Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.3 out of 5)
63 reviewed AP English Literature
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
1
  1. Absolutely Incredible!!!

    This was my 3rd time traveling with EF and by far my favorite trip! London is always fabulous, but this tour gave us the chance to visit the charming little English towns and travel north through the beautiful countryside to see some of the amazing places we had only read about in literature. Bath was one of our favorite stops, but we also loved everything about the Lake District, Stratford, and Oxford. My students were in awe as they traveled to palaces, castles, attended a show at THE Globe Theatre, hiked up to the moors and down mountains in the Lake District, and stood in the homes and walked in the footsteps of some of the world's greatest writers including Shakespeare, Wordsworth, and the Bronte sisters.
    I highly recommend this tour, especially in reverse (beginning in London and traveling north).
    One more thing- bring good walking shoes or hiking boots for the best experience. I wish I could attach more photos to this review! FABULOUS TRIP!
    OklahomaTeacher / Group leader
    Lawton, Oklahoma / Posted on June 28, 2017
  2. Lovely and literary

    I am thrilled with the results of this trip! It was truly an amazing experience and Becky, our tour guide, was fantastic. She was flexible and worked with our specific goals for the trip, and this allowed everyone an experience they will not forget. The kids are still talking about it; in fact, I have one student who is now seriously considering studying abroad for her undergraduate career! That has warmed my heart.
    Tash2017 / Group leader
    Dallas, GA / Posted on January 25, 2017
  3. Bucket List Worthy

    My EF tour was one that altered so many aspects of my life. It allowed me to experience a foreign country, culture, and gain a plethora of experiences. I loved being able to see literature come to life as I traveled.
    Europe is different from america in the since that it offers so much more depth because of its age. The architecture, food, and culture itself is one that takes you back in time. While also witnessing how modern technology has grown with it. The amount and quality of the activities that I participated in was absolutely breathtaking. One of my fondest memories would have to be the tour director allowing me to guide us on the tube. It allowed me to experience London as a local would and I will always remember that experience.
    I'm truly thankful for this once in a lifetime trip.
    Lomein / Student traveler
    Mansfield, TX / Posted on June 28, 2016
  4. England with a side of Literature

    If you are looking for a chance to see a lot of England with a some British literature locations included, this is the trip for you. If you are after a trip that focuses on British Literature locations as its primary focus, it is going to fall a little bit short.

    Our first day had nothing scheduled, even though every group on our bus had arrive by 10 am. We were offered a bus tour of Liverpool/Beatles locations for an additional cost. Part of the tour was excellent, but the local guide was a bit low energy for a tired group of teens. Plus, riding in the bus was not the best idea after hours of traveling. I think that day could have been better planned.

    The Lake District was amazing, but I had expected expert information on Wordsworth and the history of the District in connection with Romantic literature. There wasn't much--a few tidbits and a pamphlet to read while touring the house. So while the locations were wonderful, it could have and should have been so much more informative for a literature tour. Sadly, we had too little time as well, even though we had hours of time at the hotel that evening with nothing to do. That time would have been better spent visiting Beatrix Potter's home or taking a boat tour of the lake.

    The Bronte's were next, and like before, the location was incredible. Also like before, there was no guide giving incredible details to bring their stories to life, and again, we had too little time to enjoy the surrounding village.

    York followed and was awesome. This time, there was a local guide, and he rocked. We also had adequate free time. However, none of this was connected to literature, and as before, we had too much time at the hotel in the evening.

    Stratford was a strong tour day. I would have loved even more time there, but what we did get to see was informative and impressive.

    Oxford was incredible, but the local guide we had only briefly related our tour of New College to literature--a brief mention of Alice in Wonderland and the filming of Harry Potter. Otherwise, this was not connected to literature at all by the guide.

    Bath was a mixed experience. The tour of the Roman Baths was incredible due to the audio guide provided, but the tour of the city was pathetic--on the bus, short, not all that informative, and only two brief mentions of Jane Austen as we drove past a museum and one of her houses. In other words, very little connection to literature.

    We did luck out with a drive-by of Stonehenge that was unexpected. Wish we had stopped, as we had far too much time at the hotel that night yet again.

    And finally, we made it to London. I will start by saying that the tour of the Globe theater and attending a performance were the two, most-highly praised moments from the entire trip by all my students. However, the rest of our London visit was mixed. The bus tour was okay because we stopped four times, but the lack of free time was horrible. Because the hotel was so far out of the city, travel time took up all our free time. Our dinner, one night, got canceled as well (without notice to our tour director), so we had to grab food on the run, which we paid for instead of being included. We did go on a cool Jack the Ripper tour that was extra, but it was worth it and the only night we didn't have too much time at the hotel.

    Windsor could have been worth the extra effort and money, but our local guide was offensive and rude, and due to scheduling, we had to race through it in only an hour with no time to explore the village around it.

    Most of our hotels were fine, but the food was a major disappointment. On tours with VIE and with EF in Rome, local places were used to give a taste of the country. Here, we ate hotel food almost every night. All of the hotels were significantly out of the way and ate up a huge portion of time that could have been spent enjoying England, and since we ate dinners at them, we were back at them by 7, which meant hours of nothing for the students to do. This was their major complaint about the trip--wasted time at the hotel each evening.

    Our tour director and main bus driver were fantastic!

    The things that worked on this trip worked well, but a lot of things did not work--wasted time, cultureless food, and poor scheduling. I do recommend this trip, but it is not as good as it should be.
    TeacherNM / Group leader
    NM / Posted on June 17, 2018
  5. Being there better than getting there

    The trip itself was great but the travel to and from was challenging. A better plan should have been made for travelling to the international airport. Also, flight home was delayed, and EF did not set up a viable plan for getting us home in a timely manner. My teachers had to figure that out on their own.
    TravelLovingFamily / Student traveler
    Mechanicsburg, PA / Posted on September 19, 2017
  6. Wanderlust

    I am getting college credit for this trip. It was very informative, and educational. I love exploring new places, having been to London before, I really enjoyed going on the outskirts of England.
    Captain33 / Student traveler
    Silver Grove, KY / Posted on September 19, 2017
  7. Good tour

    The tour itself was great, our tour guide really helped us get to know the history of England. Where the tour was bad, was that the first flight needed to get to the international airport was canceled, and the same was done coming back in the United states, they canceled the flight needed to get from one stateam to another, I myself would recommend this tour to people, but only if EF wouldn't use United Airlines, to which they are known to randomly cancel flights. Other wise it was a fantastic 10 days!
    KennyK2 / Student traveler
    York, Pa / Posted on August 03, 2017
  8. Great Experience

    Our group had a wonderful guide and driver who knew the ins and outs of our destinations well. The students were treated to several additional points of interest along the way, tailored to the needs of the group. This is an experience that I will never forget!
    TupperQueen / Adult traveler
    Findlay, OH / Posted on August 03, 2017
  9. It was kind of a mess.

    Well our trip started with our flight being canceled and we were not able to reach EF at all. Our teacher had to decide what to do and we ended up taking a train. It made the whole travel there a pain. We also showed up to our international flight with 5 minutes until it boarded. We got lucky. When we got to England, there were many things that we had to pay extra. Things that were not on the itinerary. I ended up having to pay extra for around 5 different things. That adds up. Makes me wonder what is actually included in the price. The tour is not cheap, so why am I paying for things while I am on the trip. Tickets should be included. Also the food there is awful. You get a dinner and breakfast provided from the hotel. The breakfasts are fine, but the dinners were awful. Eat a big lunch because once you get back to the hotel you have an awful dinner. Most nights we ended up ordering a pizza to the hotel room because we did not eat dinner. The nights in London we actually ate at restaurants. 2/3 of those dinners were good. The experiences of what we got to see while on the tour were great. Our tour guide though was kinda moody. He would randomly snap at us for no reason. On the way there and home we flew with a cheap airline. The plane there was fine, but the way home the food was awful and the plane was disgusting. I had a used pillow and I know I did because there was purple juice all over my pillow and the back of the seat in front of me. It made me so uncomfortable. Also the screens were sticky. Nothing was clean. Our flight home was 3 hours delayed, which means we missed our connecting flight. EF still did not answer our urgent calls. We ended up having to take a train from the first flight to a station near our house. It was a pain. I personally felt that EF does not care about us. If they did they would care more about our experience there. I do not recommend this tour because of the hassle and unorganizedness that occurred.
    student1277 / Student traveler
    Dillsburg, PA / Posted on August 03, 2017
  10. English Literature Tour

    My family really enjoyed the tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. We loved visiting all of the little towns throughout England. The tour was very informative.
    D2017 / Adult traveler
    Cincinnati, OH / Posted on July 13, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?