Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
224 reviewed Curtain Time in London
5 stars
147
4 stars
51
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
8
  1. Tour of a Lifetime!

    Curtain Time in London was the most amazing Tour! My daughter absolutely loved the experience. The Tour Guides and Group Leader where the best. The sights of London and the pictures my daughter shared with me were simply breath taking!
    The full content of the tour, the hotels, the venues, she really enjoyed the double decker bus sight seeing. I would love to take the tour myself!
    Bravo to EF Tours and I will highly recommend to family friends nationwide! Great Job EF Tours!
    WestLATechMom / Parent
    Beverly HIlls, CA / Posted on July 03, 2017
  2. The Best Ever!

    We had an amazing experience on our Curtain Time in London Tour! We had the BEST tour guide we could have ever hoped for. The three theatre productions our groups were able to attend were OUTSTANDING, as well as the workshops the students participated in. Be prepared for smaller hotel rooms than we are used to in the US, and smaller meals of different tastes. Unfortunately, our visit took place at the time of a terrorist attack. This did change a few things on our itinerary, but we felt safe and our families were all kept informed. One would not have been able to have the experiences we did, without having a tour guide/company such as EF planning and accompanying us. Thank you to Miss E and EF Tours, we will always have AWESOME memories of London!
    68505 / Adult traveler
    Lincoln, NE / Posted on June 09, 2017
  3. A Standing Ovation

    Curtain Time in London is an excellent trip for those seeking both a creative experience and a historical immersion. The show choices were solid, the schedule was busy but approachable, and the experience was truly memorable. We had the best of both worlds: Great theatre and a great experience in a world-class city.
    Mark302 / Group leader
    Wilmington, DE / Posted on April 25, 2017
  4. Excellent Experience!!!

    This trip was so much fun, it was hard to tell that it was educational. The food was amazing and we went to so many interesting places. Our tour directed was fantastic and was so caring and bubbly and was able to motivate us early in the morning each day we were there. If I had the chance I would definitely go again and would 100% recommend this to people.
    barbershop101 / Student traveler
    Stafford, Connecticut / Posted on January 03, 2017
  5. One of the proudest risks to ever take!

    Anybody else want to go somewhere they've never been? Join the EF tours! This was a great turning point in my life, and if you want to find a fun way to spend any extra time, take a trip!
    MikeyMike / Student traveler
    North Haven, CT / Posted on September 06, 2017
  6. Amazing trip!

    We had the trip of a lifetime. Curtain time in London was phenomenal and I would highly recommend this trip to all lovers of theatre. The sights, sound, food, Tour Director, etc. were amazing. Our tour director was so knowledgeable and did an excellent job at managing our group. We were able to see Wicked and Phantom of the Opera. We had a blast and traveled with a nice group from Miami. I can't wait to start our next tour. EF is the best! 100% recommended.
    taretz / Group leader
    Norfolk, NE / Posted on August 24, 2017
  7. Great time

    The planned activities were all great experiences for the kids. I liked that the evening meals were selected for us- it forced people out of their comfort zones and to try new things. My only negative comment is that there was too much free time. I would have rather had planned activities.
    5mom / Adult traveler
    Norfolk,NE / Posted on August 09, 2017
  8. So so

    Our son was very happy with the tour. However I don't believe our guide understood he had some special needs. It seemed to be that it was very disorganized and things kept getting change from day-to-day such as one day they are supposed to do a market then the next day they switched it to a different day so it was really hard for them to plan anything in their free time. It was an experience of a lifetime that I will never send my son on another tour. Or any of my other children.
    Mr1111111111 / Student traveler
    Norfolk ne / Posted on July 29, 2017
  9. Theater In London

    I accompanied my son on an EF theater tour of London. During the tour, there were guided tours of many of the great sites and sights by experienced tour guides. Upon arrival, we were met by our EF tour director, who remained with us throughout the tour experience. He was an actor, which assisted with his credibility with these theater kids and he was clearly knowledgeable about London, its environs and those areas which would hold the interest of high school theater students. The tour contained a decent mix of historical and theatrical elements and gave everyone good exposure to many characteristics of one of the iconic cities in both theater and on the planet.

    Our tour director (TD) was patient, knowledgeable and communicated well with the students and their student leaders. Of the best components of this tour are the following:

    - acting class on the day after arrival.
    - tour of and acting class in the new Globe Theater
    - selection of West End shows seen by the group
    - balance of structured and unstructured time
    - transportation around the city (underground)
    - since one cannot see everything in 9 days, the selection of sites and locales was broad and overall pretty encompassing of the wonders of London
    - our London hotel was well-enough located to reach sites in the City, and the buffet breakfast provided a very good start every day
    - our Bath hotel was very accommodating and provided a very nice dinner (and b'fast) for the group
    - optional "Jack-the-Ripper" historical tour conducted by an Oxford-trained historian.

    Of less positive impact:

    - food choice selections (I recognize difficulty in procuring good quality food for 44 people in a limited time and within budget limitations in one of the most expensive cities on the planet). However,
    -- the pizza for dinner on the first day was pedestrian (sufficient, but non-descript).
    -- the Indian food "buffet" consisted of one single veg item and one chicken item, rice and bread and nothing else. The choices there were mediocre at best and not representative of the wonderful foods of India
    -- no other group food experience was even very memorable

    - We had the services of what were referred to as "blue badge" guides, who were supposed to be exceptionally knowledgeable because of rigorous training and preparation. Our first guide didn't demonstrate the same level of competence we experienced with the other 2 or 3 we had. We visited St Paul's cathedral (outside only) and Windsor Castle. It seemed as though we would have done as well without him. The other blue badge folks were outstanding. He was barely adequate for what I'm guessing EF paid him (by comparison with the other guides we had).

    In conclusion, let me say my overall impressions were very positive, and I hope my feedback reflects that positivity -- not to be diluted with my minor criticisms. Our TD was VERY good and I would advocate having him as a TD again anytime. The selection of tour sites, sights and experiences was as full and broad as they could be given the plethora of options in London. The group foods were mediocre (personal taste), the one guide wasn't "all that and a bag of chips," but the transportation and balance of structured and unstructured time was just about perfect.

    if I were to make one additional recommendation for future tours of this kind, it would be to add more direct-experience activities focused on theater ... more acting classes, back-stage theater tours, stage technical experience and so on. This was a group of very vigorous and enthusiastic theater kids consisting of designers, lighting specialists, sound experts and actors. My vote would have been to use the EF "bench" of experts in this field to coordinate with acting and back-stage resources in London to provide more opportunities for future tours of this kind.

    My son's response was, "I can see myself living here." Overall, I'd say, EF did its job!
    Peripatetic / Adult traveler
    Asheville, NC / Posted on July 19, 2017
  10. Wonderful Trip

    Overall, the tour was a wonderful experience and a good introduction to the city of London. Since we only had 6 days in the city it was impossible to see and do everything. The only things I think could be done better were the choice of restaraunts for dinner and some of the timing elements of the trip. Only two of the restaraunts seemed authentically British-local pubs that served traditional food. The other choices were chain places that served Chinese, Japanese, and Mediterranean food. The food was okay but not great and the portions were small. I wish we could have tried more local restaurants that offered more authentic food and experiences. The other aspect was the timing- it seemed like we spent a lot of time on the underground going all over London. Perhaps when planning the itinerary the tour planners could structure the activities in such a way that activities in one area could be grouped together. That way less time could be spent on the Tube and more time spent on the actual experiences. The day trip to Stratford was amazing!!!!
    / Adult traveler
    Union, NJ / Posted on July 14, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?