Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.8 out of 5)
21 reviewed Language Immersion Through Costa Rica
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Simply amazing!

    We toured Costa Rica for 8 days as part of the Spanish language immersion. It is my favorite trip of my life thus far, and I would highly recommend to anyone. The places were visited were amazingly beautiful (hotel next to a volcano?!), and the guide became a friend and was absolutely wonderful.
    Kkenn / Adult traveler
    Newport News VA / Posted on July 27, 2017
  2. Wonderful Adventure

    This is the second time that I have taken students on the Costa Rican Language Immersion Tour and both times the trip has been immensely beneficial, educational and of course incredibly fun! I am particularly pleased with the hands-on experiential learning the students were given during the trip. I loved watching my shy students break out of their shell and speak, IN SPANISH, with the local townspeople. The amount of growth that occurred over the span of 7 days is impressive and only achievable in the immersive atmosphere of a language tour. I am already looking forward to my next language tour!
    Colibri / Group leader
    Stanwood, WA / Posted on July 10, 2017
  3. "Highlight of my 33 year career!"

    I've been looking forward to taking kids on a trip like this for almost a decade, and it was even better than I could have imagined. Seeing our kids interact with locals, engage in classes about eco-tourism, etc, and see wildlife that they had never seen before was so rewarding. One of my chaperones said that seeing the kids interact with Costa Rican students was the highlight of his 33 year career.
    / Group leader
    Houston, TX / Posted on June 27, 2017
  4. Unforgettable!

    The language lessons were great--fun activities that got the kids using targeted vocabulary, but not boring "classes". We all learned a lot, but the experiences were interesting and fun and really pushed the students to use their Spanish.

    Can't say enough about the tour director and language facilitator--they all were amazing!
    / Group leader
    Posted on June 12, 2017
  5. Exceeded my expectations

    This was an amazing experience for my students. They developed a greater confidence with their Spanish and had experiences that will shape their world view forever.
    skeptical / Group leader
    West Bend, WI / Posted on August 03, 2016
  6. Awesome experience!

    I really enjoyed eating with locals and learning lots more Spanish.
    Iguana17 / Student traveler
    Benton, PA / Posted on July 12, 2017
  7. Fun Experience

    It was a great experience overall. The hotels were not so great. Cold showers and the rooms were very small when you had to share with 3 other people. Loved the zip line, visited a sustainable farm, shopping for souvenirs, and getting to speak Spanish with the locals. Had a great time.
    WorldTravelers17 / Student traveler
    Everett, wa / Posted on July 10, 2017
  8. Costa Rica Spanish Class Adventure

    Overall my daughter had a good experience with her recent language trip to Costa Rica. She was introduced to fruits, vegetables, language, culture, various foods and animals that she would have never experienced otherwise. Our only disappoint is in the accommodations. This was a very expensive trip and we expected hot showers and clean and nice lodges, cabins, hotels, etc. Several were hot with no working fans, crowded rooms, bugs and cold showers. We expected they would see various terrain like a beach and do more outdoor activities like rock climbing and that did not happen. The trip was not as well rounded as the tour representative dictated it would be in our initial parent meeting which is very disappointing. Thank you.
    FUNDAY / Parent
    Maypearl, Texas / Posted on June 22, 2017
  9. Mixed feelings

    At first when the tour started, it was not at all what I expected. I did not know it was going to be mostly learning Spanish. I was upset because all I could think was if I wanted to learn Spanish this much I could do it for free at home. I began to just deal with it and about the 4th or 5th day I really began to love this trip. I met AMAZING people and gained friendships I know I will have for a lifetime. The activities my tour director had us doing were so in depth and I loved learning about the Culture and all the ways we're different here in America. Throughout the first couple days of the trip I could only look forward to going home, but as I began to fall in love with the people I made friendships with in Costa Rica I realized I had been so close minded in the beginning. When meeting Costa Rican students who were my age and seeing how hard they tried to learn English and how much they wanted to come to America, it put everything into perspective. If these students are listening to english songs and tv shows and making an effort to learn english why shouldn't I do the same with Spanish? It made me want to try harder to learn the language and culture of not only Costa Rica but other countries as well. Overall this was an amazing experience that I would go on again in a heartbeat.
    / Student traveler
    Austell, Georgia / Posted on June 22, 2017
  10. Great Educational Value

    This tour was incredibly well-designed and met the language learning needs of all my students and the adult travelers. Our Tour Director was awesome and had a wealth of cultural knowledge that he was able to share with the travelers. The fact that explanations and discussions were conducted mainly in Spanish was the most fulfilling as at the end of the tour, students who were apprehensive about speaking Spanish in public demonstrated a 100% turn around. Even when we were in-transit in Miami some students were asking for prices in Spanish by error. Great tour once again EF!
    BlossomVI / Group leader
    United States Virgin Islands / Posted on July 11, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?