Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
341 reviewed Charting the Galápagos Islands
5 stars
241
4 stars
70
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
3
  1. Trip of a Lifetime - Life changing

    We saw so many things in 9 short days. Was I exhausted when I returned? Yes. Would I change one moment? No . I saw animals, lands, and people that you only read about in books. You will return from this specific excursion amazed in the animals and adventures. I totally did things out of my comfort zone and am glad I did so. I am a changed person because of what I did. The snorkeling, people, and islands are completely amazing. Get some rest, pack smart, and be ready for sights you can't imagine.
    Queenof3 / Adult traveler
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 04, 2019
  2. Great way to see Galapagos and Ecuador

    The tour was packed full of education, information and fun for students and parents alike. Tour of Quito on the first day was followed by several days of tours, snorkeling, hikes, and a bit of free time on the Galapagos Islands. The tour directors, both through EF and the Galapagos, were so friendly and enthusiastic, everyone became passionate about preserving the amazing and unique flora and fauna that we observed. We ended with more tours of the Ecuador highlands and shopping that we enjoyed immensely.
    8thGradeMom / Adult traveler
    St. Louis, Missouri / Posted on April 04, 2019
  3. what an amazing journey

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who loves nature in its true form. The guides were amazing, the pace was great and the activities kept us busy while educating us about the islands and the culture.
    I am ready to go again.
    Statswiz54 / Adult traveler
    orange, virginia / Posted on August 01, 2018
  4. Amazing Adventure

    We saw so much! The Galapagos trip reinforced all that we covered in science and allowed students to truly make real-world connections. The days were packed with adventures and kept the students engaged. We all loved the hiking and snorkeling. Our tour director and all of our guides were contagiously enthusiastic. This was a once in a lifetime experience for our students. They have all returned home richer for it.
    TerryTurtle / Group leader
    Worland, Wyoming / Posted on June 21, 2018
  5. Best trip ever!!

    This was my 3rd time out of the country and truly didn’t think you could top the last trip. Never a dull moment on this trip as we snorkeled, hiked, we got to see the most amazing turtles, marine iguanas and sea lions. This trip left nothing out and the documentary on The Galápagos Islands didn’t do it justice. I would love to share this experience with my family!!
    Inthenickoftime / Adult traveler
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 15, 2018
  6. Unique Experience

    Lots of opportunities for outdoor enthusiasts and nature lovers to learn about the Galapagos Islands and Ecuador. Once in a lifetime opportunity! Guides were very knowledgeable and genuinely interested in the history and ecology of Galapagos and everything about Ecuador. I will always remember swimming with the white-tipped reef sharks.
    N2ecology / Adult traveler
    Ballwin, MO / Posted on June 10, 2019
  7. Do not Go!

    Too long between connections.
    First restaurant in Galápagos gave everyone food poisoning. Entire group (60) lost about two days from being sick.
    Food overall wasn’t good. Government closed restaurant due to the rice bring contaminated.

    Our school (students) should be reimbursed for the time lost and suffering of severe food poisoning.
    SeniorHS19 / Student traveler
    NY / Posted on April 30, 2019
  8. difficult trip

    I was one of the chaperones. The bright shining star of this trip was our tour guide Lenin. He made the trip an experience. This tour cost a lot of $$$. We basically stayed in hotels that were negative stars. The hotels were dirty,dusty and small. In the Galapagos we stayed in hostals which were pretty bad too. This is a trip where you basically never stay in one place for more than one night. You do about 4 tours per day and are up at 6 and don't stop until 6-7pm at night. Everyone eats the same meal which is pretty much all the same, chicken,beef, rice and some kind of potato for every meal. There is alot of travelling in between islands which requires daily boat rides in a boat that is over capacity and you are basically feel like a sausage watching people throw up. I ended up getting very sick on the trip and ended up in the hospital and the guide took amazing care of me and was incredibly knowlegeable. The Galapagos was amazing and so was Equador. I would definitely go back but not on this trip. I feel like they charged a significant amount for what we received.
    jamie0829 / Adult traveler
    New York city, new york / Posted on April 30, 2019
  9. LOVED IT

    I loved it so much! It was so much fun. Our tour guide, Lorena, was so sweet and nice. Our group leaders were so satisfied with the tour because they believed it to be very disorganized. But it was pretty organized and even the parts that weren’t very put together just made the trip more fun. I enjoyed how a little less put together this was because it gave me time to explore more on my own and to be able to live more like a local would. I was very much fun. I loved it so much. And it was just a lot of fun.
    Ari17 / Student traveler
    Falmouth, MA / Posted on April 29, 2019
  10. Favorite EF tour

    I’ve been a group leader for EF for over 10 years and this was my favorite one yet. The itinerary was fabulous and I feel that my students got their money’s worth. Our tour director was very informative and professional. Hotels and restaurants were excellent.
    A few tips-there are a lot of boat transfers. It’s 2 hours between each island and the seas can be rough. We had a few pukers that were affected by sea sickness but Dramamine helped a lot. It was hot in the Galapagos in March, but the weather apps led us to believe it was mild. Pack accordingly. There were several snorkeling excursions. You can borrow equipment or bring your own. Altitude sickness in Quito was another minor problem. We had our students take Gingko ahead of time, and they also drank coca tea. We had a private tour and when I do this tour again, i would change the itinerary on our last day. Otavalo was nice but a long bus day. Something like horseback riding would have fit the pace and atmosphere of the tour better.
    SusiQ / Group leader
    Brownsburg, IN / Posted on April 06, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?