Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 out of 5)
39 reviewed Experience Cuba: Culture and Community
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
  1. Eye-Opening Trip

    Cuba: Culture and Community is a very eye-opening tour for any American traveler. As you travel throughout Cuba, you visit community projects throughout the island nation. These projects show you the strong sense of culture and community in Cuba. As I traveled throughout the Cuba, this tour broke down many stereotypes the United States government had created about Cuba, socialism, and its people. I would recommend this tour to anyone. However, you need to travel soon because the nation is very rapidly changing and in order to experience the "real" Cuba, you need to go now.
    / Student traveler
    Baltimore, MD / Posted on April 17, 2017
  2. Best Trip Ever!

    Our trip to Cuba was absolutely amazing. Our tour guide and driver were phenomenal and really made us feel welcome (wish I could give their names, they deserve the praise!). I learned so many things about this wonderful country and its people. I definitely want to go back again sometime! There is something special about the island and people that will stay with you long after you leave. #siemprebailandoencuba
    OaklandHistoryTeacher / Adult traveler
    Oakland, CA / Posted on April 12, 2017
  3. Trip of a Lifetime

    This tour was truly an amazing experience. The opportunity to travel to Cuba at a time when relations between our two countries are changing was exciting, but what really made the trip was our fantastic tour directors. Both of them pushed our students to engage with locals, explained the history of the sites we went to, and made the overall experience educational in a fun and positive way.
    ProfesoraM / Adult traveler
    Columbus, OH / Posted on March 22, 2017
  4. Life changing

    Please go with an open mind. Lead with an open heart and show respect so you can relate to the people of Cuba. Kindness goes along way. They are warm and welcoming and filled with optimism. Consider your experience a vacation
    (luxury) and relish every moment. Do not forget that what you witness is their way of life and something they value. I miss the experience and look forward to returning.
    GabbyTx / Adult traveler
    Texas / Posted on March 20, 2017
  5. Beyond Expectations

    This tour was truly beyond any expectation I had before travelling. Each experience was more enriching than the last. Each group of people we met were more hospitable and welcoming than the last.
    Our tour guides were the best in presenting information and answering our questions.
    Thank you.
    CubaTF / Adult traveler
    Newburyport, MA / Posted on March 06, 2017
  6. Best week of my life

    This tour was the best experience of my life. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The route was well thought out and brought us to some very fun and exciting places.
    Noahzark / Student traveler
    Oakland, California / Posted on April 12, 2017
  7. Not what was expected

    The opportunity to travel to a country like Cuba is not one that I take for granted, and is one that I am immensely thankful for. However, if I were able to repeat it, I would not choose to travel with EF. I'm sure that it is mostly a part of the contract that EF has with the Cuban government, but they do not seem to have fought very heavily to provide an authentic cultural immersion experience. Every single place that we went, including "community projects" and restaurants were so incredibly fabricated and pre-planned to present an artificially positive message to us that it was sickening. Never did we spend a significant amount of time interacting with the Cuban people in a manner that wasn't highly controlled, and there was never a period where I felt that we were living in a manner that was consistent with actual Cubans. From every stop to all of the food, everything was extremely Americanized and in no way represented what real Cubans do/eat.
    Cuban / Student traveler
    Columbus, Ohio / Posted on April 03, 2017
  8. Educational alternate view of history,

    I felt safe during the travel. The tour was supported by a Cuban local appointed by the government that spoke good English and Spanish. The dining experience was excellent. The hotel accommodations were ok but need updating. We were exposed to local organizations and projects that really helped us understand the local life of Cubans of different age groups. We received information on the healthcare system, educational system, and public aid services. I felt welcomed by the public we encountered.
    wurldtravlur / Adult traveler
    Bettendorf, IA / Posted on March 22, 2017
  9. Incredible Opportunity!

    This was an amazing time to visit a country that is still so different from the USA. My students were surprised by everything that they saw and really enjoyed meeting and talking to Cubans. The tour director and the bus driver were great and full of information to share.
    LT19 / Adult traveler
    Natick, MA / Posted on February 28, 2017
  10. Absolutely Amazing

    My friends and I absolutely loved this trip! Many of us have traveled before but insist that Cuba has been our favorite destination so far. If you are looking to experience Cuban culture, this tour is what you want. We shopped at ample craft "fairs" where we practiced our Spanish while bargaining with sellers, and had too many Cuban dinners to count. Seriously, chicken, rice, and flan were available at almost every dinner. We stayed at 3 hotels, one all inclusive (on the beach) which was amazing! We even got to play a game of baseball with a Cuban team! But, the best part of the tour by far were the leaders of the tour! The EF rep, Cuban tour guide, and even bus driver were amazing people! Such helpful, funny, friendly, and all around good people. If we had any requests, they fulfilled them and we all truly became friends by the end of our tour. We all took pictures together, became friends on Facebook, and all three of them gave such heartwarming speeches to our group at the end of the tour. Overall AMAZING experience! The one suggestion I have is to bring extra clothes, toiletries, etc to leave behind in Cuba. Many of us wore old clothes and then left them behind for the Cuban maids before we left. We also met many people we wish we could've helped, had we had the supplies. Shoes, antiseptic, feminine products seemed the most needed, and we gave them what we could. I HIGHLY recommended going to Cuba with EF as it was a life-changing experience!
    Chicaaa / Student traveler
    Massachusetts / Posted on February 23, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?