Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
390 reviewed Austria, Germany and Switzerland
5 stars
257
4 stars
96
3 stars
22
2 stars
10
1 star
5
  1. A wonderful, memorable trip!

    This was our first EF trip and boy were we impressed! With all the places we visited, it was wonderful having a skilled Tour Director in charge of all the logistics. The sites in all 4 countries well well thought out for maximum impact for that region of Europe. I particularly liked travelling through the Tyrol region of Austria; the Alps were magnificent! The hotels were comfortable and the food was good. In fact, it was fun staying at hotels outside the major cities so we could experience the more rural parts of the countries. We will definitely recommend EF Tours to friends.
    DJTraveler / Adult traveler
    Houston, tX / Posted on July 22, 2018
  2. Best.Trip.Ever

    This was my dream trip from the start. I've led one other European tour with EF, and chaperoned one in Costa Rica. This one far exceeded my very high expectations. Our tour director was absolutely THE BEST... knowledgeable, friendly, and fun. Vienna was a highlight for most of our travelers... stunningly beautiful, and we spent a very fun evening at Prater, a local amusement park. Salzburg was incredibly lovely, and the students enjoyed some time to shop and pick up local art from street vendors. Munich and the Marienplatz cannot be described in words. The architecture and Bavarian food really gave us all a "true" German experience. Our guides at Dachau were knowledgeable and insightful. I was moved by our guide's own emotion and care in discussing what went on at the camp. Incredibly educational and moving. From here we went to Neuschwanstein Castle, which was in a word, amazing. What a great day! We stayed one night in Tyrol, which was nice, but had very little action! We stopped in Innsbruck in the morning, then on to Lucerne. I'm pretty well traveled. Lucerne is absolutely the most beautiful city/town I've ever seen. We had a neat hotel, a former prison, a block off the water, so we took kids out and about the first night, then did the Swiss Experience the next day at Mt. Pilatus. Pictures could never do it justice. It was mindblowing and incredibly beautiful! We rode back to town on Lake Lucerne... just lovely. We also did the optional excursion, the Swiss Evening. Worth every penny! The entertainment was lively and so much fun. The kids LOVED it! Finally, we went to Freiburg for lunch and then Heidelberg. This tour was paced well, included both fast movement to see incredible sights, but plenty of time to recover and catch up on sleep. One of our travelers did the math... we covered about 700 miles in total and walked about 50 in ten days. Not bad! I'd do it again TOMORROW. If you're on the fence, DO IT.
    BavarianLove / Group leader
    Tioga County, PA / Posted on July 09, 2018
  3. Truly an Amazing Experience!

    I am so lucky and happy I went onto this trip. I wish I could go back and do it all again with the same people. I went out of my comfort zone and made so many great friends. Before this trip I read some EF Tour reviews of how it changed many people's lives and how some people made so many new friends, but I never thought that it would happen to me. It's surprising how in just 10 days, I could make many great friends in such little time.
    BettyC / Student traveler
    Avon,NC / Posted on April 11, 2018
  4. A Great Adventure!!!

    We had a amazing time visiting Germany, Austria, and Switzerland! Our tour guide was very gracious and informative throughout the tour with her wonderful personality! Our bus driver was very professional and courteous, he drove us safely to our destinations! This experience will be remembered and cherished for years to come with the hope of returning sometime. All the students and teachers and parents really enjoyed and learned a great deal also. We were joined by a very friendly group of 10 students with their teacher and a sister of a student from Nashville Tennessee. They all had a great time with us from NY and friendships were made. We were 38 in number plus our tour guide trekking the streets and hills like a troop, it was a lot of fun!!
    Rockaway / Adult traveler
    Rockaway Park, New York / Posted on April 11, 2018
  5. Amazing!!!!!!!!!

    Excellent! Fantastic tour guide from eastern Germany and bus driver from Bavaria. Excellent pair working with our group and this gave everyone involved a new perspective on cultures and perspectives between what was formerly East and West Berlin. Both were very knowledgeable and friendly. The sights and additional side tours were well worth the additional cost. The films to prepare us for the tour to immediately follow and group songs and reader's theatre and extra information about the sights to be seen was well worth the time. Keeping track of everyone in large groups is not an easy task yet the tour guide made sure that we were not lost and gave us lots of pointers to always clearly mark where we were to meet up again when on our own for short periods of time.
    All of Ludwig II's castles are worth seeing.
    Be prepared to physically hike the trail to Neuschwanstein Castle--a reminder about good hiking shoes would help for this one----spectacular views-------
    My favorite was probably the Swiss Evening following the wonderful views at the top of Mt. Pilatus and the cog rail train up the side of the mountain and gondola cars down. The ride on the river to get there was also a scenic tour. The bike ride in Munich was fantastic! The nearly 3 hour riverboat tour on the Rhine was also delightful. I had never seen vineyards and so many old castles together.
    Sissi / Adult traveler
    Anchorage, Alaska / Posted on July 29, 2017
  6. Amazing European Adventure!

    I have always wanted to travel to Europe, and this was my chance - right after graduation from high school! I am a seasoned traveler already, having visited so many places in the U.S. and even Canada I've lost track, but I've never traveled abroad before this. I was so excited to finally see the areas where many of my ancestors were from. Overall, I couldn't wait to experience the charming cities and beautiful landscapes of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. It definitely didn't disappoint! It was a really great experience to immerse myself in the culture, language, and cuisine. I got to put to use what I know in French and of course German and even learn more! Which speaking of, I love to learn and I certainly broadened my knowledge on many subjects during this trip. It's so hard to pick a favorite memory, because I loved every second of this tour! But if I had to pick one, it would be frolicking, playing Frisbee, and relaxing in the Alps above Innsbruck, Austria. Everything was like a dream come true! Thank you, EF Tours - I'll never forget this experience!
    Krissy42 / Student traveler
    Raymond, Maine / Posted on July 13, 2017
  7. First Time International Traveler - Loved It!

    This tour was my first time leaving my home country. I was an adult traveler, going along on the tour with the tour leader, whom I know. The structure of the tour was beneficial for me, as I have never left country. Our tour director and the local tour guides were knowledgeable, and able to address any questions/issues that arose. The only word of caution I have for people considering this tour relates to air conditioning. Anyone used to air conditioning during hot times of the year should be aware that this convenience was present only in one of the hotels we were at. Even there, the air conditioning unit we had was not as powerful as what you might be used to if you come from a place like the USA, where strong AC is a given in most hotels. This did make it difficult to sleep on some of the warmer nights.

    That being said, the tour was a wonderful experience. As a general food-lover, trying different foods in the countries was amazing, and I was in my element as I especially love coffee and chocolate.
    / Adult traveler
    Clark, NJ / Posted on July 12, 2017
  8. Wonderful Trip

    I enjoyed the trip so much I would love to move to Austria.
    Hcaz / Student traveler
    Bumpass, VA / Posted on August 16, 2018
  9. Beautiful Views

    The breath taking views of the Alps was beyond amazing! The local people were so welcoming and kind!
    Montana12 / Group leader
    Moccasin, MT / Posted on August 04, 2018
  10. Just go!

    I really liked visiting so many places, but wish more time was spent at some of them. At times we felt rushed through visits and then had too much free time after. I was surprised how much I liked the food! The most fun was in Switzerland, where we toboggand down the Alps!
    hrhmm / Student traveler
    Lockeford, CA / Posted on July 29, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?