Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.4 out of 5)
283 reviewed The Emerald Isle
5 stars
177
4 stars
77
3 stars
11
2 stars
13
1 star
5
  1. Wonderful Experience

    This was such an amazing trip. It was my first trip with students and EF Tours, but it will not be my last. Our tour guide and bus driver were simply amazing the entire week. From seen Dublin, to the Jaunting Cars in Killarney, to the shore of Cobh. Every aspect of the trip was well planned. The hotels were all very clean and comfortable. The breakfast and dinner provided were a taste of Ireland and were very delicious. My only complaint is I had to leave at the end of the week. Would definitely recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see Ireland.
    DoubleOSeven / Adult traveler
    Stanford, Kentucky / Posted on April 20, 2018
  2. Outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

    The Emerald Isles was one of the most beautiful countries I have had the pleasure of visiting. From the busy, fun streets of Dublin to the breath-taking views from the Cliffs of Moher. I got the gift of gab by kissing the Blarney Stone, saw the gorgeous beach in Waterville (Ring of Kerry) and then had a snow ball fight in Kilkenny the next day! It was the trip of lifetime. 10/10 recommend.
    Teebs / Adult traveler
    Springfield, MO / Posted on March 23, 2018
  3. Awesome

    We sent our daughter on this trip to Ireland not knowing what to expect as it was the first time she would be away in another country. She absolutely loved her trip. She saw so many amazing things, took endless amounts of pictures and returned to her room each night exhausted but extremely happy. She even said how she would love to go to University there. It was worth every penny and I would certainly recommend this trip and EF tours.
    Momsrule6 / Parent
    Huntington, NY / Posted on April 20, 2017
  4. Great experience but would never do again

    The good
    The tour guide and driver were amazing. Loved them!
    Locations and places we went in Ireland were beautiful

    The bad
    The food. By then end our kids were buying their own food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was repetitive, white mushroom sauce over a meat with rice or potato. The food wasnt anything served on any menu in Ireland and it's not normal in america. So im unsure what culture they were trying to show to do. Breakfast was basically rice crispies and frosted flakes. Which is great for elementary kids but not normal food for high school students.

    Hotels
    Cheap hotels, most weren't located near anything so were dropped off at 630 pm and nothing for anyone to do from 630 till breakfast at 730 the next morning. Only 1 of 4 hotels gave the students at least a gas station they could walk to get some snacks.

    Airlines. They used United (rated one of the worst airlines) and flew us through Newark which is known for delays. Every leg of our flight there and back were delayed. On our way home they dropped us off knowing our flight was already on a 3 hour delay. In the end we were 7 hr delayed, missed flights. Airline took us from newark to DC to get us home(orlando). More delays. Its 1230 am, 26 of us stuck in the DC airport and the airline basically said they didnt know how the were getting us home, it could be a few days and we will have to split up. They wanted us to just go gate to gate to be on standby for a day or two. We can't do this since we have minors were responsible for so we call EFs emergency line, thinking this is what it is there for. Nope. Basically told us just deal with airline. After a few more calls the lady told us we were clearly stressed (we've been traveling over 24 hours this point) and that we should book a hotel(have the kids use their emergency credit cards) so we can get some rest. The airline (after 8 hours of talking to multiple people non stop) finally got us rooms and booked on a flight the next day. In the end we landed in Orlando 43 hours late. I know EF is not in control of airlines but when the airline was not helping us EF should have been able to attempt a different airline or help with a solution. It's a traveling company and we paid them to book our flights, hotels and meals and we were the ones that had to plan our trip back home. And what is the point of having a 24 hr emergency line if they cant help with anything, the lady basically told us she was there to write down our issue so the day people could try and help, they didnt and they could have an answering machine that does that
    Marie20 / Adult traveler
    Groveland fl / Posted on August 01, 2019
  5. Wonderful experience

    It was a whirlwind, but it was great. We were able to see a lot in the 10 days. Our tour guide really loved his country and it showed. Our Coach Driver was as great a person as he was a driver. Every day was filled with enough to do, with just a little bit of down time to explore your own. I wish we had a little more time on our own, but then we wouldn't have seen as much as we did, either.
    Traveler1904578 / Adult traveler
    Osceola, WI / Posted on July 31, 2019
  6. Amazing and beautiful

    The sites were beautiful. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and represented their country well. There was enough variety for all the people on the tour to meet everyone's personal expectations, I believe. From cities, shopping and people. To the beauty of the outdoors and the scenery throughout the country.
    Well done
    hammerk / Adult traveler
    Wisconsin / Posted on July 31, 2019
  7. Ireland Trip

    My daughter who is 16 came home raving about the trip she took with kids & her art teacher from a school in Pennsylvania. She said people were so nice & it was so clean over in Ireland. She loved the tour guide who was so knowledgeable and not boring. She said she would love to go back there.
    tiggerdaisy / Parent
    Williamsport, Pennsylvania / Posted on July 30, 2019
  8. Great Itinerary

    I’ve traveled once before with EF as a chaperone on a different itinerary and I enjoyed this one so much more. The itinerary included admission to several attractions; the last tour I went on the attractions were optional and therefore travelers had to pay their own admission if they chose to go.

    Our hotels were clean and neat. Our TD was exceptional.

    The only complaint our group had while on tour was about the food. We were served basically the same meal for dinner each evening. The quality was not poor, but it just got old eating essentially the same thing each day. Many travelers were raiding nearby convenience stores and restaurants after dinner each night and, frankly, they shouldn’t have to for as much as people pay to travel with EF.
    FLTeacher05 / Group leader
    Groveland, FL / Posted on July 23, 2019
  9. Emerald Isle- I want to go back!!

    I can not say enough good things about our recent EF trip to Ireland. We took a group of 13 upper school students. The trip was amazing. Our tour director was extremely knowledgeable about Irish history, culture, music, etc. He kept us engaged at all times. My students and I learned so much. We went to many towns and cities and they all brought alive different aspects of Ireland's past, present and future. The accommodations were comfortable and safe. Luckily, the weather cooperated and it was sunny and cool during most of our 9 days there. This enabled us to take in the beautiful countryside and views. Going back to our tour director, he was very organized, posted a daily schedule, kept us on time and on track with our visits and tours. He also had a great sense of humor, played Irish music on the bus, and was open and flexible when we needed certain accommodations for our students. Our bus driver was equally wonderful. Again, the trip of a lifetime made so much better by EF's organization and staff!!
    Charlotteteacher / Adult traveler
    Charlotte, NC / Posted on July 17, 2019
  10. Amazing

    This trip was Amazing!!! Our tour guide and bus driver were phenomenal! We couldn’t have had a better team to take us through all four provinces of Ireland. They shared with us so much more than we would have been able to get otherwise. The scenery was magnificent and hope to return to Ireland someday!!
    / Adult traveler
    Putnam, IL / Posted on July 03, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?