Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
230 reviewed Germany and the Alps
5 stars
158
4 stars
49
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
3
  1. Another Amazing Tour !

    We have traveled on this tour many times before and each time we learn or see something new or different. I highly recommend this one for students of German and History, as well as people looking for a great central Europe experience. Everything was well planned. We look forward to our next experience!
    EuroTourTeacher / Adult traveler
    Cologne, New Jersey / Posted on July 20, 2017
  2. Awesome trip!

    Very well organized tour! As a parent on this trip it was truly amazing how much we were able to see and do in 11 days. We were on the go all the time...it was so much fun! I highly recommend any student and or parent to go on an EF trip. This was our first oversees trip and it couldn't have been any better. We loved all of the food we ate. Had fun seeing all of the sights and tours...really made us want to go back and spend more time at some of our favorite places/towns/attractions. Definitely worth every penny!
    AWMomOn1stTour / Adult traveler
    West Fargo, ND / Posted on July 04, 2017
  3. Life Changing Experience

    My 13 year old son just returned from this trip 3 days ago. It was organized by his 8th grade history teacher and all of the chaperones were teachers from his school. This made for a wonderful, safe experience. He has not stopped talking about the experience and he is not a big talker! This trip does spend a large amount of time on a bus but that did not seem to be an issue for he or his group. This was the first time he has traveled anywhere without us let alone overseas. He did great and said that they were so busy that he didn't have time to be homesick. His favorite part was the trip into the Alps which he considered life altering.
    campslow / Parent
    Olney, MD / Posted on April 17, 2017
  4. Eye Opening Experience!

    This trip was by far the best trip of my life. I got to experience different cultures the world has to offer, and along the way made new friends. Our tour guide was outstanding, knowledgeable, and respectable to everyone in our group. Everyone should make it their goal to travel outside of their comfort zone at least once in their life! Thank you EF Tours for this amazing experience I will never forget!
    Bman / Student traveler
    Tampa, Florida / Posted on March 29, 2017
  5. The best trip I've ever been on!

    Germany & the Alps are gorgeous regions and I learned so much on the trip. I really loved how the trip didn't focus on any metropolitain cities and really embraced and appreciated the true, cultural aspect that Germany and its neighboring countries have to offer. I cant stop thinking about the trip. It was the best experience of my life.
    / Student traveler
    Posted on March 03, 2017
  6. Wonderful trip!

    Countrysides were like eye candy. The Alps were amazing. I enjoyed hearing the history of each city. The castles/palaces were fun to visit. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable.
    A couple of the bus rides were over 4 hours, too long. The motel beds were ok except when we had to sleep on a hard couch. There were a couple times we got to bed late & had to rise too early.
    Food was great, shopping was fun, touring was exciting and full of exercise (steep climbs). Would love to go see everything again!
    Morgen / Adult traveler
    New Bern, NC / Posted on October 03, 2017
  7. Wonderful Trip!

    We were pleasantly surprised at how well organized the trip was and how efficient we moved 32 people from place to place. We loved that we were able to see so many different things and that the experiences were authentic. The hotels (local B and B's) were wonderful and the meals provided by the hotels delicious. We look forward to traveling with EF again!
    Cadee / Adult traveler
    New Bern, NC / Posted on October 03, 2017
  8. Germany & The Alps was AMAZING!!

    I can not say enough how perfect our trip was to Germany & The Alps! I am a first-time EF traveler and was overwhelmed how my tour director had anything worked out down to small reservations for better parking and even bags for breakfast if we departed early. As a first-time European traveler and EF traveler, I was a bit nervous about the safety and language barrier. Once I arrived all that went away. Our guide was fantastic, he stayed with us the entire time, always asking if everything was ok or if we needed anything. I also liked how the guide never leaves your group from when they pick you up at the airport to when they drop you off for departure. He even helped get us through the check-in process. All of our hotels were great as well as our excursions and other city guides.

    I will be doing another tour with EF in the future, and if you have not made a trip with EF, I highly recommend you do so!
    EFFirstTimer / Adult traveler
    New Bern, NC / Posted on October 03, 2017
  9. Just average

    After leading 3 tours before as the group leader and then traveling on this trip as a chaperone, there were both positives and negatives to this trip.

    Positives:
    +plenty of free time in Munich
    +Neuschwanstein Castle is a must!
    +the Alps and traveling to Mt. Pilatus was one of the best experiences
    +Dachau was a sobering experience that many of the kids connected to
    +hotels were close to the city center
    +meals were typical German-fare
    +do the Alpine slide if you get a chance at Mt. Pilatus
    +gorgeous landscapes!

    Negatives:
    +our group leader/teacher in charge did not know the itinerary in advance, so she provided little help to the kids when directing them during free time; this led to major behavior issues later on
    +our group leader did not set behavior expectations for the students before or during the trip which once again, led to major issues
    +in my opinion, EF should vet group leaders more carefully and not just let anyone take kids to foreign countries
    +our tour director seemed to really want to please us, but as the tour continued on, she seemed less willing to do so
    +too much travel time on the bus; some days we were on the bus for 6 hours or more with only one stop for an hour or so; less is more in my opinion as we were trying to see too many places and not delve into the culture
    +the itinerary did not help us feel connected to German culture; everything we did in Germany, we could have done in America; no music, dancing, etc. was shared with our group; if you plan on doing this trip, I would highly recommend adding extras BEFORE you get over there to make sure the kids connect to the culture.
    +the extension to Bonn and Cologne is NOT necessary; I would highly recommend using the money saved from the extension to pay for cultural additions
    +we only had 20 minutes to see Heidelberg Castle's wine barrel which was more of a touristy place; wish we could have seen the interior

    Overall the trip was average. The country is absolutely gorgeous, but I feel that the trip lacked a connection to the German people and what makes them unique. Also, check with EF on what places you actually go INSIDE versus just seeing the outside.
    traveler2017 / Adult traveler
    Austin, Texas / Posted on July 24, 2017
  10. Lovely Experience

    As the grandmother of one of the high school students I have to note that one should be ready to walk! We stayed busy every day of the tour. This being my first trip to northern Europe I find it hard to fully explain how amazed I was at the beauty, cleanliness and commitment to energy efficiency and independence of Germany. We traveled between cities past forests, efficiently organized farm fields and small villages. The EF tour made sure that we saw it all. The tour was above all very educational and I would jump at the chance to go on one again.
    Mardar / Adult traveler
    Hammonton, NJ / Posted on July 12, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?