Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
147 reviewed Journey Down Under
5 stars
120
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
  1. Awesome and fabulous experience

    This was a magnificent trip for my daughter. She came home full of fun stories and tales of different lifestyles and experience from the other side of the world. She absolutely raved on the local tour guide. The excursions were supreme. This was not only a fabulous cultural and educational learning experience for her but also just down right fun! She felt safe the entire trip yet had freedom to explore with her friends at the same time. I highly recommend this trip and company. I would send her again and again if she wasn't graduating this upcoming year.
    Littled / Student traveler
    Hampstead NC / Posted on July 10, 2018
  2. NZ/AUS

    This was an experience of a lifetime! Our tour director was amazing and our kids learned so much about the cultural differences between New Zealand and Australia; but they also were able to see the similarities and understand the history between the two countries. I will always remember this trip and what it did for myself and the impact it made on my life. Thank you EF and everyone involved in making this trip a success!
    BestTrip / Adult traveler
    Byrnes Mill, MO / Posted on July 02, 2018
  3. JUST WOW!!!!!

    I was extremely anxious about my son traveling so far away from home but I am amazed at how well organized the trip was. The Tour guide (Erica), I was told, was amazing! My son learned a lot, felt safe and secure and felt like the time that they had was maximized by the activities that were scheduled. We are already thinking about the next trip to Italy and Greece next Spring!! Job well done!!!
    njwhitt / Parent
    Antioch, Illinois / Posted on April 02, 2018
  4. It was the absolute best!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this tour!!!!!

    Luke was the best tour guide! He was funny, kind, fair, organized, timely, very informative, and a joy to have as a guide!

    I think we definitely got the best bang for our buck because we did all of the touristy things as well as some very fun and interesting cultural experiences that I would not have thought to do (or not been able to do) if not for EF Tours. Our time was used very well with a great balance between free time and scheduled time. We had plenty of options for great activities and/or time to wander and explore. A couple of places I wish we had a little more time to explore, but it was simply because I loved them so much!

    Specifically, Luke was very accommodating because some of us wanted to climb the Sydney Harbor Bridge, but there was a short window of time to do it. He moved around our Sydney Opera House tour and made it possible to do what I considered one of the best parts of my trip.

    I honestly am trying to find something bad to say, but everything was just so wonderful, and I thank EF Tours so much for a truly exceptional trip!
    Californiamusician123 / Adult traveler
    Anaheim, California / Posted on August 04, 2017
  5. Dream Come True!

    This was the experience of a lifetime because, how many people can say they've been to New Zealand and Australia? It was honestly such a good trip all around and I had so much fun getting lost in the cities and making tons of new friends from all over the country. My tour leader was exceptional and I'm going to miss her very much. She was very much like our friend rather than an authority figure and it was very nice to be able to rely on her. She did everything possible to make us have a good time and even went out of her way to book us extra excursions and give us extra time to explore in general. Everything that we did was very exciting and new, so I very much recommend to spend the extra money on the excursions because they are so worth it. In example, our tour guide booked us tours of the main lakes in Rotorua, the Sydney Opera House, and the Great Barrier Reef. She even included culture nights, where we interacted and learned about native people (such as the Aboriginals and the Maori) and even got to hang out with students our own age from New Zealand! Learning is a huge part of these trips and its so nice that our tour guides include the knowledge in a way that is hands-on and fun. But anyway, point is, this was my favorite trip that I have been on and the price I paid was absolutely worth it. Thank you for the opportunity!
    / Student traveler
    Freehold, NJ / Posted on July 24, 2017
  6. Fantastic First Walkabout

    Our daughter just returned from the Journey Down Under tour and has yet to stop talking about all of the things that she learned and got to experience. We felt there was just the right amount of supervision for this age group with plenty of free time to explore. (And we appreciated that the girls were dissuaded from going out the night that the Australian Navy came into port!!) She loved her guides in Australia and in Hawaii. Her only complaint is that the tour wasn't long enough and there are so many more things that she wants to do and see. I am certain that she will be asking to travel again and we wouldn't hesitate if it were with EF Tours.
    Gtgtmom / Parent
    Staunton, VA / Posted on July 04, 2017
  7. Indescribable Down Under Adventure

    My 2017 Sumer trip down under was so exhilarating. Each phase of our New Zealand and Australian journey consisted of golden nuggets experiences. We looked forward to witnessing what was in store for us from hands on cultural immersion, jetting across country, sun bathing on a cruise, or being awakened by the spectacular sunrise. EF Tours gave us our money's worth, and the long travel down under was worth every minute. Our group experience was the best ever; we blended well. Thanks to our professional Tour Director, who became everyone's friend. Also, thanks to each group leader, who was experienced and professional. They were the perfect adhesive ... life long friendships. I would repeat this tour in the future. Thanks EF.
    / Group leader
    Stone Mountain, Georgia / Posted on June 21, 2017
  8. Amazing Trip Down Under

    This trip is one of the most amazing experiences that I've been on. Although the price seems steep at first, it is definitely worth every penny. This tour has it all. IN this trip you get the science of Rotorua's geothermal sites or the amazingness of the Great Barrier Reef. You also get the history of the Maori tribe in New Zealand and the aborigines in Australia. You get to explore different cultures and amazing cities (Sydney, Cairns, etc.), as well as participate in some amazing activities (Ogo, Shweeb, Luge, etc.).

    Our tour guide even gave us the opportunity to go to a rugby game which was incredible in and of itself.

    If you are considering a tour with EF, this one is definitely the one to choose.
    Carlos5150 / Adult traveler
    Miami, Florida / Posted on April 22, 2017
  9. Awesome Time!

    This trip not only gave me a larger understanding of the world beyond my home but increased my eagerness to explore more of it. I had never been on a trip outside of the United States before this and I could not have asked for a better first experience. The curriculum included something for everyone, whether it was learned about diverse cultures in an immersive context or seeing the natural landscape in the most breathtaking ways possible. The timing for each event was absolutely perfect. We got the most out of each day without wearing ourselves out, and every sight was seen at the optimal time, from the view of the Sydney skyline at sunset to catching the most nightlife in Cairns. With such a packed schedule, there was still time to either relax or venture beyond the pre-planned activities and see the additional sights. For example, my group went on a horseback riding trip, and that allowed us to see extra views of Rotorua from a unique vantage point. I felt safe and happy with all of the directors and group leaders, and all of them were as eager to see all of Australia and New Zealand as we were. Thanks for the trip of a lifetime!
    jrs628 / Student traveler
    Monroe Township, NJ / Posted on July 30, 2018
  10. Awesome tour!

    This was my 5th EF tour and the best one yet! Our TD was top notch. His knowledge and pace was extremely useful to the overall fantastic experience of the tour. The only difference was I would have liked to have done our original tour of the Australian coast and cut out the New Zealand part of the tour. Overall I cannot say enough great things about this experience!
    Carto / Adult traveler
    Orlando, FL / Posted on July 29, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?