Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
345 reviewed Austria, Germany and Switzerland
5 stars
241
4 stars
77
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
5
  1. Truly an Amazing Experience!

    I am so lucky and happy I went onto this trip. I wish I could go back and do it all again with the same people. I went out of my comfort zone and made so many great friends. Before this trip I read some EF Tour reviews of how it changed many people's lives and how some people made so many new friends, but I never thought that it would happen to me. It's surprising how in just 10 days, I could make many great friends in such little time.
    BettyC / Student traveler
    Avon,NC / Posted on April 11, 2018
  2. A Great Adventure!!!

    We had a amazing time visiting Germany, Austria, and Switzerland! Our tour guide was very gracious and informative throughout the tour with her wonderful personality! Our bus driver was very professional and courteous, he drove us safely to our destinations! This experience will be remembered and cherished for years to come with the hope of returning sometime. All the students and teachers and parents really enjoyed and learned a great deal also. We were joined by a very friendly group of 10 students with their teacher and a sister of a student from Nashville Tennessee. They all had a great time with us from NY and friendships were made. We were 38 in number plus our tour guide trekking the streets and hills like a troop, it was a lot of fun!!
    Rockaway / Adult traveler
    Rockaway Park, New York / Posted on April 11, 2018
  3. Amazing!!!!!!!!!

    Excellent! Fantastic tour guide from eastern Germany and bus driver from Bavaria. Excellent pair working with our group and this gave everyone involved a new perspective on cultures and perspectives between what was formerly East and West Berlin. Both were very knowledgeable and friendly. The sights and additional side tours were well worth the additional cost. The films to prepare us for the tour to immediately follow and group songs and reader's theatre and extra information about the sights to be seen was well worth the time. Keeping track of everyone in large groups is not an easy task yet the tour guide made sure that we were not lost and gave us lots of pointers to always clearly mark where we were to meet up again when on our own for short periods of time.
    All of Ludwig II's castles are worth seeing.
    Be prepared to physically hike the trail to Neuschwanstein Castle--a reminder about good hiking shoes would help for this one----spectacular views-------
    My favorite was probably the Swiss Evening following the wonderful views at the top of Mt. Pilatus and the cog rail train up the side of the mountain and gondola cars down. The ride on the river to get there was also a scenic tour. The bike ride in Munich was fantastic! The nearly 3 hour riverboat tour on the Rhine was also delightful. I had never seen vineyards and so many old castles together.
    Sissi / Adult traveler
    Anchorage, Alaska / Posted on July 29, 2017
  4. Amazing European Adventure!

    I have always wanted to travel to Europe, and this was my chance - right after graduation from high school! I am a seasoned traveler already, having visited so many places in the U.S. and even Canada I've lost track, but I've never traveled abroad before this. I was so excited to finally see the areas where many of my ancestors were from. Overall, I couldn't wait to experience the charming cities and beautiful landscapes of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. It definitely didn't disappoint! It was a really great experience to immerse myself in the culture, language, and cuisine. I got to put to use what I know in French and of course German and even learn more! Which speaking of, I love to learn and I certainly broadened my knowledge on many subjects during this trip. It's so hard to pick a favorite memory, because I loved every second of this tour! But if I had to pick one, it would be frolicking, playing Frisbee, and relaxing in the Alps above Innsbruck, Austria. Everything was like a dream come true! Thank you, EF Tours - I'll never forget this experience!
    Krissy42 / Student traveler
    Raymond, Maine / Posted on July 13, 2017
  5. First Time International Traveler - Loved It!

    This tour was my first time leaving my home country. I was an adult traveler, going along on the tour with the tour leader, whom I know. The structure of the tour was beneficial for me, as I have never left country. Our tour director and the local tour guides were knowledgeable, and able to address any questions/issues that arose. The only word of caution I have for people considering this tour relates to air conditioning. Anyone used to air conditioning during hot times of the year should be aware that this convenience was present only in one of the hotels we were at. Even there, the air conditioning unit we had was not as powerful as what you might be used to if you come from a place like the USA, where strong AC is a given in most hotels. This did make it difficult to sleep on some of the warmer nights.

    That being said, the tour was a wonderful experience. As a general food-lover, trying different foods in the countries was amazing, and I was in my element as I especially love coffee and chocolate.
    / Adult traveler
    Clark, NJ / Posted on July 12, 2017
  6. Unforgettable adventure

    Had the most amazing time of my life. Learned so many interesting facts and saw things I never could have imagined seeing. Tour guide was excellent. Countries and sights were breathtaking and almost too good to be true in some circumstances. Made great friends and was actually sad to leave.
    DTW34 / Student traveler
    Calera, Alabama / Posted on June 21, 2018
  7. Amaziing Trip

    Our trip was the best we have experienced. We saw some beautiful country and had so much fun. Our tour guide, Ottokar Lehrner, was the best guide we have ever had. He made our experience much better. His knowledge of the areas we saw plus his humor and extra special care made it complete. I would highly recommend this trip.
    rverdell / Adult traveler
    Sherwood, Arkansas / Posted on June 21, 2018
  8. Wonderful European Vacation

    I wish Europe was closer- the flight time was a bit overwhelming. However, EF did a great job of getting us off the plane and right to our tour! So be sure you rest on the way over. The weather in Vienna was super hot like we have it in the southern US in June. So the temperature wasn't a surprise, however,no air conditioning in the hotel was. This was only an issue for 2 nights as we were treated to much cooler temperatures in the all of our other tour cities. The architecture of all of the buildings and castles are beyond description. I was so happy to see it in person. Loved all of the outdoor cafes and trying all the local fare. Our tour guide was amazing! He was super fun and very knowledgeable. He also went out of his way to help all of us and our tour had 4 different groups from 4 states. We had ample opportunities to "wander" during our free time (after castle tours) which was the best time to try local dishes. I found that our included dinners in the evening may not have been traditional meals. And 2 of the meals were duplicated...that was somewhat disappointing. The accommodations were adequate. Overall, it was FABULOUS and I will treasure it always. I hope to return someday, but I know for sure that EF Tours squeezed in many unforgettable sights in a short amount of time. And for that I will forever be grateful!
    Jenjer / Adult traveler
    Greenville, SC / Posted on June 21, 2018
  9. Great experience!!

    We got to see lots of places!! The food in the hotels was less than desirable - but food in the towns was great!! Overall - great experience!!
    Buffmama / Adult traveler
    Pearland TX / Posted on June 20, 2018
  10. Pretty Good

    Group size is pretty large so there is a lot of time wasted waiting to get the group together for each thing the group is doing. I felt like we had too much time on the bus... hotels pretty far from the towns we were touring, and a lot of our time was taken up getting from place to place.
    On the positive side, our tour guide was amazing, our bus driver was very nice and friendly, thank goodness as we spent a lot of time with him. We did get a lot of information and go on a lot of nice day trips. The hotels were OK, the food was mostly good and fairly true to local eating habits, most of the time. The group was a nice group of friendly people that got along well enough with each other. I said yes, I would recommend to a friend, but it would depend on the friend and their expectations and it would be with some reservations.
    couldastayedlonger / Adult traveler
    Milliken, CO / Posted on June 17, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?