Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.5 out of 5)
408 reviewed Austria, Germany, and Switzerland
5 stars
269
4 stars
98
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
5
  1. It was the best!!!

    My tour was for Austria, Germany and Switzerland but once we got there we also got to go to France and Lichtenstein. We toured lot of beautiful castles. Stayed is lots of different hotels. Had an amazing time.
    Summertime73102 / Student traveler
    Fremont, MI / Posted on April 09, 2019
  2. Great taste of many places!

    I was able to experience multiple tours of Europe and this was definitely a great taste of multiple countries and culture. By far Dachau was one of the most influential places as well as the Swiss Country Side! The Family owned Inn we stayed at is one I would recommend and love to go back to. Our Tour Guide went above and beyond by taking us to small places memorable places from the infamous holy fountain to stopping at the passport stamp at one of the smallest countries. We were even able to get tickets to a 'Live' Mozart concert!
    Keeps / Adult traveler
    WI / Posted on January 29, 2019
  3. Great Trip!!

    Wow, what a great experience!! I will say, we covered a TON of ground over our week; man was it worth it. We saw some of the most beautiful country I have ever seen. Our tour guides and leaders were exceptional, knowledgeable, happy and just some of the most spectacular people you could ever ask to lead a trip. I LOVED the hotels we stayed in and could not as for a better experience. Thank you for a wonderful trip!!!
    MrHappy / Adult traveler
    Knoxville, Tennessee / Posted on October 16, 2018
  4. A wonderful, memorable trip!

    This was our first EF trip and boy were we impressed! With all the places we visited, it was wonderful having a skilled Tour Director in charge of all the logistics. The sites in all 4 countries well well thought out for maximum impact for that region of Europe. I particularly liked travelling through the Tyrol region of Austria; the Alps were magnificent! The hotels were comfortable and the food was good. In fact, it was fun staying at hotels outside the major cities so we could experience the more rural parts of the countries. We will definitely recommend EF Tours to friends.
    DJTraveler / Adult traveler
    Houston, tX / Posted on July 22, 2018
  5. Best.Trip.Ever

    This was my dream trip from the start. I've led one other European tour with EF, and chaperoned one in Costa Rica. This one far exceeded my very high expectations. Our tour director was absolutely THE BEST... knowledgeable, friendly, and fun. Vienna was a highlight for most of our travelers... stunningly beautiful, and we spent a very fun evening at Prater, a local amusement park. Salzburg was incredibly lovely, and the students enjoyed some time to shop and pick up local art from street vendors. Munich and the Marienplatz cannot be described in words. The architecture and Bavarian food really gave us all a "true" German experience. Our guides at Dachau were knowledgeable and insightful. I was moved by our guide's own emotion and care in discussing what went on at the camp. Incredibly educational and moving. From here we went to Neuschwanstein Castle, which was in a word, amazing. What a great day! We stayed one night in Tyrol, which was nice, but had very little action! We stopped in Innsbruck in the morning, then on to Lucerne. I'm pretty well traveled. Lucerne is absolutely the most beautiful city/town I've ever seen. We had a neat hotel, a former prison, a block off the water, so we took kids out and about the first night, then did the Swiss Experience the next day at Mt. Pilatus. Pictures could never do it justice. It was mindblowing and incredibly beautiful! We rode back to town on Lake Lucerne... just lovely. We also did the optional excursion, the Swiss Evening. Worth every penny! The entertainment was lively and so much fun. The kids LOVED it! Finally, we went to Freiburg for lunch and then Heidelberg. This tour was paced well, included both fast movement to see incredible sights, but plenty of time to recover and catch up on sleep. One of our travelers did the math... we covered about 700 miles in total and walked about 50 in ten days. Not bad! I'd do it again TOMORROW. If you're on the fence, DO IT.
    BavarianLove / Group leader
    Tioga County, PA / Posted on July 09, 2018
  6. Truly an Amazing Experience!

    I am so lucky and happy I went onto this trip. I wish I could go back and do it all again with the same people. I went out of my comfort zone and made so many great friends. Before this trip I read some EF Tour reviews of how it changed many people's lives and how some people made so many new friends, but I never thought that it would happen to me. It's surprising how in just 10 days, I could make many great friends in such little time.
    BettyC / Student traveler
    Avon,NC / Posted on April 11, 2018
  7. A Great Adventure!!!

    We had a amazing time visiting Germany, Austria, and Switzerland! Our tour guide was very gracious and informative throughout the tour with her wonderful personality! Our bus driver was very professional and courteous, he drove us safely to our destinations! This experience will be remembered and cherished for years to come with the hope of returning sometime. All the students and teachers and parents really enjoyed and learned a great deal also. We were joined by a very friendly group of 10 students with their teacher and a sister of a student from Nashville Tennessee. They all had a great time with us from NY and friendships were made. We were 38 in number plus our tour guide trekking the streets and hills like a troop, it was a lot of fun!!
    Rockaway / Adult traveler
    Rockaway Park, New York / Posted on April 11, 2018
  8. Amazing!!!!!!!!!

    Excellent! Fantastic tour guide from eastern Germany and bus driver from Bavaria. Excellent pair working with our group and this gave everyone involved a new perspective on cultures and perspectives between what was formerly East and West Berlin. Both were very knowledgeable and friendly. The sights and additional side tours were well worth the additional cost. The films to prepare us for the tour to immediately follow and group songs and reader's theatre and extra information about the sights to be seen was well worth the time. Keeping track of everyone in large groups is not an easy task yet the tour guide made sure that we were not lost and gave us lots of pointers to always clearly mark where we were to meet up again when on our own for short periods of time.
    All of Ludwig II's castles are worth seeing.
    Be prepared to physically hike the trail to Neuschwanstein Castle--a reminder about good hiking shoes would help for this one----spectacular views-------
    My favorite was probably the Swiss Evening following the wonderful views at the top of Mt. Pilatus and the cog rail train up the side of the mountain and gondola cars down. The ride on the river to get there was also a scenic tour. The bike ride in Munich was fantastic! The nearly 3 hour riverboat tour on the Rhine was also delightful. I had never seen vineyards and so many old castles together.
    Sissi / Adult traveler
    Anchorage, Alaska / Posted on July 29, 2017
  9. Great trip with some unexpected bumps

    This was a great trip overall. Our tour guide OK and our bus driver MT were AMAZING. OK was in constant good spirits, wiling to work with our requests, knowledgable and humorous, and MT was quiet but unflappable, especially tacking those twisty mountain roads!

    I will say that most of the dinners left a lot to be desired. I understand that Europeans eat smaller portions than we do, but one restaurant we went to served us one brat and a scoop of potato salad. FOR DINNER. SOME of our group got "dessert"--applesauce--served BEFORE dinner, but some of us didn't even get that. And that was a night we were heading to a hotel literally in the mountains, with nowhere nearby to get snacks. That was a poor choice.

    Along with that, I think that EF needs to make a more concentrated effort to make sure that the hotels have WORKING wifi. Many of the kids on our trip wanted to check in with parents at home and wifi is the only way to do that.

    Also, a boarding school is NOT a hotel. I'm sorry. For the money we paid for this trip, I would have expected to stay in ACTUAL hotels.
    mom22019 / Adult traveler
    NJ / Posted on May 05, 2019
  10. In love with the Alps

    I went as a parent chaperone to this trip. It was so much fun and the Alps are so beautiful. This was my daughter's second EF trip and she said this one was the best one. Last year she went to Ireland, Wales, & England (London included).
    Dee83 / Adult traveler
    New York, New York / Posted on May 02, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?