Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
130 reviewed Germany in Depth
5 stars
91
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
0
  1. Terrific Amazing Experience

    My son came home humbled and excited- he was full of stories and spoke highly of the tour guides and the locations he went to. Every step of the tour had importance to him! I couldn’t have asked for a better experience to give him. His love for history and culture was met every step of the tour! I’m just sad I couldn’t have experienced it with him!
    NikiRH / Parent
    Virginia Beach, Virginia / Posted on April 12, 2018
  2. Incredible journey

    The tour was incredibly fun and exceeded my expectations!! The tour was well planned and executed. The Tour path flowed well and showed just how amazing Germany can be. The free built into our schedule allowed us a greater opportunity to experience all that each town had to offered!! Our tour director was very insightful and provided a better understanding of the tour events!!
    Colorado2017 / Adult traveler
    Fort Morgan, CO / Posted on June 29, 2017
  3. Worse trip ever

    The scheduling was horrible. We spent too much time in Berlin and not enough in Munich and rothenburg. Too much time on the bus. Couldn’t use the bus restroom. Supposedly it was broken but I don’t think the driver wants to have it cleaned. The food was horrible. Only 2 meals were decent. The hotels we stayed at we very nice. One of the last hotels owned by a family for generations was great. The food was so good. I feel sorry for the students who have never been to Germany and would probably never have the opportunity to go again. They were short changed.
    RNBS / Adult traveler
    Magnolia, Texas. / Posted on July 15, 2019
  4. Germany

    I went as a chaperone for the first time. Our guide was wonderful but 50 people in a group is too much. Half of us couldn’t hear her most of the time and it left little room for questions. Also most of the hotels are modern and clean but completely out of the way. For people who didn’t know language it was hard to travel and explore on our own not knowing where to go and how to get to our hotel. Lastly the flights were scheduled too close together- we missed our connection on the way because we sat on the tarmac for 2 hours. Instead of a layover of 2 hours we had a layover of 7 hours and missed a whole day of excursion. Also on the way home we were dropped off with no time for security and almost missed our flight out. Then in the connection we almost missed that because of security checkpoints that took time. Our bags were lost.
    Alexia0321 / Adult traveler
    Washington, DC / Posted on July 15, 2019
  5. Trip of a Lifetime

    This trip was wonderful and I had the time of my life. From the dark and turbulent history of Berlin, amid castle ruins in Heidelberg, to the bicycles, wooden shoes and cheese of Amsterdam, everything was educational and enjoyable.
    Our tour director was energetic, knowledgeable and kind to all. Our drivers were skilled in tight places and could handle the stress of city driving. Our hotels were clean, comfortable and the staff was always friendly. Meals were a great taste of traditional and local cuisine. Over all, the time spent planning this trip was worth every minute. EF did a great job with all the details! Thank you for the great memories!
    2019 / Adult traveler
    New Washington Ohio / Posted on July 06, 2019
  6. Well below expectations

    On this trip I was expecting an in-depth tour of Berlin, but instead we just went to flea markets. Besides being a hotel that was a party hotel, it was across the street from an open pit that has parties and bands all night long.
    Schez2001 / Adult traveler
    Spartanburg SC / Posted on July 05, 2019
  7. Great Trip

    The trip itself was awesome! Great sites. However the hotel amenities lack a lot. No A/C. In this day and time there is no reason why hotels shouldn’t have A/C. The meals that were served, most of them were subpar. I get that it’s a $10 meal. We did have a few great meals. The way that the free time is structured, it’s not the ideal way to do it. When you are given 15 mins and have to decide do I run and get water, use the bathroom, get food, or take a picture, it makes for a hurried excursion. All in all it was way better than the last trip we did through EFTours. The last one was miserable.
    Schez2001 / Adult traveler
    Spartanburg SC / Posted on July 05, 2019
  8. A new perspective on childhood memories.

    Our tour was Germany In Depth 2018. I was last in West Germany in late 1980, as a small child. I treasure my memories of that time and fully expected to validate them with this trip. But this Germany is different and alike to the one of my memories.

    Our tour director did a great job of providing a whole different perspective to Germany. Berlin was a jarring clash of expectations versus reality. Beautiful monuments clashed with filthy streets and ugly graffiti. Dresden was a fairy tale of palaces and museums ... until one realized that all these old buildings had been 90%+ rebuilt since 1990. Munich was fantastic and the Park was a breath of fresh air. I HIGHLY recommend the bicycle tour.

    And I could go on. Overall, the experience was awesome. Detractions were the Tour Guide who got lost in her hometown and the monetization of the Germans still flagellating themselves over WW2. Would I return? Absolutely. But on a longer tour with a schedule, I could set for things people want to see. A half day at the Nazi Congress in Nuremburg is wasted when the customers would rather see downtown Nuremburg or more of Rothenburg.

    Anyway. If you CAN go on a tour, DO IT.
    / Adult traveler
    Caroline, VA / Posted on July 25, 2018
  9. fantastic traveler

    Traveling to Germany was a fantastic experience. Beautiful country and friendly people.
    Germany1234 / Adult traveler
    Chesterfield, MI / Posted on July 17, 2018
  10. Can I go back yet?

    Where do I even begin?! I was very nervous at first. Thinking, how am I going to manage students over seas when i’ve never been more than 1000 miles away from home! Well let’s just say, from the second we got off the plane in Germany, I immediately felt welcome and safe. Our tour director, Theresa, was absolutely amazing. She greeted us with a smile, enthusiasm, and confidence from minute one. I loved how everything was planned for us. I didn’t have to worry about booking hotels, transportation, dinners. It was worry free. I took a group of 9 students and parents and we joined 3 other groups from all over the US. I don’t know how they did it but they messed so well with each other. It was amazing how many friends you can make in a matter of just 9 days. Overall this was an amazing experience and I can’t stop thinking about it. I want to book another tour ASAP with EF :)
    DoryRVA / Group leader
    Richmond, Virginia / Posted on July 05, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?