Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
44 reviewed Iceland: Glaciers and Geysers
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Fabulous Experience

    When my son originally told me he wanted to attend this trip to Iceland, I was very hesitant due to the higher cost than the other trips offered by his school. Now that he is home and I am looking at pictures and hearing his experience, it was worth every penny. There was no where else in the world like Iceland, and we could not have given him many of the experiences if we went as a family.
    HSworldtraveler / Student traveler
    Mooresville, NC / Posted on April 08, 2018
  2. Trip of a lifetime

    My students and I had the most amazing time in Iceland. We were greeted by our Tour Director as if we were old friends. Despite flight delays, he had everything taken care of for us when we arrived. Each day we were in awe of the beauty the country offered and the knowledge that our TD shared with us. Even our bus driver was a fantastic companion to have along with us. They had us learning to pronounce challenging Icelandic names! This trip was the perfect mix of time exploring nature in the countryside and time in the city exploring Reykjavik, and we never spent too much time just sitting on the bus. The glacier hike was a MUST for an add on. This was a favorite of many! It was a remarkable experience to watch my students grow and learn outside of the classroom.
    / Group leader
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on August 03, 2017
  3. Absolutely amazing!

    I was absolutely amazing with how well EF tours handled everything! My tour group had a few hiccups with our flights being canceled TWO DAYS in a row. However, EF was very cooperative with our group leaders and helped us get to our final destination! Although our trip ended up being a few days shorter than expected, EF did a GREAT job accommodating us. They rescheduled the stuff we missed to fit into my groups shorter trip, even though other groups we did the tour with had already done them (we separated from the other group; they didn't have to do the same stuff over again), and we still got refunded for the days we missed! Our tour guide was so kind and energetic, he even waited up until 2 AM for our arrival! EF was also very accommodating for my dietary needs (I am vegetarian), preparing a separate meal for my restrictions. I had a wonderful time and was amazed with not only the places we went and things we did, but also the way EF really cared about my group and our experience abroad.
    VeryHappyCustomer / Student traveler
    Cary, North Carolina / Posted on July 30, 2017
  4. Fire and ice! A land of wonder and magic.

    I would highly recommend this tour to everyone. Iceland is the safest country in the world, and it has one of the most breathtaking examples of an active volcanic topography. The people are charming, speak perfect English, and welcome all who come to partake in their culture. Our guide was an expert in culture, history, geography, topography, and cuisine. He went above and beyond to make sure we had the very best experience. I highly, highly recommend that you visit Iceland. PS: be sure to try their food: it is delicious.
    czechfan / Group leader
    Fort Mill, SC / Posted on June 15, 2017
  5. Volcanoes, Lava Fields, Glaciers!

    This trip was phenomenal. The views, landscape, the activities and events, as well as the people and learning opportunities were everything and more that I believed we’d witness. The country is safe and easy to negotiate. We experienced such learning events on the landforms, the history of how this land has developed and the explanations given of the country’s progression into what it has become. The geothermal activity and the fact that the entire country utilizes 100% renewable energy made an impact on my students. The views were picture perfect. It was nearly impossible to take a bad picture. We experienced once in a lifetime endeavors such as the glacier walk, visiting breathtaking waterfalls and actually walking around and behind it, the bubbling, hot steam vents and geysers. I would completely recommend this tour for anyone interested in traveling to a land with all of these opportunities and experiences.
    JanaJay / Group leader
    St. Louis, MO / Posted on July 22, 2018
  6. Fun adventure!

    Yet again another amazing adventure with EF! Iceland is incredible and I am happy to see EF added more tours and added a day to the one I went on. Just wish I could have taken advantage of these changes for my tour.....next time!
    Munzy / Group leader
    East Greenwich, RI / Posted on July 17, 2018
  7. Stunning trip, but don’t go with WOW Airlines

    Starting from the beginning of the trip we had problems with WOW airline. 25 of us got to the airport about 4 hours before our flight so we had time to eat and go through security, but to our surprise they wouldn’t let us check in for 2.5 hours, even after calling and explaining the situation to there airline. All 25 of us sat in the airport lobby for 2.5 hours before we could even check our bags or enter the actual airport. We also had to go back and forth with EF becuase neither a checked bag or carry on was included in the cost of the trip. Once we got to Iceland the trip was great. It was beautiful. The weather was rainy and chilly, but as long as you are dressed in waterproof layers you will be comfortable. I highly reccommend the glacier walk, it was a beautiful and a really cool thing you will not experience anywhere else and may not be able to see in 10 or so years becuase of global warming. Once are time in Iceland came to an end we again had a problem with the airline. Our guide dropped us off 9 hours early because our other group had an earlier flight. After taking with WOW again and trying to check in they wouldn’t let us. The 25 of us have to sit in the airport lobby with no food or anything for 5 hours before we can check in. We were asked to move multiple times by the airline and airport and no one would do anything to help us with our problem that was clearly inconviencing both us and the airport. Once we finally get in to the actual airport and start boarding the airline tells us we aren’t allowed a carry on, even though it was paid for on the way there. We had to go back and forth with the airline and EF before they finally let our students on the plane. Every time we interacted with WOW employees they were very rude to us and seemed as though they didn’t care at all about their patrons. Overall the trip was wonderful, but the transportation was awful and I would not recommend taking the trip if you get a WOW Airline flight. It left a poor impression of the trip becuase of how bad the airline experience was.
    Glacierhiker48 / Student traveler
    Scranton, PA / Posted on July 15, 2018
  8. Once in a lifetime

    I LOVED this trip everything about it was amazing except for a few things.

    1. The rooming situation was a mess for the kids every night. Not enough beds for each child, rooms so small you couldn’t move in them ect.
    2. The other school we met up with was a class of students who had already graduated. They were unruly and rude. I think the age of the children going should be paired up with other classes of the same age group.
    3. Food. First dinner there was a cold meal which after being up and running for almost 36 hours it would have been nice to have a nice hot meal. Also some of the food served was not the best for picky eaters. It would be nice to know the menu before hand that way you can plan to stop and get dinner elsewhere if there’s nothing you’d like to eat on the normal dinner menu.

    Other than those few things this trip was amazing.

    Also this trip had A LOT of walking, hiking, and physical activity which was fine for me however it really needs to be made clear that this IS NOT a nice relaxing vacation
    Iceland / Adult traveler
    PA / Posted on July 13, 2018
  9. Must see it to appreciate it

    The Iceland trip was truly awesome. I expected it to be a great trip from all of the descriptions from friends who've been there. But seeing it for myself exceeded all description and expectations. Iceland's exaggerated natural beauty is beyond what I'd expect on this planet.

    Our EF tour guide's knowledge and professionalism was great and ICING on the cake for this trip (sorry for the bad pun).
    LCVBill / Adult traveler
    Carlsbad, CA / Posted on July 01, 2018
  10. Can't Wait to Go Back

    What I love most about going on a tour with EF Tours is that it gives me a great overview so that I know what I want to do when I go back.

    Iceland was nothing short of amazing. Truly spectacular despite nearly nonstop rain. The one thing that saved us was having proper outerwear like rain pants. One tip is to check their weather prior to departure and remember to bring the rain jackets and pants!

    We saw so much and had such an incredible time.

    One tip I would give to future travelers to Iceland is don't bother getting the Iceland money. They take cards everywhere. Also, be sure your card has a Visa or MC logo on it. One girl in our group could not access any money and had to rely on others for some of her trip expenses.

    Iceland is a bucket list country to visit. EF did a great job of exposing us to the outside beauty as well as the culture.

    I can't wait to go back.
    Fashionating / Adult traveler
    Carlsbad, CA / Posted on July 01, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?