Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 out of 5)
446 reviewed From Rome to Athens
5 stars
300
4 stars
101
3 stars
28
2 stars
10
1 star
7
  1. The Ultimate Field Trip

    The look on the student's faces were priceless. Experiencing places in person they had only seen on the projector screen or in the textbook brightened their eyes and engaged their minds in a way that one cannot achieve in the regular classroom. Thank you, EF, for such a positive week!
    2016 / Group leader
    Euless, Texas / Posted on March 21, 2016
  2. Dream Come True!

    In leading 48 people on tour for the first time, I was a little worried about what to expect. I didn't know if it could live up to my expectations, or relate as well with my course as I had promised. It definitely didn't. It surpassed all my expectations and hopes.
    The local guides at each site enriched my teaching throughout the year. The sites themselves spoke more to my students than the books or stories I taught ever could. The guides challenged my students to not only learn about the people groups who lived in Athens, Olympia, Mycenae, and so on, but to IMAGINE what life looked like for them. This is something that could only be accomplished through travel. Traveling with EF made it possible. The buses were prompt and dropped us off where we needed to go. Our tour director was helpful and flexible with our personal expectations. The food was filling and delicious. The hotels were receptive and accommodating. Our days were long and our hearts were full. As a group leader, I can say, it was a dream come true for me and every single traveler.
    LMHTeacher / Group leader
    Orrville, Ohio / Posted on June 30, 2015
  3. Personal Enrichment

    We sent our daughter to an EF tour so that she would be personally enriched. It was a success. The tour was well organized and the guides were knowledgeable and pleasant. This allowed our daughter to more readily assimilate the cultures visited. Experience is the best kind of education because it is personal and a trip to historical places provides experience in many aspects; food, language, history, social skills, and more. We highly recommend parents to send their child on an EF tour to help him or her gain well rounded personal enrichment.
    Jomi / Parent
    College Park, MD / Posted on April 06, 2015
  4. Experience of a lifetime

    My son came home with 900 pictures and put them on the TV to show us. It took an hour to see and the enthusiasm he had was amazing! He remembered everything! We felt like we were on the trip too.
    LoveAthen / Parent
    Harrisburg, PA / Posted on July 07, 2014
  5. A "taste tour" to savor for a lifetime

    With only a little more than a week to see Southern Italy and Greece, the tour felt a little rushed at times but still allowed for a lot of free time and walking of the streets of Rome and Athens, as well as all the historical sites. Rome was, of course, full of tourists but so exciting, wonderful and new for me! Greece was beyond anything I imagined about it. Nothing prepared me for the beauty, the people, and the presence felt at every site we visited. Nothing short of stunning, this country left me speechless. And I'll definitely be going back soon to fully rejoice in its beauty.
    Rubykscube / Student traveler
    Houston, Texas / Posted on June 30, 2014
  6. A trip to Remember

    This trip gave me lasting experiences that I will remember for days to come. I made tons of new friends, and the best part was having an amazing tour director. Please please please, commend Gloria! She is the most wonderful tour director anyone could ask for. She went above and behind, treated us like family and made us want to come back. I love her so much and EF wouldn't be the same without her. But for the trip, the Greek Evening was amazing and the Vatican was out of this world. The only thing that could make the trip better is having the various tour guides talk a little less, but other than that, the trip was great.
    kxera / Student traveler
    Fremont, CA / Posted on April 25, 2017
  7. From Rome to Athens...Success

    As a Group Leader, I couldn't be more impressed with the tour that we just returned from. I will briefly break down the strengths and weaknesses.
    Value- having organized this tour, I compared this itinerary to comparables with other companies, and EF was most cost efficient. What we got for the price paid was impressive. While the trip was fairly expensive (I paid for my daughter to go), it was a great experience for the money spent, especially compared to other companies my colleagues have used.
    Accommodations--first the downside, our hotel in Athens was switched just prior to the trip, and the first location was more desirable. Otherwise, we had no complaints. The rooms were fine, and the locations were good. Actually, two of the hotels, Villa degli Angeli (Rome) and the Neda Hotel (Olympia) were excellent.
    Food- Again, great. Breakfast was good, and the dinners provided some nice cultural experiences. Also, lunch on our own gave us leeway to go to individual tastes.
    Tour itinerary- Excellent. The sites that we saw and museums that we visited had a profound impact on my travelers. They were awed.
    Local guides--All were top notch on this trip. Knowledgeable, funny, professional.
    Tour Director--Outstanding. He is a 10+ year veteran director, and it showed. Constantly hustling, communicating with museums, guides, restaurants, handling all of the logistics--- a true professional. Our tour director made this trip an excellent experience for everyone involved.
    CAHISAdvisor / Group leader
    Saratoga Springs, NY / Posted on April 25, 2017
  8. Awesome Trip!

    Best trip I've ever taken. Highly recommend!
    EdgeLord / Student traveler
    Attleboro, MA / Posted on April 24, 2017
  9. Amazing Experience!

    This trip was amazing! My son & I had the best travel experience of our lives, especially for being our first time traveling abroad. It was wonderful seeing the things we've learned in school upfront & personal. I got a history refresher, and even learned some new things! Our family will definitely be traveling with EF in the future. I've already enrolled our younger son for an upcoming tour.
    BluePrideMom / Adult traveler
    Attleboro, MA / Posted on April 23, 2017
  10. VaEnglishTeacher

    This was an amazing experience. The historical context of the places we visited was educational and informative. My only regret is opting NOT to go on the Greek Island cruise afterward.
    VaEnglishTeacher / Student traveler
    Aldie, Virginia / Posted on April 21, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?