Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.6 out of 5)
350 reviewed Charting the Galápagos Islands
5 stars
248
4 stars
71
3 stars
13
2 stars
15
1 star
3
  1. Trip of a Lifetime - Life changing

    We saw so many things in 9 short days. Was I exhausted when I returned? Yes. Would I change one moment? No . I saw animals, lands, and people that you only read about in books. You will return from this specific excursion amazed in the animals and adventures. I totally did things out of my comfort zone and am glad I did so. I am a changed person because of what I did. The snorkeling, people, and islands are completely amazing. Get some rest, pack smart, and be ready for sights you can't imagine.
    Queenof3 / Adult traveler
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on April 04, 2019
  2. Great way to see Galapagos and Ecuador

    The tour was packed full of education, information and fun for students and parents alike. Tour of Quito on the first day was followed by several days of tours, snorkeling, hikes, and a bit of free time on the Galapagos Islands. The tour directors, both through EF and the Galapagos, were so friendly and enthusiastic, everyone became passionate about preserving the amazing and unique flora and fauna that we observed. We ended with more tours of the Ecuador highlands and shopping that we enjoyed immensely.
    8thGradeMom / Adult traveler
    St. Louis, Missouri / Posted on April 04, 2019
  3. what an amazing journey

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who loves nature in its true form. The guides were amazing, the pace was great and the activities kept us busy while educating us about the islands and the culture.
    I am ready to go again.
    Statswiz54 / Adult traveler
    orange, virginia / Posted on August 01, 2018
  4. Amazing Adventure

    We saw so much! The Galapagos trip reinforced all that we covered in science and allowed students to truly make real-world connections. The days were packed with adventures and kept the students engaged. We all loved the hiking and snorkeling. Our tour director and all of our guides were contagiously enthusiastic. This was a once in a lifetime experience for our students. They have all returned home richer for it.
    TerryTurtle / Group leader
    Worland, Wyoming / Posted on June 21, 2018
  5. Best trip ever!!

    This was my 3rd time out of the country and truly didn’t think you could top the last trip. Never a dull moment on this trip as we snorkeled, hiked, we got to see the most amazing turtles, marine iguanas and sea lions. This trip left nothing out and the documentary on The Galápagos Islands didn’t do it justice. I would love to share this experience with my family!!
    Inthenickoftime / Adult traveler
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 15, 2018
  6. A Beautiful Galapagos Trip

    The Galapagos Islands is an amazing place to visit. There are lots of beautiful landscapes and thrilling things to do. My tour guide was amazing and I met several other friendly people while I was there. I had an incredible time and there were so many new things to learn about the different culture. My favorite part was the people and the scenery.
    macncheese / Student traveler
    chesapeake, virginia / Posted on July 17, 2019
  7. Life changing on every level

    Our 13 yr. old came back very different...in good ways! Her appreciation for how amazing America is and her opportunities here; respect for our work and for her teachers; recognition of how diverse the earth - animals, plants & people - all have been so much improved. Being responsible for documents, money, packing for each day's activities and moves really gave us a new girl. She discovered she loves photography and she can make new friends (still in touch 5 weeks later!) quickly. The tour guides had hearts of teachers and were so willing to change things up with the leaders to get these kids exposed to so much more than was advertised. Absolutely felt safe and taken care of with just the right amount of exploratory freedom. We'd do it again in a second. Loved Ecuador so much, we are planning a family trip so she can show the rest of the family all the amazing places she got to see.
    MomOSteve / Adult traveler
    Vail, AZ / Posted on July 10, 2019
  8. awesome

    The experience was high energy and fantastic. The guides were fabulous. Everything but the food was top quality. The organization of the lunches and dinners was well done. We did have a choice of meat, fish or chicken. The main course was flat and overcooked. Always served with white rice and carrots and broccoli. I ended up ordering from the menu at the restaurant.
    tnkburdett / Adult traveler
    Alexandria Va / Posted on July 10, 2019
  9. Gorgeous Galapagos!

    A trip to the Galapagos has been on my bucket list for YEARS. My husband and I were planning to go last yr for our 20th anniversary but I found myself unable to travel that far without our children so I decided to wait. Then, a teacher organized a group tour though EF. The price for all 4 of us (although still very expensive) was not much more than the pricing we were finding for just two of us, so we decided to go and we were so glad we did. It is truly a once in a lifetime trip!
    What I loved most: The super fun and educational visit to the equator! The opportunity to walk around and learn about Quito. The old city is beautiful! The Galapagos Islands and their up close encounters with so many varieties of different land and marine animals was amazing. Last but not least, our guide (with us the entire time 24/7) was fantastic. He was so friendly and accommodating. He taught us so much about his culture. On the bus rides, instead of sitting back and relaxing, he would tell us about life in Ecuador answer all of our questions and play various games that helped us to learn a little Spanish! This was wonderful for both the students and adults in our group. I can't say enough good things about him. We all loved him - he was by far the best tour guide we've had on any of our travels. There were also two other guides assigned to us at the actual islands, they too, were wonderful!
    What I didn't love as much:
    The restaurants/food variety and options available could have been much better. The best (delicious) meal was provided at a stop to see the Giant Tortoises and lava caves at the beginning of the trip. The rest of the meals were mediocre at best with the worst meal being dinner on the final/departure day at the airport.
    Overall, because of the awesome guide and how well organized every detail of the trip was, I would definitely consider taking another EF Tour and would recommend EF to others as well.
    JA13325 / Adult traveler
    Germantown, Maryland / Posted on July 09, 2019
  10. What an eye opener!

    This trip was amazing, to say the least. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, funny, and super helpful! The tour guides on the islands were knowledgeable as well, and were eager to share their history and culture with us. Very friendly! Our students were very interested in learning from all of our guides and eager to try new experiences. Snorkeling was amazing, as we got to see all sorts of creatures I've only seen in pictures/movies. The weather turned out to be perfect the entire trip.

    I would highly recommend motion sickness medication for all visitors, as the boat rides were a little rough. Our guides and the people running the boats were very in tune to what we needed and were well prepared.

    I cannot wait to return to Ecuador and the islands. The market at Otavalo was an interesting experience, but one I wouldn't trade. It was cool to interact with locals and learn about their lives.

    Trying guinea pig (cuy) is a MUST. We split one between 8-10 of us and it was a highlight of my trip. All of our meals were DELICIOUS. I seriously don't believe we had one bad meal. Breakfasts were smaller than what we eat here, but I actually felt so good about the food I was eating and the amount of bottled water I was drinking.

    Thank you to our tour guides who made the trip the best of my lifetime so far! Our students have been talking about the trip nonstop since we returned. I can't wait to travel with EF again!
    klcoach09 / Adult traveler
    Delaware, OH / Posted on July 02, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?