Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
309 reviewed Athens and the Islands
5 stars
207
4 stars
73
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 star
6
  1. Absolutely breathtaking

    From beginning to end this tour is a feast for the senses. The cruise itinerary is fast-paced but allows enough time for touring, shopping, eating, etc. Please note the shore excursions via EF is a package but may be purchased individually while on the cruise. I enjoyed the island of Mikonos most for it's mazed-lined streets. The hotels in Athens were in excellent locations, directly across the street from the beach. Also, great restaurants nearby. The rooms are small and bathrooms even tinier but exceptionally clean and cozy. One final note, the beaches are beautiful but very COLD WATER...brrr. This tour is absolutely worth every penny!!!
    DELA22 / Group leader
    NEW YORK CITY / Posted on July 24, 2017
  2. Group of (38) on a Greek Cruise!

    I am a high school teacher and just returned from our Greek trip....we had three days in Athens, then four days on a Celestyal Cruise, then another day in Athens before flying home to the USA. We have had nothing but positive feedback from our group of (38) travelers, which included parents, teachers and students. The tours were informative, the sites were incredible and the cruise was great. Was it an elegant, superior, five-star trip with gourmet food? Nope. But we knew that going in. Was everything clean, comfortable and safe? Yes indeed. And I'm already planning our next trip through EF. Thanks!
    / Group leader
    Pennsylvania / Posted on July 24, 2017
  3. First class cruise!!!

    Excellent choice of vacation package! Our group loved everything from the location of Athens hotels to the first class cruise of the Aegean. EF really did a first rate job!!!
    Quiznator / Group leader
    Houston, Texas / Posted on July 24, 2017
  4. Marvelous Experience!!!

    At first I was nervous and didn't know what to except from the trip. After landing in Athens and meeting with our tour director I realized that there was no reason to be nervous. Our director was amazing she made me feel like I've known her forever. We had a few different local tour guides and they were all amazing, very friendly and had tons of information to share with us. Over all to tour was stunning being able to try new foods, being able to see first hand the Greek culture, and see all the beautiful places Greece has to offer. Being able to see Greece and the islands through EF was an amazing opportunity and I hope to travel with them again! Thanks EF and Leaders
    agapi / Student traveler
    Stilwell, Oklahoma / Posted on July 05, 2017
  5. Mindblowing

    I accompanied my daughter on this trip as a chaperone and cannot wait to take another trip. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity we will never forget. All of the sites, guides and people we encountered made this whole experience wondrous and unbelievable. We have traveled internationally before, but there was something unique about Greece and the Greek people. The addition of a cruise to a few isles was just the cherry on top of an already breathtaking trip. Each isle was distinct in culture and historical significance with varying culinary flavors and smells.

    There wasn't a single thing we disliked...except having to return to home to our normal lives.
    browneyedomino / Adult traveler
    Houston, Texas / Posted on June 19, 2017
  6. Trip of a Lifetime

    I absolutely loved this trip! I learned so much about Greek culture and history, while having a great time with friends and exploring new places. The tour guides were exceptional and very personable. The trip itself was planned well and we were able to see most if not all of the major sites that I had hoped to see. I would definitely recommend this trip and I would definitely do it again!
    LIV10102030418 / Student traveler
    Posted on April 17, 2017
  7. Awesome trip to Greece

    Our 10 day trip to Athens and the Greek islands was awesome. We learned many things about Greek history and our tour guide was phenomenal. The trip was high paced and each day we had free time to shop, eat and nap. The hotel food as well as aboard ship while plentiful was not great. Being in Greece it would have been nice to have fresh seafood and vegetables .
    SPinGreece / Student traveler
    Maryland / Posted on July 29, 2017
  8. Not again to Greece

    The fa├žade of the trip and the towns were beautiful. However, once you got into the towns to tour, they were full of graffiti and not very nice. Our tour guide, Pablo, was fantastic!!!! If you have a chance to request a tour guide, I highly recommend you request Pablo! He's wonderful and you'll thoroughly enjoy being with him. The cruise ship was small, as most Mediterranean cruise ships are. This limits the amenities aboard the boat and diminishes the tour value. I would recommend this tour only for the purposes of seeing the historical buildings/monuments of Greece. Otherwise, find a different tour!
    BigMoose / Adult traveler
    United States / Posted on July 28, 2017
  9. Eh - too much packed into too little time

    Overall I would say the activities planned seemed nice. Things that I would definitely want to do. The problem is, most of the time they did not live up to their description and way too many things were packed into way to little time.

    First, the activities like the Greek cooking class and the Olive Oil manufacturing tour sounded like they were going to be amazing but ended up being a total let down. The olive oil tour consisted of the person giving us a 5-minute overview of the olives and his land, then he let us taste test his olive oil, olives, and feta and then we had the chance to buy his olive oil. We did not get to see anything about how it was made, we didn't get to watch it being made.

    The Greek cooking class was very similar. The portions were already all pre-measured and pre-cut aside from the vegetables which we were allowed to cut with very dull knives. The cooking class was just mixing the ingredients together.

    My biggest complaint of the tour was there were way too many things packed into each day. This resulted in exhaustion and many people getting sick. The day we went to Samos, we woke up at 4am and did not finish our day until about 11pm.. that is a 19 hour day!! While that was the worse, wake up calls were almost always at 6am and we went until late almost every day. Either things should be cut out or the tour should be extended in order to hit the activities at a reasonable pace.

    Also, the location of the rooms (lower deck, inside rooms) did not help with the motion sickness, aside from being on a very old cruise ship.

    Greece (especially the islands) was totally beautiful, but the tour needs a lot of help.
    RealMetman / Adult traveler
    West Orange NJ / Posted on July 10, 2017
  10. Super trip

    The trip was an amazing experience. With our tour director, she always kept us informed and able to participate in every possible thing. The hotels with nice and the cruise ship was a nice feature because it game us the ability to have some fun reed Im during downtime.
    / Student traveler
    Cincinnati, OH / Posted on June 30, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?