Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
182 reviewed Costa Rica's Natural Wonders
5 stars
127
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
  1. Totally changed my life!

    This was my first EF tour and as like many, I did not know what to expect. I was blown away. I was introduced to so many people and to this day I still am in contact with. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and encouraged questions. This was a great experience and I am now enrolled into another EF tour to continue my knowledge on different cultures and view different parts of the world.
    Raquele / Student traveler
    Clyde, Ohio / Posted on January 09, 2018
  2. The Great Outdoors Redefined

    We had a biologist for a tour guide as we journeyed throughout Costa Rica. She was very informative and taught us about so many aspects of Costa Rica's nature as well as the culture of the people. We participated in zip lining, farm sustainability tours, snorkeling, horseback riding, a wildlife boat tour, a hike to a waterfall, a visit to a national park with volcanos, and a coffee plantation tour. Students came back with much more appreciation for nature and more willing hearts for conservation and recycling. My favorite part was a cultural exchange where we met a high school dance group and learned their dances. We also taught them some of our favorite dances. Working with EF was awesome, and I will definitely travel with them again.
    KYtoCR / Group leader
    Louisville, KY / Posted on July 06, 2017
  3. 12/10 Would do again!

    The Costa Rica tour was amazing! We did so many things to challenge and excite the students and push them to try and do new things. We saw volcanoes, went zip lining through the jungle, went horseback riding, danced with Costa Rican students, swam in the ocean, swam at the base of a beautiful waterfall, ate delicious food, saw a monkey war, drove though the beautiful cloud forest...

    Our tour guide and bus driver were amazing! They were funny, and inspiring, and informational. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. I want to go back!
    NeeSeeDee / Adult traveler
    Kaysville, UT / Posted on July 02, 2017
  4. Best experience of my life!!

    My trip to Costa Rica was so much fun! We did so many amazing activities and our tour guide made sure that we got the most out of each one. He knew and taught us so much about Costa Rica and was very proud that he grew up there. Also, he and the bus driver were very fun together! We did so many fun things such as zip lining, snorkeling, horseback riding, touring a coffee plantation, white water rafting, and many more! I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone and can't wait to go back in the future! Pura Vida!
    smallcar / Student traveler
    Northampton, Pennsylvania / Posted on July 01, 2017
  5. Unforgettable!

    This trip was wonderful! My students enjoyed every activity and there was something for everyone's different preferences. Our guide and driver were excellent! By the end of the week my students were using Spanish without even thinking about it. Our hotels were close to activities and students could explore the area. The hotels were also very nice. My students cried when they had to say good bye to our guide and leave. I am so glad I took them on this trip!
    SraK / Group leader
    Indianapolis, IN / Posted on June 20, 2017
  6. Pura Vida!

    This experience exceeded my expectations. As a student on tour said to me, "Life begins just outside your comfort zone". We were safe and challenged throughout the trip. Our guide was a uniquely qualified individual with seemingly endless surprises up her sleeve. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and wherever we went, our hosts and hostesses were attentive and generous. Our tour was in reverse of the typical itinerary, meaning we had some of the most anticipated elements early on, yet even an impromptu dance party on the bus felt like a once-in-a-lifetime event. Pura Vida!
    Armondito / Adult traveler
    Falmouth, Maine / Posted on April 23, 2017
  7. Better than we hoped!

    This trip proved to be an adventure of a lifetime for my student travelers - thanks to exciting activities like zip-lining and river rafting, and a Tour Guide who was THE BEST! He was not only extremely knowledgeable about the history and biodiversity of the land, but also humorous & fun to be around. The kids loved the extra activities that he arranged - interacting with kids at an elementary school and a cookout in a family member's backyard - complete with cooking lessons.
    RockSolid / Group leader
    Sweetwater, TX / Posted on July 31, 2018
  8. lovely time!

    I had an amazing tour experience. Our tour leader was on top of everything, committed to our experience and the excursions were well worth it! Did not get to white water raft because of the amount of rain, but I would say that would be the only downfall of my trip! The food was better than I expected. Had a buffet style meal for pretty much every meal. An many opportunities for snacks! This is my third tour-guided trip and I loved it!
    MUSCstudent / Student traveler
    Charleston, South Carolina / Posted on July 26, 2018
  9. Glad we went!

    Personal Highlights:
    1. Arenal Volcano - We were lucky! We got to see the volcano on the clearest day so we were able to see the top without any clouds. It is very beautiful. Our guide took us to the town of La Fortuna for a quick stop and seeing the volcano from there was amazing as well.
    1. Snorkeling- the experience was unforgettable. The beach was beautiful, and the local guides prepared the most delicious pineapple for everyone to snack on after the excursion.
    2. Rincon de la Vieja Park - hiking through the park was amazing. We got a lot of great pictures, and saw some amazing sulfur pools and even a waterfall.
    3. The Waterfall - get your mind right to climb back up the stairs. The waterfall was very beautiful and loud. The area was a bit crowded, but everyone was having a good time.

    Overall, my son and I enjoyed this tour. There was a lot to see and do and our tour guide tried to make the most of our time.

    We arrived late and our guide filled the time driving to the hotel telling us interesting things about Costa Rica and asking questions to get to know everyone. He was very good at remembering names.

    During our tour our schedule was jam packed in the beginning, but there was 1 or 2 days towards the end where we had one activity in the morning and then nothing in the evening; and our hotel was not close to anything to allow groups to explore on their own. That was disappointing.

    As far as the food is concerned, it was acceptable. There was never a meal that appeared that it was handled improperly or anything like that. My son and I did not experience any stomach issues while on this tour. We had one lunch after the river tour that I would say was the best meal we had the entire time. We were actually given a choice and it was not buffet style.

    Although it is not necessarily part of the tour, our guide made sure we had time to go and buy souvenirs.

    Our accommodations were basic. We stayed at 3 different hotels. Of the three hotels, two were clean and I felt comfortable sleeping there, one was not. Our last hotel was a brand that we recognized and it was near a pizza hut, we had pizza our last night in Costa Rica.

    If I could make a suggestion it would be to attempt to group different schools by age as much as possible. We were a group with middle school students paired with a much larger group from high school. There was zero interaction between the two groups of students and the older kids never seemed to want to allow the younger kids to be first at any activity, or meal.

    Also, it time allows guides should use discretion to allow people to pay for meals. Our guide was very concerned about us not paying additional money for meal, but I would have gladly paid out of pocket on tour to eat at McDonald's just once to not have to eat rice and beans for a night. There were occasions where we had time to stop.
    Lala3020 / Adult traveler
    Lawton, OK / Posted on July 15, 2018
  10. Changed my life

    First off i’d like to say that this tour has hanged my life forever. I’m just going to go over everything we did in minor detail. So first flew into a small airport in liberia. After we got there we toured the town and went to an authentic super market which had fresh juice and costa rican snacks. Then we drove to the hotel which was about an hour drive through mountainous views and we saw a gorgeous sunset. We made it to the hotel and had an amazing dinner of fresh fruit, talapia(fish), chicken, rice, and black beans.The next day we learned how to cook some snacks, tasted costa rican coffee, zip lines and went to hot springs. The hot springs were very relaxing after an adrenaline filled day. The next day we went on a long hike and saw boiling geysers and mud pits that surrounded a volcano. Later that day we went snorkeling and saw pufferfish and even a turtle! I even got to touch the pufferfish. The day after that we went to a chocolate tour were the chocolate tour guide, el chapo guapo, went into detail on how to make chocolate and showed us a hilarious dance to do while making the chocolate. After that we tried the chocolate with different things ranging from marshmallows to chili powder. After the chocolate tour we went to the waterfall which was absolutely gorgeous. It was so much fun to climb through the river with my friends and just look at the waterfall while sitting on the rocks. The next day we went on a boat tour were we saw sloths,birds, lizards, and monkeys. After the boat tour we went to a school which was fascinating to watch the kids dance and follow their passion. Then we had the night tour were we saw tons of animals. The next day we went to a giant souvenir shop and an oxcart factory and coffee plantation where we got to buy coffee . The next day we flew back. The night before the flight I went night swimming with all my friends. I cried on the last day because I was so sad to leave. I strongly recommend this tour.
    slothperson333 / Student traveler
    Pa / Posted on July 09, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?