Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
94 reviewed Beijing and the Great Wall of China
5 stars
59
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Wonderful experience

    I had an amazing time in Beijing. We had a great tour director who made sure we were learning and having fun. I was exposed to both the landmarks and history of China and the modern-day culture. I was able to see the way the Chinese live firsthand when we had lunch with a local family. I learned the history of the Great Wall, Forbidden City, and other major landmarks. Free time was balanced nicely with guided time, so we could explore after being shown around. All in all, I had a great experience on this tour and can't wait for my next one.
    Unnamed / Student traveler
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico / Posted on July 14, 2017
  2. Extremely Amazing Experience!

    This was by far the best trip I've taken. The tour guide made everything extremely more enjoyable. He provided a lot of essential information about China and how to stay safe everywhere we went. He had an extremely positive attitude, which definitely helped when things weren't going so well, such as when it was raining. The food was delicious, and there were many different options of dishes. All the trips were very well planed out, and everything overall was very well organized, which just made everything more enjoyable.
    Food101 / Student traveler
    Chicago, Illinois / Posted on June 27, 2017
  3. Vivacious Experience!

    From meetig the tour guide and the bus driver, as well as the other groups that joined us and local people we met along our journey, I couldn't have asked for a better experience than what I'd faced in China. China came out to actually, exceed my expectations of what it actually is. Being in Beijing for 7 days, visiting many different local and tourist spots, I felt the positive vibes around us and I just can't say anything went wrong with this trip. I'd gladly go back to China again because the people are so nice and I've taken back home with me a better understanding of what I've learned in school and during the tour and actually seeing it face to face.
    / Student traveler
    Far Rockaway, New York / Posted on April 17, 2017
  4. Wonderful Adventure

    We just got back from our Beijing and the Great Wall adventure and it was just wonderful! It was such a pleasant surprise. The people were friendly. We felt so safe on the streets of Beijing. It was absolutely awesome! We had a jammed pack itinerary which was great! We utilized every minute on our trip! From meeting local students at a school and having dinner with a local Chinese family to a Kung Fu and Acrobat show! Don't forget the Forbidden City and of course the Great Wall! It was so exciting and just wonderful. Our hotel was comfortable and the food was good. We did master the use of chopsticks!
    I am a group leader and was a little nervous before leaving for China. I can only tell you that it was just great! It was so fun to experience China through the eyes of my students! You must experience this wonderful opportunity!
    Leader / Group leader
    Durham, NC / Posted on July 03, 2014
  5. Life-Changing

    My overall experience was extremely positive and I wish I never had to leave China. It was a fun and interesting learning experience that I wouldn’t give up for the world. If you are interested in the Chinese culture, art form, history, or language, this trip is a great choice for you.
    Esw1042 / Student traveler
    Posted on October 29, 2017
  6. Good Value/experience

    This was my first student tour, but not the first time to China. I went with the expectation that students would be immersed in culture and history. #1 I am torn because many things were highlighted and many experinces were made availalbe. However, a lot of commercialism was also presented to the students. Examples: Tea Ceremony, Pearl Factory and Silk Factory were all meant to give a small look at what is part of Chinese culture, but it was pretty clear that these were opportunities for Chinese businesses to make a lot of money selling to students. I would have preferred that the students visit these various factories with out the high pitch sales afterwards. (After spending very little time in the factory, we were led to the showrooms.) The best value of the trip for me, was a visit to a home in the Hutong Area, the Olympic Complex, the Great Wall and the Peking/Kung Fu shows. Stick to these and only minimize the factory tours would have been a better value. #2 Both male and female students were on the same floor in the Hotel, I thought I had read that this would not be the case. #3 The Visa costs were pretty high and should have been given a "heads up" on these fees at the beginning.
    Ctourist / Adult traveler
    Rio Rancho, NM / Posted on July 04, 2017
  7. XieXie, China!

    Had an amazing experience. Tour director was very helpful and very kind. There was enough time to experience things that we wanted to experience. Beijing is beautiful. The Great Wall was my favorite!
    ChiTownGirl / Student traveler
    Chicago, IL / Posted on July 03, 2017
  8. First time Traveler

    Oh where to start....China is beyond amazing and if you have such a excellent planed tour with a one of a kind tour guide the tour becomes spectacular. Any first time travelers should feel safe in the hands of EF Tours and enjoy all of China, the people are friendly but also be careful with street vendors where they might swindle you for Taiwanese money instead of Yen. Bargaining is a key tool on your trip in China never take the starting price at first glance, you can bring the price down to 50%.
    AVNI / Student traveler
    NYC / Posted on May 19, 2017
  9. Beijing, China

    We had a wonderful time and learned so much. The students were able to place all that they had learned of Chinese history into its current cultural and historical context. Our guide, XIN, was exceptional and my students really loved every minute.
    Chrissy4 / Group leader
    New York City, New York / Posted on April 23, 2017
  10. Great Trip

    The trip was fun but at the same time I got to learn a lot about the overall Chinese culture. The best part in my opinion was when I got to meet students and eat with the local people after a short ride. I learned not only about the beauty of China, but also how people earned money for their families to get by. These people are some of the happiest people with the most genuine smiles but have gone through the most struggles. They live in a small basement near their workplace just to earn enough money for their family of 5 that is 12 hours away. On the bright side, I loved the half hour walk up the great wall of China. The view was simply stunning and worth the work. While trying to get to the local market, the group and I accidentally discovered a beautiful park that was not really a part of our schedule. While in the Forbidden City, I've learned about how women and men walked into the palace through different doors. Those of different social status also used different doors. At the same time, I was able to see the interior of most buildings that gave me an insight of how the people of the time lived like. The overall experience was definitely worth the $3k. It was like history coming alive!
    anonymoushuman703 / Student traveler
    Brooklyn, New York / Posted on April 16, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?