Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.7 out of 5)
381 reviewed China: Beijing, Xi’an and Shanghai
5 stars
298
4 stars
73
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
  1. Once in a lifetime experience!

    I am so glad that I took my son on this trip with his school. It was amazing to learn about the Chinese culture firsthand while being there. Our tour guides were all awesome and I would recommend this once in a lifetime opportunity to anyone. How many people do you know that can say they have climbed the great wall, seen the Terracotta Army, and have seen the largest outdoor Buddha?
    StickyRice / Adult traveler
    Racine, WI / Posted on November 10, 2018
  2. Extraordinary China.

    Our Tour was to Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai and the trip was excellent. Very interesting and educational for both students and parents. In addition to visits to the three major cities we were able to visit a Middle school in Beijing and interact with the students and teachers at the school. Students were able to participate in a Calligraphy class, follow a very informative tea demonstration and participate in Tai Chi classes at an ancient temple. Highlights of the tour included visits to the Forbidden city, hiking and running on the Great Wall and a wonderful visit to Xi"an to see the Terra Cotta warriors. Our Tour Director was excellent and handled all the logistics very well. Hotels were very clean and comfortable and our entire group enjoyed the fresh and varied food. Shanghai was another highlight and the kids enjoyed seeing the extraordinary architecture and new technologies.
    JJ21 / Group leader
    Raleigh NC / Posted on August 25, 2018
  3. Fabulous Tour!

    This tour was awesome! It was all I expected and more!. From the Forbidden City to the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors and Hong Kong Island I could not ask for a better tour. The food was delicious and more than we could eat at every meal. Everyday presented us with another fabulous opportunity to experience and enjoy life in China. I would recommend this tour to everyone!
    GigiandPapa / Group leader
    Sebring, Florida / Posted on August 14, 2018
  4. It was a great trip.

    Our tour directors were superb, both in China and in Hong Kong. They were kind, accommodating and very knowledgeable about the country. It was a great experience for both students and adults on the tour. They made the trip a wonderful experience. The accommodations were good and accessible.
    Twinkle / Adult traveler
    New York, New York / Posted on July 09, 2018
  5. Where do I start!!

    I love trips w/EF...such a full trip! Not only do you visit the highlights but they take you off the beaten path. It’s always a safe trip w/so many adventures. This year after the tour we traveled to Shaoxing to visit my International Student. EF made all my travel arrangements which made my extension stress-free. I cannot say the best part because the entire trip was amazing!
    / Adult traveler
    Rockford, Illinois / Posted on July 01, 2018
  6. China 2019

    The EF tour was paired with a home stay for high school kids from our school in a city near Beijing so I had exposure to two different types of tourism. First of all, the local guides were fantastic. They were very knowledgable in local history and customs. I was disappointed in the amount of time dedicated to places where we could spend our money. Meeting places were usually in or right in front of favored souvenir/shopping sites. I will give credit that often the quality of the souvenir was a little better than what we might stumble upon on our own. After a week of visiting a non-tourist city and being taken to excellent dining locations, the dining choices on the EF tour were disappointing. I would compare it to eating at a safe restaurant were the food is serviceable but not memorable. Finally, if you don't like crowds, avoid China. Except for a pleasant walk along the Bund in Shanghai the crowds, especially in Beijing, were distracting. Having had an exceptional experience the week before the EF tour probably spoiled me but if this would be a very good first tour of China. The key is to engage the local guides. They make all the difference in the world. One last shout out to our local tour director who was a champ at getting us through the local airports without any hitches.
    MarcoPoloRandy / Adult traveler
    Bellefonte, PA / Posted on November 01, 2019
  7. Great Tour for Mandarin Students

    Me and my two sons, both of whom speak Mandarin, enjoyed this trip thoroughly. The guides were great and the experiences were really engaging. Never a dull moment and just enough freedom to make you feel like you're on vacation, but enough education that you learn a lot.
    BigL / Adult traveler
    Memphis, TN / Posted on September 30, 2019
  8. amazing experience

    I personally recommend traveling to everyone because it opens up your horizons and you get really great picture opportunities. China/Hong Kong was amazing. It got very tiring walking around, and the Great Wall was a big challenge, but it was definitely worth it. The hotels were nice, and I recommend going with EF. All you do is pay and they take care of the rest.
    yaytraveling / Student traveler
    Posted on July 28, 2019
  9. Outstanding adventure!

    The trip was extremely well organized. Every minute was planned with purpose. We had such great experiences and learning opportunities. We learned so much about daily life, culture, and marvelous historical sites.
    We felt safe and well taken care of throughout the week. So glad to have this opportunity.
    Bronchos / Adult traveler
    Lafayette, IN / Posted on July 19, 2019
  10. So Many Experiences

    I absolutely loved the trip. The locations were incredible, the guides were professional, the food was amazing, everything was great.
    JTSmith / Adult traveler
    La Mesa, CA / Posted on July 15, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?