Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average rating: (4.3 out of 5)
69 reviewed Literature in England
5 stars
40
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
1
  1. Trip of a Lifetime

    From a time I was very young I decided that I wanted to travel the world. The place I wanted to go the most was England. When the opportunity to attend the EF tour came to me I took the shot and I will never regret it. There are so many things that made this trip phenomenal. Our tour guide was the best. Our bus driver was, also, the best. The food was incredible. Every day was something new and exciting. My dream came true and it was better than I could have ever imagined. I can’t wait to book another tour!!
    ElizabethMW456 / Student traveler
    Waterford, Michigan / Posted on July 05, 2018
  2. Absolutely Incredible!!!

    This was my 3rd time traveling with EF and by far my favorite trip! London is always fabulous, but this tour gave us the chance to visit the charming little English towns and travel north through the beautiful countryside to see some of the amazing places we had only read about in literature. Bath was one of our favorite stops, but we also loved everything about the Lake District, Stratford, and Oxford. My students were in awe as they traveled to palaces, castles, attended a show at THE Globe Theatre, hiked up to the moors and down mountains in the Lake District, and stood in the homes and walked in the footsteps of some of the world's greatest writers including Shakespeare, Wordsworth, and the Bronte sisters.
    I highly recommend this tour, especially in reverse (beginning in London and traveling north).
    One more thing- bring good walking shoes or hiking boots for the best experience. I wish I could attach more photos to this review! FABULOUS TRIP!
    OklahomaTeacher / Group leader
    Lawton, Oklahoma / Posted on June 28, 2017
  3. Lovely and literary

    I am thrilled with the results of this trip! It was truly an amazing experience and Becky, our tour guide, was fantastic. She was flexible and worked with our specific goals for the trip, and this allowed everyone an experience they will not forget. The kids are still talking about it; in fact, I have one student who is now seriously considering studying abroad for her undergraduate career! That has warmed my heart.
    Tash2017 / Group leader
    Dallas, GA / Posted on January 25, 2017
  4. .big bang for my buck

    Excellent tour guide. Lots of info, nice accommodations, maybe less organized tours and more time to explore. Disappointed play at the Globe was in the pit
    Nanashaw / Adult traveler
    Beaver Island Michigan / Posted on July 29, 2019
  5. History galore

    Our tour guide was amazing! The knowledge and history that was presented was overwhelming. The tour took in a great amount history while viewing all the sights. I liked the combination of coach and walking tours and the additional guides at various locations.
    Carryon / Adult traveler
    Beaver Island, MI / Posted on June 30, 2019
  6. England Review

    Stonehenge was amazing! I really liked it a lot! The countryside was beautiful. I didn't want to come home. The gardens were so colorful.
    Wert / Student traveler
    Edgewood, NM / Posted on June 02, 2019
  7. Great First Experience

    This was the first overseas trip for me and my daughter and we had a fantastic time in England. Our tour director was helpful and energetic, the bus drivers were pleasant and skilled (how they got those buses through narrow, winding streets, I'll never know), and the hotels were clean and comfortable. We'd do it again if the opportunity arose.
    CAB66 / Group leader
    Beaverdam, VA / Posted on July 25, 2018
  8. Trip of a lifetime!

    We had a phenomenal time!
    HappyGirl47 / Adult traveler
    Huntsville, Alabama / Posted on July 01, 2018
  9. England with a side of Literature

    If you are looking for a chance to see a lot of England with a some British literature locations included, this is the trip for you. If you are after a trip that focuses on British Literature locations as its primary focus, it is going to fall a little bit short.

    Our first day had nothing scheduled, even though every group on our bus had arrive by 10 am. We were offered a bus tour of Liverpool/Beatles locations for an additional cost. Part of the tour was excellent, but the local guide was a bit low energy for a tired group of teens. Plus, riding in the bus was not the best idea after hours of traveling. I think that day could have been better planned.

    The Lake District was amazing, but I had expected expert information on Wordsworth and the history of the District in connection with Romantic literature. There wasn't much--a few tidbits and a pamphlet to read while touring the house. So while the locations were wonderful, it could have and should have been so much more informative for a literature tour. Sadly, we had too little time as well, even though we had hours of time at the hotel that evening with nothing to do. That time would have been better spent visiting Beatrix Potter's home or taking a boat tour of the lake.

    The Bronte's were next, and like before, the location was incredible. Also like before, there was no guide giving incredible details to bring their stories to life, and again, we had too little time to enjoy the surrounding village.

    York followed and was awesome. This time, there was a local guide, and he rocked. We also had adequate free time. However, none of this was connected to literature, and as before, we had too much time at the hotel in the evening.

    Stratford was a strong tour day. I would have loved even more time there, but what we did get to see was informative and impressive.

    Oxford was incredible, but the local guide we had only briefly related our tour of New College to literature--a brief mention of Alice in Wonderland and the filming of Harry Potter. Otherwise, this was not connected to literature at all by the guide.

    Bath was a mixed experience. The tour of the Roman Baths was incredible due to the audio guide provided, but the tour of the city was pathetic--on the bus, short, not all that informative, and only two brief mentions of Jane Austen as we drove past a museum and one of her houses. In other words, very little connection to literature.

    We did luck out with a drive-by of Stonehenge that was unexpected. Wish we had stopped, as we had far too much time at the hotel that night yet again.

    And finally, we made it to London. I will start by saying that the tour of the Globe theater and attending a performance were the two, most-highly praised moments from the entire trip by all my students. However, the rest of our London visit was mixed. The bus tour was okay because we stopped four times, but the lack of free time was horrible. Because the hotel was so far out of the city, travel time took up all our free time. Our dinner, one night, got canceled as well (without notice to our tour director), so we had to grab food on the run, which we paid for instead of being included. We did go on a cool Jack the Ripper tour that was extra, but it was worth it and the only night we didn't have too much time at the hotel.

    Windsor could have been worth the extra effort and money, but our local guide was offensive and rude, and due to scheduling, we had to race through it in only an hour with no time to explore the village around it.

    Most of our hotels were fine, but the food was a major disappointment. On tours with VIE and with EF in Rome, local places were used to give a taste of the country. Here, we ate hotel food almost every night. All of the hotels were significantly out of the way and ate up a huge portion of time that could have been spent enjoying England, and since we ate dinners at them, we were back at them by 7, which meant hours of nothing for the students to do. This was their major complaint about the trip--wasted time at the hotel each evening.

    Our tour director and main bus driver were fantastic!

    The things that worked on this trip worked well, but a lot of things did not work--wasted time, cultureless food, and poor scheduling. I do recommend this trip, but it is not as good as it should be.
    TeacherNM / Group leader
    NM / Posted on June 17, 2018
  10. Being there better than getting there

    The trip itself was great but the travel to and from was challenging. A better plan should have been made for travelling to the international airport. Also, flight home was delayed, and EF did not set up a viable plan for getting us home in a timely manner. My teachers had to figure that out on their own.
    TravelLovingFamily / Student traveler
    Mechanicsburg, PA / Posted on September 19, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?