Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
934 reviewed The Ancient Mediterranean
5 stars
652
4 stars
193
3 stars
60
2 stars
20
1 star
9
  1. Beyond Amazing!

    The Ancient Mediterranean trip was beyond what a traveler could imagine. It was one of immersing students, and teachers alike, in deep-rooted culture, language, historical ruins, the arts, foods, and history other than their own. It also engaged students to interact and take a personal look at themselves, by viewing where they stood in a larger picture of the world. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone that has not traveled to Greece and Italy.
    Indybird / Group leader
    New Castle, IN / Posted on April 08, 2019
  2. Unforgettable

    If you want to learn history in an interactive manner while experiencing the flavors, people and culture of Italy and Greece, this is the trip for you. Quick pace with knowledgeable and well trained tour guides. Friendly and accommodating to your needs and last minute requests. Different towns experiencing the cuisine , shops and interacting with the people. Amazing, priceless, educative. I can't wait to be on another one!
    Grancajuna / Adult traveler
    Pittsgrove,NJ / Posted on July 17, 2018
  3. Bellissimo!

    The tour was a historical and joyful dip into the crystal clear blue waters of the Mediterranean! My students were transformed by this experience. The beauty of Italy, with it's rich ancient past still present to explore and her Early Christian, Renaissance and Baroque works of art and architecture mesmerizing us all. The Vatican was an extraordinary opportunity to witness the divine mix of humanity's creative potential and religious devotion. Greece could not have been more captivating. Delphi was beyond what I could have imagined. The town at Delphi was quaint and the ruins and natural beauty is like nothing else on earth. You can almost feel the ancient Athenians present on the acropolis. The Plaka district in Athens was charming. We hit the road running with this trip, but it was all worth it. Our Tour Director was friendly and knowledgeable and was a real problem solver when any small snag occurred. I highly recommend this tour!
    ArtsyLady / Group leader
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 17, 2018
  4. Life-Changing Learning Experience!

    The Ancient Mediterranean Tour through Italy and Greece was full of academic and life experiences. As a teacher, I love how full our schedule was and the amount of real world problem solving my travelers had to do! My students were able to connect with history, culture, art, and each other. They fell in love with our Tour Director, bus drivers, and local tour guides. Most impressively, they fell in love with travel and being an explorer of the world. Through EF Tours, I was able to give them a learning experience that's simply not possible within the four walls of a classroom. Their perspectives were forever changed.
    RaisingArtKids / Group leader
    Small Town, Kentucky / Posted on April 12, 2018
  5. A well-worthwhile trip

    I spent 10 days in Italy and Greece for my first time ever, and I loved it. From the tour guide that helped the group of 44 students through the experience, to the agenda planned, the experience was one of a kind. EF created a sense of stability that a solo or family trip would fail to achieve. The planning and effort put in by EF and the people they employ was what made the experience perfect for me.
    DoStuffBuff / Student traveler
    Kenosha, Wisconsin / Posted on January 21, 2018
  6. Awesome trip!

    There was no fear. We were made to feel comfortable and safe.
    MayvilleTraveler / Student traveler
    Mayville NY / Posted on May 01, 2019
  7. Unbelievable trip

    I did not want to come home. The sights were amazing. The guides and drivers were insightful and patient. The food was delicious. The culture-music, shopping, architecture indescribable. I wanted to stay longer!
    legorose / Student traveler
    bemus point ny / Posted on April 29, 2019
  8. Loved Italy

    Another chance to experience Europe! We traveled to Greece & Italy. I felt that our trip over from the US to Greece was extremely long! I felt that EF should have done a better job of trying to shorten our travel time. We flew from Indy to Atlanta to Amsterdam to Athens. Not sure why we didn't fly Indy to Paris to Athens, except EF might have made a better profit margin???. The trip is 10 days. One expects 2 days for travel. We didn't leave the airport until 4 pm the day our tour began. We arrived in Greece at 5pm the next day. Then we traveled to our hotel, ate dinner, and went to bed. So our experience really started on day 3... Greece was nice, the water, just beautiful! We enjoyed seeing the ancient ruins. We went to Delphi, & Patras, and then boarded our ship for our overnight cruise to Italy. I felt a lot of time was lost on this day as well. So day 4 was a very brief sight-seeing day. Another disappointment because it was so brief. I didn't go on this trip to sit around & wait to be taken to the next place. Fortunately it got better when we got to Italy. We got off the ship & explored Bari. (this was an additional trip our tour director added). Then we went to the hotel & slept. The next day we went to Capri which is BEAUTIFUL! We loved it! The rest of our time in Italy was pretty good. It always seems that when we needed more time we didn't have it, and when we needed less time, we'd have too much time.
    I DO NOT appreciate my time being used to try to make a commission off of sales. For example, in Greece we went to a shop that made unique Grecian necklaces. We didn't get a group discount, so they were the same price and we were taken to the shop as part of out tour. We ran into to this several other times. Sandals in Capri, hand-made cameo items in Pompeii, Sorrento was hand-made wood items, Rome was a special shop that would have our items blessed...TOO much! I am not a cash machine! I spent plenty of money to go on this trip, which I feel that I spent too much time traveling in a plane & a boat. I recommend if you go on a trip you make sure you aren't traveling too far from one destination to another!
    I did like using the whisper devices that the tour guides used! All of our tour guides were very knowledgeable.
    NurseAce / Adult traveler
    Avon, IN / Posted on April 09, 2019
  9. Bucket list check off

    I went as a last minute chaperone (my sister was the group leader). We had a small group and were teamed up with 2 other groups. It would have been really nice to be private, since 53 people is a huge group. Plus, the other 2 groups had kids older than ours, which made for a few issues..
    our tour director was AMAZING!!! The kids liked him and he obviously loves his job. My sister would love to have him again for another trip.
    I would love to visit the area again when I have more time to explore.
    On the negative side, some of the hotels were old and had mold. I ended up getting sick during the last couple days of the trip. It would be nice if the hotels were better quality and closer to central cities.
    Greylady / Adult traveler
    Ocean Shores, Washington / Posted on March 18, 2019
  10. Experiience of a Life Time!

    This trip was a fantastic learning experience for myself and to share it with my daughter was beyond amazing. Getting to explore Rome, Capri, Sorrento, Pompeii, Delphi and Athens together.Learning about these ancient cultures and experience first hand the people, food, art and landscape of these places was a life changing experience.
    mellamb3201 / Adult traveler
    Tahlequah, OK / Posted on November 05, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?