Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
68 reviewed Costa Rica and Nicaragua
5 stars
50
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
  1. AMAZING TRIP!

    AMAZING EXPERIENCE! This trip was absolutely spectacular and far over exceeded my expectations. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and punctual which is extremely important on a trip like this that is filled with activities throughout each day. The food was great and the country was beautiful. Well worth the investment and will definitely be traveling with EF tours again!
    52877 / Student traveler
    Greeley, CO / Posted on June 28, 2018
  2. Trip of a lifetime

    I was able to join my son’s school trip and the memories we made will be cherished forever. We got to experience many things together like snorkeling in the ocean, kayaking, zip lining through the rain forest, and hiking through the forest to see things like waterfalls, sloths, toucans, tapirs, and iguanas. It was amazing to watch the pure joy in my son’s face as he got to experience these things and watch me be terrified, yet thrilled to be doing it too. I would do it again any day and look forward to joining my younger son when he gets to go too.
    Cherished / Adult traveler
    Indianola, IA / Posted on June 21, 2018
  3. Fantastic tour

    My son loved this tour. He was able to tour the Panama Canal and practice his Spanish with the locals. He enjoyed the occasions when they could tour on their own also. He absolutely loved Costa Rica, he loved snorkeling, the zipline excursion, kayaking, the chocolate plantation tour, the coffee plantation tour and the night hike. He loved the food and the hotels they stayed at. He came home with adventure stories and tons of pictures. He can’t wait to go back!
    Meliss / Student traveler
    Albuquerque, NM / Posted on June 15, 2018
  4. Costa Rica and Nicaragua

    Nicaragua was an eye-opening experience for my students who had never visited a third-world country before. The people there were welcoming, friendly and kind to us. Masaya Volcano was great. The students walked right up to the opening of the crater. The views of the crater lake at the Katrina overlook were lovely and as an added bonus we saw a group of capuchin monkeys up close in the trees in the old crater. Costa Rica was as beautiful as advertised and we especially enjoyed the zip-lining, kayaking, snorkeling, and volcano viewing. I wish I could name our tour guide because he was GREAT! He made the entire trip fun and accessible for all of us and he was very patient and funny. The only negative I could add would be the hotel in Guanacaste. Not the best layout for high school kids, but other than that the trip was very worthwhile.
    Ugagal / Group leader
    Hattiesburg, MS / Posted on March 20, 2018
  5. What an amazing experience

    This was my first time traveling out of the country for any length of time (not staying at a resort), and I couldn't be happier with the experience! Our tour guide was amazing, she kept the trip fun and informative, I learned a great deal from her. She always had a "Plan B" in case one of the excursions didn't work out. We had scheduled stops at various grocery stores where the kids (and adults) were able to get snacks and drinks, which was an experience as well. I really enjoyed being immersed in the culture, trying new foods and learning about the history of Nicaragua and Costa Rica. The excursions were amazing, especially hiking Mombacho and visiting El Rincon de la Veja. The coffee tour and chocolate tour were very interesting and fun! The zip lining, kayaking and snorkeling trips were amazing as well. I enjoyed every aspect of the trip. The itinerary was perfect, the timing of each activity was exactly where is should've been. We are considering taking another trip to the area in 2 years, especially if we can have the same tour guide!
    JWB123 / Adult traveler
    Milwaukee, WI / Posted on July 27, 2017
  6. Amazing Experience!

    From the time we touched down in Costa Rica, to the time we departed Nicaragua, the experience was amazing! Each and every experience was worthwhile. Our students cannot say enough great things since their return home! Pura Vida!
    / Adult traveler
    Pittsburgh, PA / Posted on July 13, 2017
  7. Perfect

    This was the best thing I've ever done. The hotels were amazing, the pools were fabulous. The friends I made from the other school we're absolutely amazing. I would go on this tour 100 more times. Everything about it was perfect. The kayaking was my favorite part. My friend and I flipped people in their kayaks and it was so funny. The coffee tour was a blast. The tour guide was amazing. He told a ghost story and it scared me. This trip was amazing.
    Vivyan / Student traveler
    Hinsdale NJ / Posted on April 22, 2017
  8. Awesome

    Great experience for my children! I would recommend anytime
    Travelmom2017 / Parent
    Posted on August 31, 2018
  9. Fantastic experience!!

    This was an exceptional tour!! Our Tour Director was outstanding(Edgar). He always went above and beyond to ensure that our students experienced the culture of Costa Rica. There were some issues that came up but nothing that did not deflect our experience. Please, go with the expectation of being immersed in the culture and the fact that this is a STUDENT tour! Some, of the hotels were not glamorous but they all had the essentials we needed. The only thing I would have liked to see more is wildlife. Maybe add a visit to wildlife rescue or sanctuary. I did see a walking Sloth Tour that I think the students would have liked. I think it would have been amazing for the students to be able to see/feed/interact with the wildlife of CR.
    EF did an amazing job making alternate arrangements since it was no longer safe to travel to Nicaragua. Panama City was a great alternate and recommend this trip
    TravelTeacher17 / Group leader
    Dallas, TX / Posted on July 31, 2018
  10. Awesome

    Great opportunity to experience the culture of another country.
    Carre / Student traveler
    Murfreesboro, TN / Posted on July 23, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?