Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.9 out of 5)
11 reviewed Culture and Service in the Dominican Republic
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Great variety, rich activities!

    My group thoroughly enjoyed the "Culture and Service in the Dominican Republic" tour. The variety of activities was great, so that each participant had something that they really could enjoy and connect with. We learned a lot about Dominican Culture, got a chance to connect with locals, and did meaningful service throughout the tour. The food was excellent and we were always well fed. Our Tour Director was experienced, professional, and an amazing resource. I would definitely recommend this trip to others who want to learn about a new culture, speak Spanish, and do meaningful service work to give back in a global context.
    SenoraK / Group leader
    Norwood, MA / Posted on April 22, 2019
  2. Amazing trip

    My daughter had the trip of a lifetime in the Dominican Republic. She said the tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The destinations were amazing. They visited a natural pool, farm, a non profit for women, and a couple other places. I would highly recommend this tour company.
    Jennmomma / Student traveler
    Valley Center, KS / Posted on June 17, 2018
  3. Great experience!

    This was an amazing trip. I was happier there than I think I've ever been before. The food is great, and so are the adventures! 10/10, 100% recommend.
    KathrynLS / Student traveler
    Abington, MA / Posted on April 26, 2019
  4. Everything I had hoped for!

    This experience was everything I had hoped for! I had been to the Dominican many times before but truly wanted to get a feel for the culture, learn more about the people, and experience the way of life.
    I had many highlights but one of the main ones was visiting the coffee farm, visiting with the community and learning from the people who lived there.
    A goal of mine was to also learn more about the schools so visiting the Dream project school and learning more about the programs was awesome. Being with the children was AWESOME! One day I would like to go back as a certified teacher and help mentor other teachers.
    I do wish we could have helped more people in the community rather than just work at the environmental center. I did enjoy learning about the opportunities that the center created for the children who were accepted into the program.

    I also liked the balance of fun activities that were in place as well as the service activities. Our Tour Director and driver were UNBELIEVABLE... We loved both of them and they made our trip so much more enjoyable ! They definitely added to the experience ! Actually everyone we came in contact with was great ! The Beach Comber was beautiful and N was a great Host... we just wished the rooms were a little more updated as we wished there was AC.
    Manchester / Adult traveler
    Manchester MD / Posted on July 09, 2017
  5. Wonderful Experience!

    The EF Tours is a great way to see different parts of the world. Our tour guide was very good with our tour. Through our tour, met many good people hard working people. Will travel anywhere with her. The food and places visited was wonderful! Please contact the tour guide and tell her again many Thanks! Job well done.!!!
    Abuela01 / Adult traveler
    Raeford, NC / Posted on July 03, 2017
  6. AMAZING!

    I was so fortunate to chaperone this trip! The students had such a wonderful time - the service projects were incredible and really gave our student s a chance to connect to different communities. The activities were outstanding. We felt safe the entire time. The only thing I would say is that it was a little unnerving to have enormous spiders in our last hotel...

    Other than that, it was a great experience!
    kar6 / Adult traveler
    Nashua, NH / Posted on February 26, 2017
  7. Must See It To Believe It

    If you are looking for a breath taking experience, look no further! Regardless of the trip you will take, regardless of the Ups and Down, just know that it always contains the ingredients for a great story! The experience in itself was absolutely amazing. To see and hear my student repeat my words and apply them to what they were doing, nearly me tear up. The students learned that everything that we take for granted here in the United States of America isn't readily accessible 24 hours a day in many developing countries. Once they experience their first power outage, I gathered everyone around the pool for a real-world discussion. Unprovoked they all went down to the lobby and thanked the staff for restoring the power. At that point, the trip began to do everything that I would envision as it relates to positively impacting the lives of my students.

    The food was great! If you have the opportunity, request that the ladies in Jarabacoa prepares Sancocho for one of your meals. If you shall happen to stay at the Gand Jeminoa in Jarabacoa...Be prepared for a breath taking view as you eat breakfast overlooking......(I don't want to ruin it for you...just get your cameras ready!)

    The service learning activities were powerful. My students received a hands on experience in conservation and sustainable activity. When the students linked up with the local children, you will be amazed how music can unite despite the language barriers. I will advise you to practice on you Volleyball Skill..."It's NOT A GAME" LOL.

    Fun activities for thrills and/relaxation
    swimming, snorkeling, horseback riding, white water rafting, surfing, hiking to a waterfall, and Making pottery!

    This trip was special to me, because I didn't receive any support from the staff at my school. They had it fixed in their minds that because of the demographics, our children wouldn't be able to afford the trip. Where there is a will there is a way. We had fundraisers throughout the entire process to help offset the cost. Recommendation, if you feel there is a true benefit to hosting this trip, you need to sell that passion to the parents. The rest will take care of itself!
    MrExcitment / Group leader
    Severna Park, Maryland / Posted on September 07, 2016
  8. The Best Time Of My Life..

    I had the best time accompanying my little sister on this trip.. I met new people; the tour guide and bus driver treated everyone like family.. I would go every year if I could.
    / Adult traveler
    Laurel, MD / Posted on July 01, 2016
  9. Unforgettable!

    I didn't want to go home! The variety of activities and blend of service, culture, and learning made this an incredible way to experience the Dominican Republic. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and he ensured that every part of the logistical process went smoothly so that everyone - including the adults - could have the best experience possible. The kids have described this trip as life-changing, and I wholeheartedly agree! They learned more on this trip in 1 week than they could learn in 10 weeks by staying in the classroom.
    LaRubia / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on April 10, 2016
  10. Extraordinary!

    I had high expectations for my first service tour with EF and it totally exceeded all of my hopes for myself and my students. From the moment we stepped off the plane, I felt comfortable under the tutelage of the skilled field directors. It is only after 4 days of being home that I can even talk about the experience without welling up with tears of joy and proud. The tour gave a unique opportunity for my students to grow both individually and in a larger sense as global citizens. A spark was ignited within them and I feel confident in the thought that this trip will have a large ripple effect that will continue for years to come.
    KMN16 / Adult traveler
    North Andover, MA / Posted on February 22, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?