to the students well, and turned out to be good in a crisis situation we experienced in Paris. He remained calm and worked quickly to make sure that we were safe.

    EF as a whole handled the unforeseen event in Paris swiftly and responsibly and the three group leaders that traveled with us will be forever grateful.

    Our local guides were very informative and we learned a lot! It was a great first-time experience for my students that gave them an overview of three great European capitals and hopefully ignited a desire to return and spend some more time in each locale.
    Ugagal / Group leader
    Hattiesburg, MS / Posted on June 13, 2017
  8. Awesome Experience

    My daughter & I had an amazing time! I would recommend traveling with your student if you can.
    CollegeBound1 / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on May 03, 2017
  9. Nope, nope, nope.

    Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty fun trip. The only thing that ruined the trip was being paired with racist parents and middle school kids with a group of high schoolers. Let's just say that it didn't mix well and you should be careful with what group you're gonna be paired with
    JMC1999 / Student traveler
    Posted on April 18, 2017
  10. Could've Been Better

    Overall, we had a good time touring and seeing Europe. In retrospect and when considering what was paid for the trip (nearly 4k per student), it was a bit disappointing when it came to the meals, the hotel accommodations, and some of the itinerary planning.

    Student dinners only included water, no sodas or juice were included in that rate. I would think that for the price they paid, they would be given an option to have more than water for dinner for nearly nine days straight. Breakfast choices were inconsistent. Again, an issue considering the overall cost of the trip.

    In terms of hotel accommodations, I was pleased with the first hotel in Spain, but disappointed with the choices in Paris and Rome. Specifically, when dealing with city kids (and all our students live in New York City), I think it's important to place them in areas that are centrally located in proximity to the tourist attractions. In Paris, we stayed in the suburbs (misleading from what we were promised), but when we went into Paris, we saw two other locations of the hotel we were staying in. Why weren't we closer? It would have afforded the students an opportunity to explore the culture and all that Paris had to offer on their down/free time.

    The itinerary included some highlights that will remain etched into ours students' memories from the Louvre and Versailles to the Coliseum and the Vatican. However, other locations became a bit redundant to our students. We saw a palace in Spain, so when we got to Versailles, there was less interest. Perhaps Versailles should be the main palace to visit.
    I think it is important to build in more free time for the students. As chaperones, we had to ask for and advocate for them to have time to shop on their own or explore on their own.

    Overall, we made the best of the trip, even the night train where a couple of beds didn't work. i would love to take the night train again, but would hope that the kids could be in rooms of four instead of six (mainly due to the size and height of many of our students).

    I'm interested in touring with EF again, but now I know what to expect as well as which questions to ask in the initial planning phase.
    Chaperone4Europe / Adult traveler
    New York, NY / Posted on April 17, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?