Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
433 reviewed From Rome to Athens
5 stars
289
4 stars
100
3 stars
27
2 stars
10
1 star
7
  1. The Ultimate Field Trip

    The look on the student's faces were priceless. Experiencing places in person they had only seen on the projector screen or in the textbook brightened their eyes and engaged their minds in a way that one cannot achieve in the regular classroom. Thank you, EF, for such a positive week!
    2016 / Group leader
    Euless, Texas / Posted on March 21, 2016
  2. Dream Come True!

    In leading 48 people on tour for the first time, I was a little worried about what to expect. I didn't know if it could live up to my expectations, or relate as well with my course as I had promised. It definitely didn't. It surpassed all my expectations and hopes.
    The local guides at each site enriched my teaching throughout the year. The sites themselves spoke more to my students than the books or stories I taught ever could. The guides challenged my students to not only learn about the people groups who lived in Athens, Olympia, Mycenae, and so on, but to IMAGINE what life looked like for them. This is something that could only be accomplished through travel. Traveling with EF made it possible. The buses were prompt and dropped us off where we needed to go. Our tour director was helpful and flexible with our personal expectations. The food was filling and delicious. The hotels were receptive and accommodating. Our days were long and our hearts were full. As a group leader, I can say, it was a dream come true for me and every single traveler.
    LMHTeacher / Group leader
    Orrville, Ohio / Posted on June 30, 2015
  3. Personal Enrichment

    We sent our daughter to an EF tour so that she would be personally enriched. It was a success. The tour was well organized and the guides were knowledgeable and pleasant. This allowed our daughter to more readily assimilate the cultures visited. Experience is the best kind of education because it is personal and a trip to historical places provides experience in many aspects; food, language, history, social skills, and more. We highly recommend parents to send their child on an EF tour to help him or her gain well rounded personal enrichment.
    Jomi / Parent
    College Park, MD / Posted on April 06, 2015
  4. Experience of a lifetime

    My son came home with 900 pictures and put them on the TV to show us. It took an hour to see and the enthusiasm he had was amazing! He remembered everything! We felt like we were on the trip too.
    LoveAthen / Parent
    Harrisburg, PA / Posted on July 07, 2014
  5. A "taste tour" to savor for a lifetime

    With only a little more than a week to see Southern Italy and Greece, the tour felt a little rushed at times but still allowed for a lot of free time and walking of the streets of Rome and Athens, as well as all the historical sites. Rome was, of course, full of tourists but so exciting, wonderful and new for me! Greece was beyond anything I imagined about it. Nothing prepared me for the beauty, the people, and the presence felt at every site we visited. Nothing short of stunning, this country left me speechless. And I'll definitely be going back soon to fully rejoice in its beauty.
    / Student traveler
    Houston, Texas / Posted on June 30, 2014
  6. Trip of a Lifetime

    This was truly the trip of a lifetime and the most amazing experience I've ever had in my life. It was my first time in Europe, my 2nd time out of the country, and first trip with EF. There is no way to travel but with EF tours. Our tour director was phenomenal, activities so fun, food amazing, hotels safe, and overall experience wonderful. With EF tours you get the best experience of travel. Having your days planned out, a director to take care of logistics, meals waiting for you, and a bus driver gives you a chance to really enjoy being in a new place. I loved EF tours so much, I am going on the trip to Peru next summer. After going on the Rome to Athens tour, there's no where else in Europe I'm dying to visit. Greece has absolutely become my favorite country in the world, with the best people, food, and landscape. Seeing the Colosseum, Parthenon, Pantheon, and all of the other huge sights was astounding and life changing. Having a global perspective is so important and that's what EF focuses on. You will come back from your trip a changed person.
    abhvr / Student traveler
    Birmingham, AL / Posted on December 25, 2016
  7. Amazing!

    Our tour director was supportive, caring, and very knowledgeable. The combination of different schools across the country made the trip so much more fun. If you go on this trip don't forget about the excursions like Santorini's volcano or Greek Night. Also, if you haven't included the cruise with Santorini or Mykonos you defiantly should! The crew are the nicest people, the teenagers have something fun to do every night, and it great for relaxing after a long tour day. It was such a great trip I signed up for the next trip through EF tours as soon as I could. Amazing journey and well worth the money!
    WorldTraveler2016 / Student traveler
    Posted on October 23, 2016
  8. Lifetime goal

    This tour satisfied one of my lifetime goals to see the seat of western civilization. Greece and Rome
    Balderdash / Adult traveler
    Cedar Hill, Mo / Posted on July 18, 2016
  9. Jam-Packed Bucket List Experience

    This tour was all we wanted and MORE. We were moving and seeing amazing places from morning till night. If you want a tour that hits all the highlights, goes deeper there, and then keeps the action coming, this tour is for you.
    Their wasn't a language barrier and EF took excellent care of us. This is the best way to see Italy and Greece! Take the Greek islands cruise extension if possible, as well.
    SuperTeach / Group leader
    Springfield, Missouri / Posted on July 17, 2016
  10. Recommeded Experience

    The EF tour I participated in with my daughter was an amazing whirlwind experience! We arrived in Rome a day and half late due to pilot error. We hit the ground running and did not stop! I expected this but did not anticipate the level of tiredness I would feel. The heat I think contributed. Remember your sunscreen! Local tour guides were excellent in Italy, Greece and the Greek Islands. If visiting the Vatican I suggest talking to your guide to take as much time as possible. There are so many amazing things to see. The Sistine Chapel and St. Pope John Paul II in St. Peter's Cathedral are only two examples. The tour of Olympia, Greece is not to miss! We learned so many things about Greek worship of their gods and Olympic roots. The Greek Island cruise extension was well worth the price. Although, upon embarking we were talked into a drink package. It was made to seem as if you would not have anything to drink without purchasing, even at meals. However, water was served at all meals and juice and coffee were offered at breakfast. The drink package offered many other options but was not essential. Hotels were comparable to Super 8. Although, all was clean and we definitely were only there to sleep. The beaches on the Greek islands were wonderful! So clean and clear water! They were rocky instead of sand but the rocks were smooth from tumbling in the sea. Oh, our tour director was Greek and we learned many things about day to day Greek life and culture from her. Take advantage of the knowledge of your tour director and local tour guides. I would do it all again.
    Iwenttoo / Adult traveler
    Greenville, Ohio / Posted on July 07, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?