Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
44 reviewed Costa Rica and Nicaragua
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
  1. Great experience!!

    I have only good things to say about my family's experience on this tour. Our tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and had a great approach with the students and the adults. Our bus was beyond comfortable, and our bus driver was very good and safe. Accommodations were excellent. Our tour guide partnered very well with the teachers. Overall it was an amazing experience. I will definitely do another EF tour
    TicaMom67 / Adult traveler
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on August 01, 2017
  2. What an amazing experience

    This was my first time traveling out of the country for any length of time (not staying at a resort), and I couldn't be happier with the experience! Our tour guide was amazing, she kept the trip fun and informative, I learned a great deal from her. She always had a "Plan B" in case one of the excursions didn't work out. We had scheduled stops at various grocery stores where the kids (and adults) were able to get snacks and drinks, which was an experience as well. I really enjoyed being immersed in the culture, trying new foods and learning about the history of Nicaragua and Costa Rica. The excursions were amazing, especially hiking Mombacho and visiting El Rincon de la Veja. The coffee tour and chocolate tour were very interesting and fun! The zip lining, kayaking and snorkeling trips were amazing as well. I enjoyed every aspect of the trip. The itinerary was perfect, the timing of each activity was exactly where is should've been. We are considering taking another trip to the area in 2 years, especially if we can have the same tour guide!
    JWB123 / Adult traveler
    Milwaukee, WI / Posted on July 27, 2017
  3. Awesome!!

    I really enjoyed this tour. The activities were amazing. It was an unforgettable experience and our tour guide was absolutely fantastic. He was knowledgeable and very kind. This was the best trip I've ever been on and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
    Bethany123 / Student traveler
    Tyler, Texas / Posted on July 15, 2017
  4. Amazing Experience!

    From the time we touched down in Costa Rica, to the time we departed Nicaragua, the experience was amazing! Each and every experience was worthwhile. Our students cannot say enough great things since their return home! Pura Vida!
    / Adult traveler
    Pittsburgh, PA / Posted on July 13, 2017
  5. New experience

    This trip was my first time out of country. My tour director was very fun and outgoing. However some of the tours or trips we went on were quite short. We would go on a hike and then have to turn around and go back. We ended up being at the grocery store longer than some adventures. In our trip the meals were all included. Which was nice to not have to carry that extra money. However most of the time you get what you get and can't change your order. So for a picky person in your group it can be challenging. Also, the meals in Nicaragua were very skimpy, and being Type 1 Diabetic, I had to go to store for more food, daily.
    Soccerkid / Student traveler
    Racine, Wi / Posted on July 20, 2017
  6. Life changing

    Our tour director was amazing extremely knowledgeable! The trip was wonderful overall. We appreciated that we started in Nicaragua and went in the direction in which we did if we would have started in panama none of us would have survived the poverty in Nicaragua. Nicaragua was extremely eye opening for me and I am thankful that the vacation I thought would just be fun in the sun opened my eyes to so much that is happening outside of the United States. Tio Antonios Cafe we had lunch at twice in Nicaragua was such a beautiful story and I loved every minute of that! The bus maintenance was terrible bathroom smelled and the bus broke down we were stuck on the side of the road for almost 2 hours. The one day when we had lunch with natives in Panama we didn't know we were hiking especially in the area and conditions that we did people we not dressed appropriately because they didn't know and fell. Every activity we did was gorgeous and a ton of fun! I wish we could have had a few options for food because I don't eat fish and fish nights people like me were kind of out of luck but we went to the store and bought snacks so all was well. Some of the days the bus travel times were a bit excessive and the amount of free time in Panama was a bit excessive but However overall the experience was amazing and I would travel with ef every year if I could. Made some great friends and some even better memories!
    AJP7 / Student traveler
    Dunkirk, NY / Posted on July 16, 2017
  7. Tour guide gone wrong

    Although I loved seeing everything Costa Rica and Nicaragua had to offer, I was severly disappointed with our tour guide. My group leader and my group were so fantastic but our tour guide, was very rude and was kind of(really) inappropriate throughout the trip. He was definitely a down side to our trip and I hated that he was bringing us down and not lifting us up on what was suppose to be the best trip ever! Not impressed.
    / Student traveler
    Grants Pass, Oregon / Posted on July 07, 2017
  8. Great time

    The tour was great. The experience changed my life, and the only complaint I had was food choice. Although enduring the culture first hand is important, more options would have been helpful. For example, some nights only fish was offered. That easily becomes difficult for someone that does not eat seafood. Otheriwise, it was a fun time and our tour guide was amazing. I will never forget the advice he gave our group, and the adventure he provided us with. One of the best people I've ever met.
    Cmadd / Student traveler
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania / Posted on July 01, 2017
  9. Awesome Experience!

    The experiences we had as a group in Costa Rica and Nicaragua were maximized with the efforts of our EF Tour Director and bus driver. Students were given an unforgettable experience that will stay with them forever. The places and people we came in contact with were amazingly entertaining and extremely kind. and left a lasting impression on our group. Pura Vida!
    Excellente158 / Group leader
    Norwalk, Ohio / Posted on July 01, 2017
  10. Overall great experience

    My students and I learned so much on this trip because of our great local tour director. There were many "touristy" activities packed into the time we had. However, as a Spanish teacher, I would have liked for my students to have met more of the local folks and to have spoken more Spanish. There were a few details that should have been taken care of ahead of time - like knowing to bring extra money for optional excursions. This was my first trip as a group leader, so I didn't know about that. Overall, it was a great experience, though!
    MeliSol / Group leader
    Lynchburg, VA / Posted on July 01, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?