Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
320 reviewed China: Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai
5 stars
254
4 stars
57
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
  1. The Adventure of A Lifetime

    Not many people can say they have been to the Great Wall, have seen the terra-cotta army, or have even been to China. This experience was life changing in so many aspects. Our tour guide was incredible, the hotels were nice, the food was amazing, and the sights were breathtaking. This tour has opened my eyes to how beautiful the world is. I am so lucky to have had this opportunity!
    leenbean / Student traveler
    Milford, PA / Posted on July 13, 2017
  2. So impressed with everything about the China trip!

    My daughter journeyed to Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai with her Chinese language teacher (who is a native of Taiwan) and classmates, and everything about the trip was so wonderful! The details were impeccably planned out in advance, so they maximized each day with non-stop experiences of the tasty food, historical sights, and local culture. Safety was always a top priority and the utmost care was taken to ensure that each student remained in the protection of the teachers and parent chaperones throughout the journey. I couldn't be more grateful to EF Tours for giving my daughter this amazing experience; she is already talking about how she can't wait to go on another EF Tours adventure next summer!
    HappyMom42 / Parent
    Kirkwood, MO / Posted on June 23, 2017
  3. Once in a lifetime experience.

    This tour of China was a life changing experience. Every student and chaperone on the trip were affected by this incredible cultural experience that was non-stop fun. The three cities of Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai all had a multitude of attraction and experiences that highlighted Chinese culture both past and present. Our tour guide John was 10+ in every aspect of the tour with his excellent timing of events, knowledge of Chinese history, and his incredible flexibility in dealing with over 40 high school students. Practicing tai chi on the Summer Palace grounds, walking the Great Wall, taking a rickshaw tour of the Hu tong neighborhood, dancing with classical styled Chinese dancers at the Temple of Heaven, practicing calligraphy with masters in Xi'an and riding bicycles on its ancient city walls, touring the site of the Terra Cotta warriors, and taking the night time river boat cruise of Shanghai were just some of the highlights with many more I could mention. Our accommodations and meals were excellent the entire tour.
    I would highly recommend this trip, not only for its great value price wise, but also for a cultural experience where you can smell, taste, see, touch, and experience China's long history.
    timeofmylife / Adult traveler
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA / Posted on May 06, 2016
  4. Ideal itinerary, learning opportunity for students

    This trip far exceeded my expectations in every way, both in the tour itinerary and in the quality of its staff.

    As an experienced traveler in China I was impressed by the tour itinerary; students see a great deal of all three cities in the little time that they have in the country. There is a good balance between major tourist highlights and more relaxed time for exploration at lunch and in the evening. I couldn't have arranged a better tour.

    Our tour director, tour guides, and EF tour coordinator all supported our trip with a friendly professionalism that made both my students and myself confident we were in good hands. Our local tour director in particular stood out for her adaptability to our group, excellent English proficiency, sense of humor, and calm responsiveness to every situation, including one challenging moment with a couple of our students.

    One additional benefit of this tour was the ample opportunity for students studying the Chinese language to use their learning in authentic situations, e.g. buying food and souvenirs, introducing themselves to local guides and service people, interacting with students at a Chinese high school, etc.

    Our group was very happy with this tour and I plan to organize another group for it in the future!
    SocalChineseteacher / Group leader
    Thousand Oaks, CA / Posted on April 06, 2016
  5. What an amazing experience!!

    From day one, EF Tours took care of us from the well organized trip to the nice hotels to the wonderful food to the amazing tour director Aaron! It was a wonderful experience and our safety was their number one priority! It was our first international experience and EF Tours took care of us all the way through! Our tour guide was knowledgeable in the history of China and also gave us advice on where to eat. He was also with us 24/7, so it made us feel even more secure. There was also an additional tour guide in each city that we went to in order to make sure that we got the most out of our experience and to give us the history of each attraction we went to. I can't say enough about our experience and how amazing it was! We will definitely travel with them again in the future!! Thank you EF Tours!!
    Davey / Adult traveler
    Gilbert, AZ / Posted on March 23, 2016
  6. Trip of a Lifetime!

    This was my first trip out of the country, and my first big trip with students. I could not have asked for a better experience! From the moment we stepped off the plane, we were immersed in all China had to offer. Our tour director made our experience even more amazing! Every waking moment of the day was dedicated to learning about and experiencing Chinese culture, history, food, and language. I was nervous about traveling so far from home, but EF calmed my nerves and gave me and my students the trip of a lifetime!
    FirstTimeTravelingTeacher / Adult traveler
    Oxford, Mississippi / Posted on March 20, 2016
  7. China and the rest of the world!

    The China trip was amazing, exhausting, interesting, and exciting. We learned so much about the Chinese culture. We visited some great places; however, we didn't have enough time at sone places. The tour guides were very professional and accommodating to everyone's needs. The flight over was long but fun and lots of food.
    Travelforone / Adult traveler
    Fort Washington, MD / Posted on September 09, 2017
  8. Good

    Programs are good and educational.
    The hotel in Beijing was horrible. The Tour Director was money oriented, and kept complaining he did not get enough budget from EF.
    Food was poor until the last in Shanghai.
    SXMD / Group leader
    CA / Posted on August 15, 2017
  9. Amazing Experience for students

    It's a very happy and worthy trip! Students used their learned language from classroom in real life conversation. They were very excited about this.
    China is an amazing country, fast pace, awesome people, both modern and ancient!
    The whole trip was comfortable in transportation (mainly flights from city to city) and hotels.
    Food and shopping sessions are exciting.
    Chuhan / Group leader
    Columbia, SC / Posted on August 06, 2017
  10. Once in a Lifetime Trip

    It was my first time ever being on an airplane and traveling to such a faraway country. The culture in China is so different and it felt like I entered a whole new world. From the food to the people and the sparkling city lights, everything was spectacular. Not only did we see the beautiful cities, we also got to experience everyday life there and how different their lives are compared to ours. The tour guides were so nice and were passionate about what they did. We learned so much from them as they also learned things from us. I made so many bonds with people from all over and I will never forget the memories I made with them.
    HBunny / Student traveler
    Moultrie, GA / Posted on July 28, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?