Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
361 reviewed China: Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai
5 stars
282
4 stars
69
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
  1. Extraordinary China.

    Our Tour was to Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai and the trip was excellent. Very interesting and educational for both students and parents. In addition to visits to the three major cities we were able to visit a Middle school in Beijing and interact with the students and teachers at the school. Students were able to participate in a Calligraphy class, follow a very informative tea demonstration and participate in Tai Chi classes at an ancient temple. Highlights of the tour included visits to the Forbidden city, hiking and running on the Great Wall and a wonderful visit to Xi"an to see the Terra Cotta warriors. Our Tour Director was excellent and handled all the logistics very well. Hotels were very clean and comfortable and our entire group enjoyed the fresh and varied food. Shanghai was another highlight and the kids enjoyed seeing the extraordinary architecture and new technologies.
    JJ21 / Group leader
    Raleigh NC / Posted on August 25, 2018
  2. Fabulous Tour!

    This tour was awesome! It was all I expected and more!. From the Forbidden City to the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors and Hong Kong Island I could not ask for a better tour. The food was delicious and more than we could eat at every meal. Everyday presented us with another fabulous opportunity to experience and enjoy life in China. I would recommend this tour to everyone!
    GigiandPapa / Group leader
    Sebring, Florida / Posted on August 14, 2018
  3. It was a great trip.

    Our tour directors were superb, both in China and in Hong Kong. They were kind, accommodating and very knowledgeable about the country. It was a great experience for both students and adults on the tour. They made the trip a wonderful experience. The accommodations were good and accessible.
    Twinkle / Adult traveler
    New York, New York / Posted on July 09, 2018
  4. Where do I start!!

    I love trips w/EF...such a full trip! Not only do you visit the highlights but they take you off the beaten path. It’s always a safe trip w/so many adventures. This year after the tour we traveled to Shaoxing to visit my International Student. EF made all my travel arrangements which made my extension stress-free. I cannot say the best part because the entire trip was amazing!
    / Adult traveler
    Rockford, Illinois / Posted on July 01, 2018
  5. Best Tour Ever!

    This was our fourth EF tour but our first one in Asia. Our group included teachers, students, parents, and younger siblings. EVERYONE loved this itinerary.

    1. The itinerary is jam packed with siteseeing AND cultural experiences. This was so different from any of the European tours we have participated in. For the first time, I know my students went home with experiences that connected them to people and not just places.

    2. Our Tour Director was phenomenal!!!! He was impeccably well planned, attentive, kind, and patient. We were grateful for his willingness to not just take us places but to help us learn more about Chinese culture and people.

    3. The food and accommodations were far beyond anything we were expecting based on previous trips. Hotels were spacious and very, very clean. All of our meals were delicious and offered a great deal of choice. When we had meals on our own, our Tour Director always made sure we were in a location with lots of options (local and western), provided fantastic recommendations, and helped people order if needed even though it was his lunch time, as well.

    If you truly want to enrich the life experiences and perspectives of your students or children, select this tour. You will not regret it!
    StickyRice2018 / Group leader
    Baltimore, Maryland / Posted on June 30, 2018
  6. Another land, another culture

    Prepare to be amazed by the sights, sounds, smells, and people. It is a culture unlike any in the world, or any I have experienced. The 3000 and more years of history presented by a communist government provide a unique experience for any traveler. The food was fantastic, with many options for travelers of many tastes. The goods and services were extremely affordable, and the tour guide was likeable and capable of handling any bumps in the road. The atmosphere was one of safety: security cameras were everywhere, which in itself was a novel experience for me. It is a place I'd recommend to anybody who doesn't mind walking, and I'd enthusiastically recommend to anyone who enjoys new experiences, especially foods.
    Americano43 / Student traveler
    Lake Charles, Louisiana / Posted on June 10, 2018
  7. Fun & Educational trip

    My 14 year old son absolutely loved his 10 day trip to China and said it was even better than he’d expected. I really feel he gained a cultural experience rather than just a vacation and hadn’t stopped talking about everything he saw & experienced there. He even claims to love Chinese food which was definitely not the case before he left! While I wasn’t sure before he left if it was going to be worth the money, I would now say that it definitely was.
    Alex99 / Student traveler
    New York / Posted on April 11, 2018
  8. The Adventure of A Lifetime

    Not many people can say they have been to the Great Wall, have seen the terra-cotta army, or have even been to China. This experience was life changing in so many aspects. Our tour guide was incredible, the hotels were nice, the food was amazing, and the sights were breathtaking. This tour has opened my eyes to how beautiful the world is. I am so lucky to have had this opportunity!
    leenbean / Student traveler
    Milford, PA / Posted on July 13, 2017
  9. So impressed with everything about the China trip!

    My daughter journeyed to Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai with her Chinese language teacher (who is a native of Taiwan) and classmates, and everything about the trip was so wonderful! The details were impeccably planned out in advance, so they maximized each day with non-stop experiences of the tasty food, historical sights, and local culture. Safety was always a top priority and the utmost care was taken to ensure that each student remained in the protection of the teachers and parent chaperones throughout the journey. I couldn't be more grateful to EF Tours for giving my daughter this amazing experience; she is already talking about how she can't wait to go on another EF Tours adventure next summer!
    HappyMom42 / Parent
    Kirkwood, MO / Posted on June 23, 2017
  10. Beyond my expectations

    This tour was one full day of exciting and fascinating experiences after another. It is remarkable how many events we fit in each day. Our tour guide was experienced and very professional. He had everything planned carefully. Our days ran smoothly and well with varied experiences. Some of our best events were ones that would be very difficult to arrange on our own. Dinner in a Beijing family's home, a Taichi lesson at the Summer Palace, an impromptu hackey sack lesson with locals, a visit with middle school students...These were some of the most delightful things we did and honestly, I wouldn't be able to plan these things myself. Our guide had many connections that allowed us to see not only the important historical sites in China, but to connect with some of the people of China today. This was truly an experience of a lifetime and it made me want to travel more!
    Gimomica / Adult traveler
    Goodyear, Arizona / Posted on June 11, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?