Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
322 reviewed Charting the Galápagos Islands
5 stars
227
4 stars
67
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
3
  1. what an amazing journey

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who loves nature in its true form. The guides were amazing, the pace was great and the activities kept us busy while educating us about the islands and the culture.
    I am ready to go again.
    Statswiz54 / Adult traveler
    orange, virginia / Posted on August 01, 2018
  2. Best trip ever!!

    This was my 3rd time out of the country and truly didn’t think you could top the last trip. Never a dull moment on this trip as we snorkeled, hiked, we got to see the most amazing turtles, marine iguanas and sea lions. This trip left nothing out and the documentary on The Galápagos Islands didn’t do it justice. I would love to share this experience with my family!!
    Inthenickoftime / Adult traveler
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 15, 2018
  3. Experienced an unique part of the globe

    The Galapagos Islands were fascinating on so many levels: evolutionary, geographically, and historically. We had a well-planned tour with extremely knowledgeable guides who helped us experience all of its facets. We also had time in Quito and Otavalo which enabled us to experience the mainland Ecuadorian culture and stand on the equator. The hotels and and meal arrangements ranged from good to excellent (mostly excellent). Brave ones in the group sample cui (roast guinea pig).
    leep / Adult traveler
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 14, 2018
  4. Trip of a LIFETIME!

    This tour could not be beat... I could not have imagined a more well organized or impactful tour. My students and I were able to explore various ecosystems, snorkel with sea turtles and sea lions, climb to the top of a volcano, and truly embed ourselves in the culture of Ecuador. Our tour director was incredible, and my kids were in tears when he left us. Each student challenged themselves through out the experience, and I saw each of them leave as a more mature and thoughtful version of themselves. I was so impressed with the itinerary and would do the tour again in a heartbeat.
    APBio / Group leader
    Chicago, IL / Posted on April 04, 2018
  5. Once in a lifetime!

    This trip was AMAZING! Although it involved a lot of travel, it was relatively stress free and easy to do. The amount of wildlife students were able to interact with was unbelievable and truly a once a in a lifetime experience. We were literally snorkeling right next to sea lions and turtles. We were able to see 3 of the different Galapagos islands which gave students a great idea of differences amongst the islands. The students also enjoyed Quito and learning more about the indigenous community of Ecuador when we went shopping at Otavalo market.

    Overall, this trip was worth every penny. Getting to the islands can be very challenging to coordinate on your own, permits are required and there's a lot of behind the scenes work that EF and our guides did so that we were able to get to each place without concern.

    Ecuador is also very affordable! Students did not have to spend a lot of their own money on food. The islands are also really safe which was an added bonus.

    GO! Your students will thank you!
    LaProfeRubia / Group leader
    Chicago, IL / Posted on April 04, 2018
  6. Best Vacation I Have Ever Taken

    I have never wanted to stay in a country as much as I wanted to remain in Ecuador at the end of this tour. It was absolutely phenomenal, and I could not imagine a better trip. Our tour guide was fantastic, well-informed, and obviously loved his country and his job. Our time in Quito was short, but we still managed to see quite a lot; we even climbed these super steep stairs to the top of a church and got to look over the city, all the way to the mountains. A lot of us thought that would be the highlight of the entire trip until we reached the Galapagos. Once we saw the unique animal life and volcanic formations there, we quickly realized that we were wrong. I have never been to a more interesting environment in my life, and I might never go to one again. If you are considering going on this tour, I HIGHLY recommend it. I've been many places over the past few years, but I have never been anywhere remotely comparable to Ecuador and the Galapagos, and I honestly think that going there is an opportunity no one should pass up.
    bh1113 / Student traveler
    Tuckerton, NJ / Posted on November 14, 2017
  7. Once in a lifetime

    When else would you get the chance to stand at the equator, interact with giant tortoises, hike a volcano, and snorkel with sea lions! Students were awestruck watching the water drain different ways within a few feet of the equator. I couldn't believe how close we could get to the tortoises at Manzanilla Ranch! Sierra Negra caldera was a one-of-a-kind geology lesson. Standing where Darwin first landed and seeing the species he described was any biology enthusiasts dream. The capstone experience was at the Papallacta Hot Springs.
    We were so fortunate to team up with another school. The group from North Carolina welcomed us and made it so that the adults could rotate responsibilities. Our guide was knowledgeable about the economy, biology, and history and shared that information in a way that students really understood.
    EarthScience / Adult traveler
    Waverly, IA / Posted on October 31, 2017
  8. Amazing cultural and natural discoveries!

    This trip was overall an amazing experience. The food was very good, and I liked that we got to taste the traditional foods of the islands and Quito. It was also really nice because we had a small group composed of 3 schools, meaning we got to meet new people as well. Our tour guides were really good, and extremely knowledgeable, but also made the tour interesting. The only negative thing was the amount of traveling we had to do. I would have preferred that we go to less islands for longer periods of time or that the trip was just overall longer. However, aside from that, I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would recommend it.
    Sophia127 / Student traveler
    New York / Posted on July 22, 2017
  9. The trip of a lifetime

    This was an amazing trip. It exceeded everyone's expectations. We saw so much and learned more about the indigenous culture of Ecuador and the people and animals of the Galapagos. There is a lot of travel involved, we had 6 flights round trip and 3 2 hour boat rides. Whether you are 16 or 60 you need to be in fairly good physical shape , as this trip is more demanding. Climbing in and out of rocking boats, getting in and out of high trucks, snorkeling in coves, all require some agility. That being said it is worth it. The people are friendly and happy to talk to you. Our only suggestions are to have more time on San Cristobal and Santa Cruz. Also more variety in meals-a lot of tuna and chicken. Most students want to experience the local food and only had that opportunity on their own time. But overall this was a great experience !
    maestra22 / Group leader
    Newbury, Massachusetts / Posted on July 16, 2017
  10. Experience of a Lifetime!

    This trip was amazing! All of my students had so much fun and we saw all the wildlife we could have asked for! Our EF rep planned an extra excursion that ended the trip off perfectly with hot springs. Our local guide on the islands gave us so many opportunities to interact with wildlife. Way more than we thought we would have. Snorkeling was the absolute greatest! How many times in your life can you say you snorkeled with Sea Lions and Sea Turtles? Now everyone of my students and myself can say we have. My only recommendation would be to pack water shoes.
    TeacherTravels / Group leader
    Columbia, MO / Posted on July 07, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?