Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
948 reviewed The Ancient Mediterranean
5 stars
662
4 stars
195
3 stars
61
2 stars
21
1 star
9
  1. Beyond Amazing!

    The Ancient Mediterranean trip was beyond what a traveler could imagine. It was one of immersing students, and teachers alike, in deep-rooted culture, language, historical ruins, the arts, foods, and history other than their own. It also engaged students to interact and take a personal look at themselves, by viewing where they stood in a larger picture of the world. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone that has not traveled to Greece and Italy.
    Indybird / Group leader
    New Castle, IN / Posted on April 08, 2019
  2. Unforgettable

    If you want to learn history in an interactive manner while experiencing the flavors, people and culture of Italy and Greece, this is the trip for you. Quick pace with knowledgeable and well trained tour guides. Friendly and accommodating to your needs and last minute requests. Different towns experiencing the cuisine , shops and interacting with the people. Amazing, priceless, educative. I can't wait to be on another one!
    Grancajuna / Adult traveler
    Pittsgrove,NJ / Posted on July 17, 2018
  3. Bellissimo!

    The tour was a historical and joyful dip into the crystal clear blue waters of the Mediterranean! My students were transformed by this experience. The beauty of Italy, with it's rich ancient past still present to explore and her Early Christian, Renaissance and Baroque works of art and architecture mesmerizing us all. The Vatican was an extraordinary opportunity to witness the divine mix of humanity's creative potential and religious devotion. Greece could not have been more captivating. Delphi was beyond what I could have imagined. The town at Delphi was quaint and the ruins and natural beauty is like nothing else on earth. You can almost feel the ancient Athenians present on the acropolis. The Plaka district in Athens was charming. We hit the road running with this trip, but it was all worth it. Our Tour Director was friendly and knowledgeable and was a real problem solver when any small snag occurred. I highly recommend this tour!
    ArtsyLady / Group leader
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 17, 2018
  4. Life-Changing Learning Experience!

    The Ancient Mediterranean Tour through Italy and Greece was full of academic and life experiences. As a teacher, I love how full our schedule was and the amount of real world problem solving my travelers had to do! My students were able to connect with history, culture, art, and each other. They fell in love with our Tour Director, bus drivers, and local tour guides. Most impressively, they fell in love with travel and being an explorer of the world. Through EF Tours, I was able to give them a learning experience that's simply not possible within the four walls of a classroom. Their perspectives were forever changed.
    RaisingArtKids / Group leader
    Small Town, Kentucky / Posted on April 12, 2018
  5. A well-worthwhile trip

    I spent 10 days in Italy and Greece for my first time ever, and I loved it. From the tour guide that helped the group of 44 students through the experience, to the agenda planned, the experience was one of a kind. EF created a sense of stability that a solo or family trip would fail to achieve. The planning and effort put in by EF and the people they employ was what made the experience perfect for me.
    DoStuffBuff / Student traveler
    Kenosha, Wisconsin / Posted on January 21, 2018
  6. highly recommend

    The trip was amazing- you will not regret going. It is very fast paced with a bunch or walking so keep that in mind that most of it is not relaxing. The hotels are basic but it doesn't really matter because all you do there is sleep anyway. Sights are hot and crowded in the summer so be prepared for that. Rome was really nice and feel like we had enough time to see many things. Capri is the most beautiful place on the trip- I wish we could have spent more Time there. Pompeii was very interesting to see. Then we drove across Italy to the port city Bari and we took a walking tour there. We got on the ferry to Greece and stopped at beach on the way to Delphi, which was beautiful and had a ton of mountains. I would recommend doing the Greek evening because my group had a lot of fun at that. The next day in Athens we did the acropolis and the olympic stadium. Then we boarded the cruise which was really cool. The only thing is I wish we had more structure on the islands because we didnt really know what to do when we got there. I also wish we didnt do the Palace of Knossos on Crete and went somewhere else instead. Sadly, we weren't able to go to Santorini because of high winds we couldn't get on the tender boats which obviously wasn't EFs fault. Overall its a really amazing time and I think everyone who wants to go should.
    Aljd / Student traveler
    Pittsburgh, PA / Posted on August 06, 2019
  7. Amazing Adventure!

    We had an amazing tour director who was extremely knowledgeable in all areas of our trip. It was non stop fun and educational. We can’t wait until next summers tour! Thank you EF for all you do!
    LouWho / Adult traveler
    Gig Harbor, WA / Posted on July 31, 2019
  8. An amazingly awesome experience!

    Loved this tour! It had a good balance of go go go excursions to some laid back down time. Would love to see more hours given to Sorrento, Mykonos and Santorini. Also having use of the bus bathrooms would be a lot nicer and be more efficient with time. Thank you for the wonderful tour and experience!
    Kelser / Adult traveler
    Gig Harbor, WA / Posted on July 25, 2019
  9. Great Experience

    My daughter said the tour guide was most amazing. She enjoyed all aspects of the trip. She wished it was spread out a bit more to see a few more sites and linger a bit in certain places. She was on a Land Only trip as our family was on an extended vacation in the same area. We met the tour guide at the airport and aside from her teacher leaders the guide wanted to make sure she made it safely to her destination with us after the tour since she was traveling on her own to meet us. This was unexpected for me and made me appreciate the tour guide even more. That one act made a HUGE impression on me as a mother.
    NatSam / Parent
    Gig Harbor, WA / Posted on July 25, 2019
  10. Amazing Sight Seeing Experience

    It was a very busy tour that allowed us to see so many amazing sights & really get to learn the culture. Our tour guide was funny & very knowledgeable. Our hotel in Greece was amazing (clean, lots of amenities, friendly staff & great food). Our hotels in Italy were very basic which was okay for the most part but when we asked for working A/C units or refrigerators, we were told too bad (it was VERY hot in Italy in July). One thing I do recommend is that your group gets all flight confirmations ahead of time so that all tickets can be verified by the group leader before heading to the airport. We had some airport issues & it was hard to get them resolved if you cannot communicate due to the language barrier. Overall, EF Tours is highly recommended & we look forward to our next trip with them. It is great not having to worry about transportation, accommodations or meals.
    Cynephen / Adult traveler
    Zion, PA / Posted on July 23, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?