Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
33 reviewed Culture and Service in Ecuador
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Ecuador Adventure

    My daughter had an amazing time in Ecuador. They worked on a service learning project and also toured beautiful waterfalls and the city of Quito. There were serious delays on return trip due to airline issues. EF Tours stepped in to provide a better solution and made sure the kids were provided for the entire time. Thank you!
    / Parent
    Boise, ID / Posted on April 13, 2017
  2. All you need is Ecuador

    This trip was an excellent collaboration between EF Tours and Me to We. The service component fit seamlessly with the tour elements. Our tour director made this adventure as close to perfect for each participant as possible by getting to know the name of each student and chaperone and tailoring the program to individual personalities and preferences when possible. Our students built strong bonds through the work done in the Amazon. As a chaperone I got to know students well and learned some new team-building activities and some engaging ways to teach language. I'm also motivated to continue to follow Ecuador in the news and to share my knowledge with my new students in the classroom.
    Exploradora / Adult traveler
    Chatham, NJ / Posted on July 05, 2016
  3. Service Learning Adventures in Ecuador

    We loved our service learning trip in Ecuador. Everything was wonderful--the food, the balance of cultural experience and service, and of course the natural beauty of the country! Our tour director and service coordinators were all absolutely wonderful with our students, and we would certainly request them for future trips. The only "negative" feedback was that we spent some long days on the bus between stops. We tried to break travel days up with stops, but it was still a lot of travel time. We all realize that EF can't put the sites closer together or build better roads...so that's just the reality of the places we visited.

    Our trip included two days of service at the Minga Lodge in the Amazon on a nine-day trip. On reflection, we all would like to have done a little more service and either extended the overall trip (first option) or cut out/down another leg of the experience.

    I would highly recommend this trip to those with an adventurous spirit!
    JungleTraveler / Adult traveler
    Chicago, IL / Posted on June 20, 2018
  4. Wonderful

    It was the best time I ever had. I got along with the Tour Director and with the other group that came along with us. I loved when we helped people and got to learn about them. I also loved how I got to learn about the past in Ecuador and how it affected their lives. I got to learn more about myself and got to learn about who I am and what I plan to do in the future.
    Lala2020 / Student traveler
    Getna, Ne / Posted on June 12, 2018
  5. Amazing Experience!

    Everything about the tour was wonderful. Some minor complaints are that my high school group was with a middle school group. Whenever we did the Me to We group exercises, my students and myself were extremely annoyed with the difference in maturity. Other than the nightly activities, there was not a problem with the different grade levels. My group was able to really bond.
    travelislife33 / Group leader
    Avon Lake, OH / Posted on April 25, 2017
  6. Great tour with surprises

    I had a great time on this tour. We saw multiple parts of Ecuador - the Amazon, cloud forest, mountain adventure town, cities, volcanoes, indigenous towns. We travel a lot, and my son and I both think it was one of the top 5 trips we have taken in our life. We were very well fed and housed. The two Ecuadorian guides EF supplied us with were absolutely top notch. They were with us every step of the way, whether it was giving detailed information on the flora or fauna of Ecuador or getting up at 1 am to go to the emergency room with a sick teen. Thanks to Delta Airlines, we got stranded four extra days in Ecuador. EF continued to support us, providing us with a second tour guide and continuing to pay for day tours and meals. They also bought entirely new plane tickets on different airlines for us to get home after it was clear Delta was not going to get us home for a week. Value was excellent because I was there for almost 2 weeks! I highly recommend this tour, although you do have to realize you are headed to basically a Third World country so things might happen, like you get stranded for four extra days. That's the only reason I am not giving it a five star rating, because I think you need to be a little adventurous to enjoy this trip.
    Parent1106 / Adult traveler
    Boise, ID / Posted on April 20, 2017
  7. Absolutely wonderful!

    Our tour director and bus driver were wonderful! The hotels we stayed at were small and gave us an authentic experience in the culture of the country we were visiting. The food was delicious and they offered options to accommodate special diets. Everyone on the trip had a wonderful experience and I would definitely use EF again. The only issue with EF was that they were not very helpful when one of our returning flights was canceled. We had to do everything ourselves to request a refund from the airline and find a hotel to stay in overnight.
    EF72016 / Adult traveler
    New York State / Posted on July 19, 2016
  8. Awesome Time!!!

    I learned a lot about culture and service work. The meals were fantastic and the hotels were clean and comfortable. The guide my group had was very fluent in both Spanish and english so I could understand her well. Everyone of the staff that we encountered were respectful and in a good mood! My friends and I are planning a trip to Kenya through EF because we liked this one so much!
    Airbabe / Student traveler
    Salem, Oregon / Posted on July 01, 2016
  9. Service and Exploration Combined!

    Our tour director was amazing and she made her native Ecuador come alive to our scholars! The students saw how yarn was made and dyed and got to try weaving, bartered in a local market place, visited beautiful Banos and saw the natural wonders when we weren't in the rain forest working on our service project. The service component was incredibly valuable for our scholars and they came home understanding the power of hard work, travel, and helping others!
    WindyCityWanderer / Group leader
    Chicago / Posted on April 26, 2016
  10. Excellent, but with flaws

    Overall the whole trip was excellent, our guide was amazing, the sights and sites we visited were awe-inspiring, etc. The only problems encountered are really just location-specific, some areas were uber tourist-y, which detracted from the learning experience, and some of us got bed bugs from one of the hotels.
    Ciff / Student traveler
    Slinger, WI / Posted on April 04, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?