Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.2 out of 5)
107 reviewed Capitals of the British Isles
5 stars
61
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
7
  1. What a great trip!

    What a great trip to the British Isles.There was so much to do and see yet, we had enough free time on our own time to explore as well. The pace was good, tour guide and bus drivers were also good. The food was great at all the hotels and the dinners and shows were exceptional. If I could change anything it would be to have one more day in Scotland and only two days in London. I felt a little rushed and would have liked to explore more of the art. What a beautiful place. I highly recommend this trip for students and adults.
    artcave / Group leader
    Corunna, MI / Posted on August 13, 2017
  2. First Time Abroad

    This was the first time my child had the opportunity to travel abroad and I now wish I had heard of EF Tours sooner. She had a fabulous time and even asked their tour guide how she could do this for a job. ;)

    There were so many options each day for her group to either stay together for some things and split into smaller groups for others; i.e. Two theater show choices or even just a time to explore the city a little more if she chose to. She had so much more fun than she thought she would originally, and she was expecting a great time!

    Educational, some tourist events, some events local to the area, trying new/different foods, local shops, she loved it all!
    GratefulMom1 / Parent
    Linden, MI / Posted on July 31, 2017
  3. Amazing trip!

    We had such a great time on our trip! Our tour guide was amazing! He knew a lot of information and helped us learn new things! Without the tour guide I would not have learned as much as I did. Even our bus driver was full of knowledge! I also ended up getting engaged while on this trip (I am an adult traveler). Our guide was so excited for us! This trip will be cherished forever!
    AmaaaaazingTrip / Adult traveler
    Manhattan, Kansas / Posted on July 27, 2017
  4. Endurance First!

    I travel every three years with a large group of 50. This tour was a fast-paced, phenomenal experience for my students. On this tour we logged 75 miles on foot! The local guides on this tour far surpassed my expectations, as I set a very high standard. I recommend this tour to anyone who is even considering it! Everything ran smoothly as my EF Tour Consultant & my EF Tour Director were both OUTSTANDING! Be sure to try the fresh strawberries in Ireland! My one suggestion is more time (with a guide) at the Louvre in Paris. TAKE THIS TOUR - Your students will LOVE IT!!!
    TheatreisLife / Group leader
    Rapid City, SD / Posted on July 19, 2017
  5. Amazing place

    The tour guides were exceptional and we had plenty of time to explore the city.
    mirna / Adult traveler
    Chicago Illinois / Posted on January 27, 2018
  6. Capitals of the British Isles tour - JUne 2017

    This was the 2nd trip for my family of 4 with EF Tours. Our first trip, Europe's Mediterranean Coast, was unbelievable, and the best trip ever. There was nothing we would change. However, this trip was lackluster. The overall issues were tour guide knowledge/planning, distance to lodging, and time allowed for eating. Our guide did not seem to have the info needed to get us to the correct locations, so we often had no time to eat. While on a 3 hour train ride, we were told to eat on the train, but the train was not equipped, and so only a few of our 100+ group had anything to eat, then once arriving at our destination, no time was allotted, or allowed for us to eat, until we told our new guide that we had not eaten many hours later. This was also the case one evening when we ate at 1am, by ordering pizza, since we were not allowed to hold up our transportation since we had arrived too late. In one case, we were not told to eat on the ferry, so again, no one had eaten, and no time was allotted to allow for it. Subways were down, so it took extra time to get there, and we were planned to eat at the museum. However, it was obvious we would have not time to tour it, but we marched all the way there, ate in the museum cafe, then immediately left to walk another 5 blocks to catch a bus. We could have easily eaten somewhere near the bus and had some time to tour anything nearby.
    The hotel we stayed at in London was soooo far out, it took nearly an hour to get there each night from our touring area, and included a 2 mile walk around a park late in the evening.

    While i understand the the accommodations might be a little off the beaten path, it was disconcerting to be so far away, and somewhere dangerous since we only arrived so late due to the distances.

    Overall, we were disappointed by the guide's inexperience, resistance to change anything so we could eat, and lodging treks.
    Ssteven / Adult traveler
    wyilie, tx / Posted on January 21, 2018
  7. Really GOOD Trip

    The trip was really great. I was able to experience many cool places. I would definitely go on one of these trips again.
    Kopler / Student traveler
    Lafayette, IN / Posted on January 06, 2018
  8. Not the best experience

    Although the itinerary was a good one, it left a lot to be desired. There was a complete lack of organization by our tour guide and often we were left wondering if he was going to get it together.
    The restaurant choices were very disappointing. When traveling in Europe, it would be great to have local food choices. This was not the case at all as we ate in American fast food restaurants, which often could not accommodate our group.
    We operated on very tight schedules where we had to rise very early, and went to sleep very late and therefore missed a lot of scenery in between trying to catch up on sleep.
    I recommend the itinerary, but changes need to happen for it to be truly enjoyable.
    AD435 / Student traveler
    New York, NY / Posted on December 08, 2017
  9. Great experience!

    This was a great tour, however, there were a few things that could have been done better. We spent to much time driving to a from our hotels. I realize that the hotels outside of the major cities are cheaper but spending 45-60minutes each way is to much time when we were only in each location for a couple of days. Dublin the time spent in Dublin was great, we had free time for the students to get away, I would say to skip the Templar bar area with high school students. Belfast, the hotel was not in a great area but the local guides were amazing. More time a the causeway would have been great. Scotland, to little time, we were not able to get into the castle because of all the people there, and the boys in our group would have liked the opportunity to buy kilts. Again, staying in Sterling was not the best location. The train to London was great, the hotel in London was a great location. The tube ride was short and we had a free day that we got to spend with our groups. Paris, was a disaster. The metro and other train rides were confusing. Dividing the groups into under 17 and over 18 made it really hard to keep track of our groups. Spending 1 hours sitting in the Louvre courtyard waiting for tickets at 2pm when we had not eating lunch yet not acceptable. We were told that we could not go into the museum a group because they did not allow groups in, yet they had very clearly signage stating group entrance. The tickets should have been bought ahead of time, the expiration date on our tickes were days later. Having to walk to our restaurant in a very bad area of town where we should not have been walking with a buch of teenagers. We were told to make sure we drank water but yet we were not taken anywhere where we could buy water. The Paris leg was the most unorganzed. The meal portions throughout the trip were not enough for a group of teenagers. I have travelled to 5 continents using several different tour companies and this was by far the most expence and not worth the value. We would have learned just as much traveling with another tour company.
    Chape / Adult traveler
    Rapid City, SD / Posted on August 21, 2017
  10. Time Well Spent

    A superb sampling of England, Ireland, and Scotland! Well-informed local guides provide heartfelt inspiration while sharing their national pride...good show!
    Kitt66 / Adult traveler
    Springfield, Missouri / Posted on August 14, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?