Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
1755 reviewed Costa Rica: A Touch of the Tropics
5 stars
1364
4 stars
305
3 stars
54
2 stars
23
1 star
9
  1. Amazing experiences

    17 years ago I have the privilege to go on an EF tour to Costa Rica and it totally changed my life. It gave me a whole new perspective on life and what I had. I just returned home from my second EF tour to Costa Rica but this time I went as a parent. I was able to watch my 12 year old son have his life changed before my eyes. The trip went just about as flawless as it could get. EF really is a notch above any company when it comes to the experiences they give people. I am truly thankful to EF for what they have given myself and my son.
    BlessedTraveler / Adult traveler
    Lansing, Michigan / Posted on April 12, 2018
  2. Muy rico!

    We took a group of middle school students to Costa Rica on an EF tour. It was a wonderful trip and our students were engaged throughout our stay. There were daily educational and adventure-seeking opportunities for our students, as well as moments when they relaxed, played, and bonded with each other. Our EF Tour Director was extremely professional, experienced, personable and funny. He was attentive to our collective and individual needs and did an excellent job assessing when to keep our students occupied and when to give them (and the adults) downtime to relax and rest. His presentation and running commentary was infused with love and pride for his country, which is easy to understand since Costa Rica is such a beautiful country. I would definitely take another group on an EF Tour to Costa Rica and I would be willing to take EF Tour of other countries.
    Snacky / Adult traveler
    Baltimore, MD / Posted on April 08, 2018
  3. Action, Adventures, and Total Awesomeness

    Everyday was jam-packed with so many fun, educational, and interesting things to do. Snorkeling with yellow tangs, zip-lining over rain forest canopy, river boat ride spying exotic birds, crocodiles, and iguanas. My 13 year old son and I had a once in a lifetime experience. But some of my favorite memories will be the unprompted & unplanned things that occurred. A pick up game of soccer with school children, folk dancing, making empanadas with the locals . . .our memories of this trip will live on as will our wonderful and shared experience and deeper understanding of this beautiful country.
    kmanny / Adult traveler
    Albuquerque, NM / Posted on April 03, 2018
  4. Awesome Adventure

    I went with a few friends and I had the time of my life! We went horseback riding, zip-lining, hiking, kayaking, swimming, on a crocodile boat tour, we went on rain forest tours and hiked up a volcano! I was able to interact with the locals and learn a new way of life, a pura vida life! I drank some awesome coffee and ate foods i would have never eaten if not for the trip. I saw a huge variety of wildlife that is indigenous only in Costa Rica's insanely diverse ecosystems! Overall, it was one of the best trips I ever took and look forward to taking another tour with EF!
    katie31601 / Student traveler
    Stony Point, New York / Posted on February 25, 2018
  5. Trip of a life time

    This was my first time on a plane and out of the country. It was one I will never forget and I continue to tell every person I meet. Our tour guide was amazing! The hot water spring was amazing. The waterfalls and beaches are so beautiful. This trip also includes zip-lining(another first for me) it was incredible. I was definitely nervous but this whole trip was not a regret! I would love to go on it again!
    Collins1234 / Student traveler
    Bay city, Michigan / Posted on January 31, 2018
  6. Pura Vida!

    This was an excellent tour filled with adventures, activities and lots of education about a wonderful country! The sights, sounds and beauty of Costa Rica is something that everyone should experience if they can.

    EF Tours made the tour so simple! Make your reservation, get your passport, and GO! Super easy and no worries about anything except getting up in the morning to get started!

    I would recommend this tour to anyone!
    kansasyarn / Adult traveler
    Robinson, Kansas / Posted on August 04, 2017
  7. Nine Days in Paradise!

    I loved being busy the entire time we were on tour. All of the different natural excursions and cultural experiences helped shape my appreciation of the country. Our tour guide was quite personable and so informative and was always able to answer our questions...even the ones we didn't ask. The driver was quite impressive with his amazing bus handling skills! Awesome trip!!! Pura Vida!!!
    crazycoffeelady / Adult traveler
    Pekin IL / Posted on July 30, 2017
  8. Real Costa Rican life

    This trip was amazing! My entire family went on this trip, and we mad lifetime memories! Costa Rica is a beautiful country, and has more to offer than beach/surf/fish tourism, which is what this country is known best for in my circle of friends! We experienced the true Pura Vida life, the people are welcoming and the country is beautiful. This trip includes everything from above sea level, visiting volcano, rain forest and hiking trails to beach, rivers and city life. I had a friend who toured Costa Rica the week after we visited, and our stories we shared are not the same! We experienced everything on this tour and learned so much how the Costa Ricans live!
    reg98 / Adult traveler
    Atlantic Beach, FL / Posted on July 30, 2017
  9. Pura Vida

    Costa Ricans live by the phrase "Pura Vida," which means pure life! That definitely fits the 10 days we spent with EF in Costa Rica recently Those 10 days were packed full of life!

    We kayaked, hiked through rain forests and cloud forests, soaked in pools heated by a volcano, zip lined, rode horses through the mountain side, soared high in an aeriel tram, swam in the ocean, and white water rafted. Every day was full of activity as we absorbed the beauty and culture of the country.

    We saw plants and animals you only read about in books here in the United States. We experienced out of this world fresh fruit and tried new foods. We tired our hand at communicating in a language mostly unfamiliar to us.

    We stretched ourselves in many ways and came home with a new understanding of ourselves. Pura Vida is the best way to describe the experience!
    BBob / Group leader
    Everest, Kansas / Posted on July 29, 2017
  10. Wonderful experience!

    This experience was so wonderful and I would recommend anyone who can to go. Costa Rica is such a beautiful place with so much nature unlike back at home for me. All the green around me made it really beautiful to just see and there are many fun things to do from zip lining, white water rafting, and kayaking! It is truly a beautiful place to visit and many people speak English in order to communicate with tourist which make it more accessible for people who do not speak Spanish. I would absolutely go again!
    Student12345 / Student traveler
    San Fernando, CA / Posted on July 27, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?