Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.7 out of 5)
1882 reviewed Costa Rica: A Touch of the Tropics
5 stars
1475
4 stars
318
3 stars
56
2 stars
22
1 star
11
  1. Amazing Experience - So glad I went!

    My trip to Costa Rica was amazing and I made so many memories I will never forget! I learned a lot about the culture, environment, and philosophy of the country. I had so many fun adventures like ziplining, hiking to a waterfall, kayaking, and dancing. I would highly recommend this trip and would go again in a heartbeat!
    teenadventurer / Student traveler
    Chico, CA / Posted on April 18, 2019
  2. Wonderful Trip

    The guide and bus driver were excellent!
    Everything was arranged and timed very well.
    The variety of activities were great and kept the trip interesting.
    There was a nice mix of cultural and biological activities and active sports (kayaking, zip line).
    Well worth the cost.
    Fisher / Adult traveler
    Kent, Ohio / Posted on April 04, 2019
  3. A Trip of a Lifetime!

    I am so excited to give a raving review of my EF Costa Rica Tour. I can honestly say it exceeded my expectations. I have traveled in a variety of ways, independently, with groups, school trips, and family vacations. This particular tour made me a believer in going on the guided tour track, and especially with EF. Our guide provided the best of the best of educational tours. Providing us not only incredible and interesting information, but also provided entertainment, exercise and recreation! I feel I got to see, feel and taste all of Costa Rica's best. On our tour we dried coffee beans, ground and ate exotic cocoa creations, kayaked in lakes, hiked and swam in waterfalls, soaked in vernal pools, salsa danced with locals, wondered through cloud and rainforests, cooled off in the pacific ocean, and ate fresh local food every day. We saw sloths, monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, butterflies, crocodiles, parrots, iguanas, and more! The temperature was absolutely delightful in March. It rained some in the mountains and rainforests, which was actually really pleasant and apparently very welcome to the locals. Our accommodations were always pleasant, comfortable and welcoming. I was happily surprised we could actually drink water from the tap wherever we went. Every meal included fresh fruit, salad, rice and beans, some kind of protein and freshly made juice of locally grown tropical fruit. Our tour guide and bus driver were an amazing team and clearly top notch in their field. Our guide made us feel so welcome, and truly heart and soul into our experience. I can't wait to do another trip, especially to Costa Rica.
    NorCalGal / Adult traveler
    Chico, Ca. / Posted on March 28, 2019
  4. Life Changing!

    This was an amazing experience that my daughter and I were lucky enough to do together. The beauty of this country is breathtaking, literally, at times. The waterfall tour was well worth the hike up and down. The hot springs was beautiful and revitalizing. The lake kayaking was so much fun! The ziplining was so much fun and we felt so safe doing it! Lastly, our group was cohesive and made the trip even better. However, the EF Tour director was so knowledgeable, kind and most important fun! You will not be disappointed if you go on this trip :)
    Milamber / Adult traveler
    Phoenix, AZ / Posted on March 26, 2019
  5. Would do it all over again...multiple times!

    This trip was the experience of a lifetime for me and my students. Our tour guide was a natural science teacher so he had a ton of personal knowledge to share about the geography, culture, flora, and fauna of the country. This really added to the experience. The excursions were well-thought and well-planned. This is a VERY active trip and somewhat physically strenuous at times. Bring good sturdy shoes and clothes for rain, wind, hot, and cold weather. I wished I brought jeans for the wind in Monteverde and leggings for the ziplining! My group and I loved this tour so much, I want to do it again in two years.
    chanclasviejas / Group leader
    Lawrenceville, GA / Posted on August 24, 2018
  6. Wonderful!!

    We had the most awesome tour guide and bus driver. They made sure we had the best experience you could ever have. The tour guides knowledge and love of Costa Rica came out in everything he had planned for us. There was never a dull moment and our bus driver got us there safely to everything. I would definitely recommenced this trip.
    Phylene / Adult traveler
    Colorado / Posted on June 12, 2019
  7. great trip

    Our guide was fantastic! He was a great ambassador for Costa Rica. He was very energetic, knowledgeable, and kind.
    eyedocgal / Adult traveler
    Weldona, CO / Posted on June 12, 2019
  8. Absolutely perfect!!

    Thank you to EF for providing me with the adventure of a life time! Costa Rica was amazing, and our tour director made the tour one hundred percent worry free so we could focus on enjoying the trip. Highly educational, but also plenty of fun bonding activities just for the heck of it! If you are considering going to Costa Rica with EF, do not hesitate! Pura vida!!
    / Student traveler
    Peoria AZ / Posted on June 11, 2019
  9. Experience of a lifetime

    The Costa Rica trip was everything we had imagined and more. We had the best tour guide and the best bus driver. Our guide provided us with in depth information about each location. She treated us like her own family. Her positive attitude and genuine love for her country drew us into her world and culture. I honestly was heartbroken to leave. The places we visited were breathtakingly beautiful. The people so friendly. The food delicious and it went by too fast. Going with both of my daughters made it extra special to be able to experience this together. We would go back in a heartbeat.
    Mom2019 / Adult traveler
    Rio Rancho, NM / Posted on June 11, 2019
  10. Above and Beyond Expectations

    This tour was so much fun, and the students really got a lot out of it. Excellent value - we packed a lot into each day. The tour director was so knowledgeable and capable. This could not have been any better! I expected to enjoy it, but it was so much better than I could have imagined. I not only loved learning about the natural beauty, but I also fell in love with the Costa Rican people and culture.
    / Group leader
    Queen Creek, Arizona / Posted on June 10, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?