Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 out of 5)
23 reviewed Expedition and Service from the Galápagos to the Andes
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Unforgettable experience

    Every minute of this adventure was incredible. We were so well taken care of in every way. Our tour guide was very kind, avaialable, caring, patient and answered every question we had. He took very good care of us.

    The hotels we stayed in were all comfortable and clean. The food we ate was all so delicious, healthy, and local. We took pictures of evey meal! I will miss the food very much!

    We did so many activities each day such that we felt we had a great view of different aspects of the country. This includes meeting different local people and getting to talk to them.

    The service learning project and team leaders was a great experience for all of us, adults and students. The leaders did a great job at the end of each day helping students unpack all that they learned that day and really think about their experiences and understanding. It was a very worthwhile part of the trip. The service learning project also created camaraderie in our group.

    We were also thankful for the downtime we had to do some souvenir shopping of just resting and taking in the area.

    Overall, I would recommend EF to anyone. We were always well taken care of and got a bang for our buck.
    LolaLovesTraveling / Adult traveler
    Seattle, WA / Posted on July 14, 2018
  2. Eye opening experience

    This tour was a great experience to open our eyes to new cultures and a different lifestyle than we are accustomed to in the US. The highlands are beautiful with meaningful service helping to build a school. The other activities and time in the Galápagos Islands were once in a lifetime opportunities and everyone really enjoyed it. Snorkeling with sea lions and sea turtles was a dream come true. The accommodations were fairly nice and comfortable for a bed and shower. The boat rides were rough, but that is expected on a smaller speed boat in open water. Overall a great experience!
    InternationalTraveler / Group leader
    Fresno, Ca / Posted on June 27, 2017
  3. Life Changing Adventure!

    Having just returned from our adventure, I must say that this was, hands down, the most amazing trip I've ever been on. From start to finish it was everything we imagined and more. Our guides were friendly, helpful, and engaging. The food was delicious. The accommodations were remarkable. We honestly loved every moment of our experience, and not a single student or chaperone had any complaints. We were beyond lucky to have had the chance to work with the people that we did, and it was because of our incredible field guides that the experience was as remarkable as it was. We fit sooooo many things into our trip, but weren't tired at all because we were so excited about everything. Overall, this was an amazing, life changing experience that I wish everyone could get the chance to participate in!
    VTTeacher / Group leader
    Rochester, VT / Posted on April 27, 2017
  4. Life changing experience

    This tour proved to be an amazing, soul touching experience that had a great positive impact on all those in our group. The directors of both the community service aspect and the tour, were very knowledgeable, professional, accommodating and sensible to our needs. Accommodations and meals were adequate if not excellent. It was a tour full of incredible experiences and learning.
    Megumi / Group leader
    New Jersey / Posted on November 16, 2016
  5. Very rewarding

    We were very impressed with this wonderful trip which packed so much into a short span of time. Our daughter very much enjoyed the opportunity to experience life in rural villages, and was pleased being able to help in useful projects. She also was excited by the unique chance to visit the Galapagos. As parents, we were grateful for how well-organized and efficient the trip was, and our daughter was highly complimentary about the guides and all those who helped out during the trip.
    Father11 / Parent
    Alexandria, VA / Posted on July 08, 2018
  6. You might not get what you expect.

    This was a jam packed tour, covered a lot in the allotted time. The tour was educational and the tour guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. However, travelers need to be aware that you will not be allowed to participate in activities that may be available at your destination, even if you are not a chaperone and you are just an adult accompanying your minor child. You should be able to take some time to do things such as scuba diving. This is information that might have been helpful prior to signing up. I think the company should have waivers for adults who are not chaperones, tour guides, or leaders and wish to do something on their own- separate from the group.

    The accommodations were not what we expected at one of the hotels. Three cold nights without hot water and at times no water at all. The pressure went from steady to a trickle. The walls were also thin- you could hear the neighbor snoring. One of the rooms had a gap in the wall- in the restroom!!!! The male travelers were in the room next to the females room with the gap in the wall. The hotel was in a beautiful setting but no hot water or no privacy-is not acceptable.

    For the cost of the trip you would expect the company to make sure that the accommodation be what you pay for. I don’t think this was the case here. I think we could have done better if we had gone on our own- needless to say we won’t be using EF again.
    DaisyBo / Student traveler
    Riverside,CA / Posted on July 06, 2018
  7. Amazing

    I had the best time ever. So rewarding. It showed me a different culture that I never knew existed. My favorite part was crossing the river 5 times and watching my teacher almost falling into the river.
    I met a lot of new friends. I felt safe at all times. Thanks mom. Thanks EF Tours.
    CCLove / Student traveler
    Riverside, Ca. / Posted on June 30, 2018
  8. Exceptional Educational Experience

    My child loved this experience, from helping build a school in the Andes, to seeing the culture in Ecuador and touring the Galapagos Islands this was an adventure of a life time! Thank you to their wonderful tour guide for captivating the students.
    HappyMomP / Parent
    Gorham, ME / Posted on April 30, 2018
  9. Ecuador is amazing!

    This trip is packed with so much for your students to experience and do. From the day you land in Quito to the day you are flying back from the Galapagos Islands, you are non stop with the most amazing sights, flavors, and sounds. The views from the top of the Andes and the beaches of the Galapagos Islands will not be done any justice with any photo you bring back. You must view them for yourselves and share in the experiences of the Andean people. It truly is a trip of a lifetime.
    Spanish22 / Group leader
    Colts Neck, NJ / Posted on April 10, 2018
  10. What a trip

    This was fabulous!!!! I can't begin to explain how much this was a life changing experience for my students. It allowed them to see how even as middle school students, they could make an impact on a global society. I would highly recommend it for anyone. Our guides were fabulous!!!
    Gillandtator / Adult traveler
    Wasilla, Alaska / Posted on March 22, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?