Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
294 reviewed Madrid and Andalusia
5 stars
207
4 stars
64
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
2
  1. Life Changing!!!!

    We had amazing local tour guides who knew more about the city than what you can find in books. Eliana was our group tour guide and she was outstanding, respectful, caring, and fun. She bent over backwards to make sure our group had a wonderful time. She was communicative, helpful, positive, and really made sure our entire trip was amazing. I absolutely recommend her for any trip! Everything was very well planned out and I would recommend this trip to anyone.
    Jackie17 / Adult traveler
    Charleston, SC / Posted on May 01, 2017
  2. When can we go back?!

    This tour was amazing! My students and I had a fantastic time on our trip through AndalucĂ­a. The pacing of the trip was perfect, as we got to see many major cities and sights over our time in Spain, and the travel time was maximized to let us move from place to place quickly and efficiently, while still enjoying stops and sights along the way. Our local guides and tour director were knowledgeable and friendly, and really helped to bring the history and importance of each site to life. We had a wonderful experience and would take this tour again in a heartbeat!
    SenoraS / Group leader
    Columbus, Ohio / Posted on April 10, 2017
  3. A taste of amazement

    The tour was simply amazing. If you're a photo person you will never run short on scenes; from the Sierra Nevada mountains, to the walled city of Toledo and even Madrid, most views will take your breath away. Though I would keep a wary eye out for pickpocket's and the secondhand smoke being in a lot of places unfortunately. Overall the food was simply to die for and the cathedrals and Royal palace were simply so beautiful yet solemn to which I can't put into words. Special thanks to my tour guide for helping us survive while giving us a fun way to learn the history and culture of Spain like through things like La Alhambra and the Prado with mini quizzes for prizes. Many thanks to EF for providing a once in a lifetime experience that everyone should try (but be ready to walk...a lot..)
    FunScout / Student traveler
    Durham, NC / Posted on July 23, 2016
  4. Spain is Different!

    Happy Warning: if you go, be prepared to have Spain get under your skin and live there forever! To say you will fall in love with Spain is an understatement. The sights and sounds and smells and tastes will stay with you when you come back to the U.S.A. This tour is a wonderful introduction to Europe, if this is your first time crossing the Atlantic. If you have already visited the old continent, Spain provides you a great contrast to the diversity and richness of the European Union. Spanish history covers every part of World History, so the tour is a great resource for students about to take World History or reviewing for an AP exam. You will be amazed at how ancient civilizations and cultures share the same real estate as high rise buildings, technology, and current fashion. You don't have to speak Spanish per se, since all the walking tours are guided in English. But for your own personal enjoyment of the little things, like reading a menu, signs, newspapers, brushing up a little goes a long way. Spaniards are very grateful for you making any attempt to bridge the gap. Every traveler has his or her own favorite town, landmark, or panoramic view; mine are all located in Toledo. The view from the hill makes you want to explore every neighborhood, while the walking tour makes you want to spend an entire summer there. Spain is geographically and culturally diverse, and so this particular tour gives you a good understanding of the central and southern regions. There's the Spain you've seen on tv and movies, but on tour you get to decide for yourself what aspects you take away as authentic and essentially Spanish. Two years after the fact, and my students from that tour still refer to our trip as a "life-changing" experience.
    / Group leader
    El Paso, TX / Posted on July 01, 2016
  5. Satisfying Spain

    The 12 day trip to Spain was a memorable adventure. Our tour guide was very experienced and savvy. He had the group's best interest in mind and knew when we needed a little humor. I was very impressed with his level of interaction with the high school students. He made history come alive and was able to provide a vast amount of information. He is a well traveled guide. I feel like we were able to get a good feel of the important regional differences in the country. He also knew how to communicate the vital aspects of large group travel as well as break up the routine of daily travel. The "down time" on the beach and other bits of free time were very welcome and added enjoyment. One of the most enjoyable aspects of the trip was the freedom to explore local dining for lunches. The tours of each city were interesting and the local guides added to the local "flavor". Some of the guides had such thick accents that it was difficult to understand. Others were outstanding!! As the trip progressed, I watched the confidence and willingness to explore unfold in most of the students. To me, there's nothing better than a willing, adventurous traveler!
    GDL819 / Adult traveler
    Lakewood, CO / Posted on June 22, 2016
  6. Walking in Spain

    This tour was a walking wonderland. The history, architecture, adventurous side trips and interesting places to stay, all helped make this a great tour.
    / Adult traveler
    Highland Village, Texas / Posted on July 21, 2014
  7. Spain (and Morocco)

    On one hand, the tour was disappointing since I was traveling in an English-speaking party. The lessons on the bus were a little boring and could probably be better taught on the Internet, where they'd still be in English, but probably not on a bus. However, the walking tours were worth the hours of bus-riding. Those were fun and educational; many selfies from the trip can prove that.

    As for hotels and meals, poor Wi-Fi was an issue for me since I wanted to contact my parents a lot, but the hotels had good showers and breakfasts. The last hotel we stayed at (the Mayorazgo) even had bunk beds!

    The group (which had over 40 people in it) did get lots of free time. As awesome as freedom was, I actually found the timing and locations of our little independence episodes to be somewhat stressful.

    For those of us who went to Morocco, there was a real-world tour --that is, not sugar-coated for visitors --that allowed us to bargain in choppy Arabic in a rug shop and then a spice shop. I especially liked seeing all the cats everywhere, and some of us got to ride camels. I definitely liked that excursion, and I'd recommend EF tours to my friends because of it.
    snorticles / Student traveler
    San Antonio, Texas / Posted on June 30, 2014
  8. AMAZING!!

    This trip was so much fun!! We got to see the coolest stuff and we learned something about everywhere we went! Our tour guide was the best. He made the travelling so much more bearable on those long bus rides and made sure we all were doing well throughout the trip! Definitely would recommend this trip to a friend!
    Wishingwell / Student traveler
    Little Rock, AR / Posted on October 23, 2017
  9. Amazing Trip!

    I took a summer tour to Spain for 10 days and 2 travel days. It was an amazing trip, and was very beautiful! They keep you very busy! You do get some free time every day, but honestly I would have wished we would have gotten a little more or bigger chunks of time, but regardless it was absolutely amazing!
    Keegzster / Student traveler
    Gilbert, Arizona / Posted on August 12, 2017
  10. Hotels were lacking

    Although our tour guide from EF and all the local tour guides were amazing, our experience was negatively affected by the locations of the first two hotels (Band B airport outside of Madrid and Band B in Granada). Both hotels were located far from the city center, far from any pharmacies or diversions for the students. We had a sick student for the first two days who stayed at the hotel with a chaperone on day one. On day two after visiting the Palacios Real she and I returned to the hotel (a 25 euro taxi drive) midway through the day. Had we been in a centrally located hotel, we would have had access to all the amenities necessary to deal with her illness. We could have potentially joined up with the group or traded chaperones. Meanwhile due to the extremely high temperatures (102, 105 F) we experienced throughout the entire 10 days of the tour, the students themselves suffered because they could not return to the hotel to shower or just get out of the heat and into air conditioning for a while. We realize that the weather is beyond anyone's control, but it is unconscionable to lodge students where their only access to their hotel is via a 45 minute bus ride in any city where summer temperatures are liable to soar that high. Two years ago we were at an NH Hotel which was just a metro ride away from Puerto del Sol. Had we been lodged in a similar situation our trip would have been much more enjoyable for all. The hotel in Madrid was acceptable except for the location. The one in Granada was in poor shape - no shelves or places to hang things in the bathroom or room itself. The rooms lacked the basics that you would expect when traveling. The end of our tour was much better with better located hotels of higher quality and better food. Too bad we started out so poorly.
    consuelo / Adult traveler
    Maryland / Posted on July 06, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?